We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Valencia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sesame

Sesame
Calle En Bou num 10 | Barrio del Carmen, 46001 Valencia, Spain
963913062
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 2,343 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: French, International, Spanish, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best in Valencia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Discovered Sesame while strolling through the old city center of Valencia --- and such a great discovery! Relaxed atmosphere, quiet street and great food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    47
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laroque des Alberes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a second or even third visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sometimes when you go back to a restaurant you once went to a long time ago, you find that things have changed for the worse and you're disappointed. The people are not so nice and the food isn't so good. Well, here, it's exactly the opposite, the people are nicer and the food is better. Valérie, the boss, is as lively and welcoming as ever, really good food for all tastes and an excellent, very reasonably priced wine list. Cosy atmosphere, fun night out. I loved it (again) and will go back every time I visit Valencia. Bravo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We chose to go to sesame with some friends based on the reviews. It´s hard to make a choice of the many restaurants in the old city centre of Valencia, there are so many! But Sesame is a good restaurant where you can have dinner in a relaxing atmosphere, without to many traffic and people coming by. The food we ordered was nice, the marinated tuna was very good, and the magret of duck was very tasty. The Indonesian chicken satay, was a bit disappointing since it was not spicy at all. The chocolate cake was average it was supposed to be with brandy, but could not taste it at all. The kind owner invited us for a limoncello, service was good!
It´s worth a visit, we had spent about 20 euro p.p. including a bottle of wine, relation price-quality is good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped by here for dinner while on a trip to Valencia. We were there on a Wednesday night and it was actually kind of quiet. The menu is tapas with a slightly modern/international twist to some of the dishes (think asian inspired). All the dishes we had were very good. Although we had a delightful rioja with dinner, I did want to give them a shout out for having some quality Trappist/Belgian beers available. I really can't say anything negative about this place, but for the money I would go to Tinto Fino Ultramarino which is just up the street if I could only visit one of those two restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Warm, real, French Spanish pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything starts with the atmosphere that the lady owner and her staff creates.We went to Sesame this summer and we enjoyed a varied proposition of dishes where the french influence melts with spanish cuisine. You need to like strong taste and sensations if you go there. Wine was really good. and service friendly and cared. Samall, causy, warm. Go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame also viewed

Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 
Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sesame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.