We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hostel Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Home Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Home Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle la Lonja 4 | Calle la Lonja 4, 46001 Valencia, Spain (El Mercat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hostel Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hostel could not have been more perfect. Here's why:

Location: It's right off a square, behind the old Silk Market, which is across the street from The Market where you can get all the fresh food you want from 10-2 every day except Sundays. It's a block and a half from the main plazas, stores, restaurants- The location is simply perfect.

Security: Excellent. You either get buzzed into the building by the front desk or you swipe your room key card. Upon check in you get an identification card to be shown on demand if you look unfamiliar to the front desk person. The same entry card grants you entry into your room. In the room itself each bed got a sturdy key locked locker. I always felt very safe at any time of day or night.

Rooms: I requested a room on the top floor and that's exactly what I got. It had a balcony facing out towards the back of the church just next to the small square and it was great. The temperature of the room was perfect but as far as I could see there was no way to heat it or cool the room, which is what other people have complained about in colder and warmer months. Our 3 bed room dorm (we occupied 2 beds) were comfortable and warm with the linens provided. You're given 2 blankets, a pillow case, a towel and a wool blanket already on the bed. I absolutely love that each bed and pillow is sealed with a plastic protector (not the kind that swishes and makes noise, this was totally silent).

Cleanliness: The entire place is cleaned top to bottom each and every morning by several staff persons.

Staff: Perfect! Upon our arrival they gave us a map and explained to us everything about the city center, including a free walking tour and paella night! Everyone, including the cleaning staff were polite, cheerful, wonderfully helpful and patient. They welcomed us like long long friends.

The property: They have a good size kitchen and two refrigerators with labels for you to label your food. This was also cleaned daily even though people clean up after themselves, as expected. The pantry was clearly labeled with where to find everything (plates, cups, pots, pans, etc) and it was comfortable. The lobby floor has 2 living room areas with couches, one with a tv and some books, the other around a coffee table. There is free wifi all throughout the property and 2 computers in the lobby next to the information desk.
The bathroom was down the hall and has 2 large showers (so comfortable!) with shelfs for you to put your soap & bottles on, two toilets, two sinks, one hair dryer and another outlet beside the mirror. Looks just like in the photos online.

Even though the hostel was full to capacity, it never seemed that way. Each room is different with its own personality, quirky decoration but not over done, distracting our too loud.
Everything was immaculate, organized, comfortable and our 4 night stay was perfect.
We wish we hadn't had to leave.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Top floors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
10
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in Home Youth hostel for 3 nights when I first arrived in Valencia. It was in a very good place in the centre and very close to everything. Also, it was a lot more clean than the hostel I was at in Madrid but with the same prices. All of the people who worked where nice and helpful and there was a very good walking tour of the city. A very nice place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very good hostel, I stayed during fallas and I can say that even was high season rooms,barhrooms and hostel in general was clean.
Staff very friendly and great location!!!
Perfect!!!
Highly reccomend !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The hostel was fairly quiet as it was off season, probably one of the reasons it was so impeccably clean! All the communal areas and facilities - kitchen, lounge, toilets and showers were spotless.

We stayed in a twin room with shared facilities, the room was a bit pokey but there was a window that looked out into an atrium which was typical of a Spanish home which was really nice. The staff were super friendly and helpful, directing us to a amazing restaurant to have an authentic Valencian paella. I am still thinking about that seafood paella, one of the best meals I have ever eaten!

The hostel location was perfect, a really nice walk into the centre and in very close proximity to the fresh food markets, I would really recommend buying produce from those markets, it is cheap and very fresh.

There really isn't a bad thing to say about Home Hostel, definitely book!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in August 2012 for a few nights. We really loved our stay in Valencia and we are so glad we decided to stop there! We got to Valencia after being in Ibiza for 3 days and we were exhausted. This hostel is in a great location, not far from the airport and train station. It was very easy to walk most places... not a huge city and it is easy to get around! We also took the bus down to the beach one day which was very simple.

This hostel was very nice and everyone was extremely friendly. One night we did the pub crawl through the hostel and it was SO MUCH FUN! We met a lot of fun people and had a great time. The rooms were nice, we slept well (the beds aren't amazing but you will be tired enough from having fun in Valencia that you will sleep OK). The bathrooms were also very nice, although it was a little weird that men and women share the same bathrooms, hence only 4 stars here. All of the stalls had locks though so no awkwardness. Great service.

Lots of space to keep food, cook, etc. if you want to save some money and do that. You MUST visit the Mercado Central, which is right across the street and is soooo amazing. Thinking about it makes me hungry, and it was just so wonderful! They have a ton of fresh juices, fruits, cheeses, breads, etc. etc. I even found saffron for a great price which I brought home. A few days we bought food at the Mercado and ate that (bread, cheese, and membrillo, mmmm) instead of eating out. But in terms of eating out, Valencia was probably my favorite place and we went to some of the most amazing restaurants there and drank some fantastic sangria. Basically, there is a ton to do in Valencia. This is a great hostel and close to everything-- you will not regret it!! If I get the chance to come back I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Relaxed Atmosphere in a great location. Knowledgeable staff who can provide you with local information and help.

The rooms were very clean and the public areas always clean and tidy. Cannot fault this hostel

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hostel with its own balcony (very nice) but i can imagine in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hostel's designis very good.the hostel is very very clean. İt is five star hotel for a student. İ am strongly recommend it. İt's price is also very cheap for other hostels. We paid 68 euro for 4 person.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Youth Hostel

Address: Calle la Lonja 4 | Calle la Lonja 4, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > El Mercat
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Youth Hostel is a youth hostel in Valencia located just in the city centre, and only 10 minutes from the main train and bus stations. Our hostel offers you the perfect low-cost accommodation if you're looking for a centrally located lodging. This youth hostel in Valencia is placed a few steps far from the Mercado Central (Central Market) and La Lonja, two very important tourist spots in Valencia. Home Youth Hostel Valencia is the first hostel without bunk beds in Valencia. This coloful youth hostel is perfect for groups accomodation and also individual travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Home Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Youth Hotel Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.