We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly chilled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caro Hotel to your Saves list
Caro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almirante, 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain (La Xerea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly chilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel, full of lovely little facts and interesting stories. Lovely bar area, both inside and out, with beautiful plunge pool. We had complementary cocktails and tapas one night, perfect start to the evening. Very helpful staff who speak excellent English and are happy to book restaurants etc., clean and well presented, modern rooms. Wonderfully central location, yet still very quiet during the night.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    82
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
218
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Make sure to be aware of the fact that the Caro hotel is a unique hotel, which is something that I liked very much.

We stayed at te Caro Hotel for 2 nights recently and enjoyed the stay very much, The marriage of contemporary design with old artefacts through the whole building is tastefully done. A glass floor to show an old wall on the floor below is just one of the fine details.

The staff is helpful, friendly and offers a personal service. The in-room service with a free minibar and free tea service is worth mentioning as an extra.

Room 33 was the room we stayed in. The bathroom and especially the shower are fabulous, as are the beds. The room is located on the top floor. Due to that, the ceiling is angled, so although the floor size is quite large, for me, the place where I could stand straight up was limited. Personally I would add a dormer to the main living room of the room to add space.

Some smaller remarks: Tea is brought to the room free of charge, a coffee costs 4 euros. The pool is more of a gimmick to the hotel.

Location is perfect in the old city, very near the main park.

Room Tip: Room 33 is on the top floor and although large in size, because of the angled ceiling not all floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed so much your stay at Caro Hotel.

We indeed are a unique boutique hotel where ancient Valencian history meets nowadays design and comfort. In the design we have tried to be creative and original and an example of this is the glass floor and a small indoor moss garden.

At Caro Hotel we have 24hour reception that can help you with any service you may need, from our free 'Tea Lovers' menu to 24hour room service. We are aware of the difference between free tea and paid coffee when it is delivered, which you pointed out. Our idea is to provide this tea facility just as an extra and relaxing complement. Anyway, we appreciate your suggestion.

The complementary, free mini-bar is quite unique compared to other hotels where all its products are paid and we do believe it is one of the many ways Caro Hotel tries to make their guests feel comfortable and at home.

Room 33, 'The Templar Roofs', is one of the most singular rooms at the hotel. It has an angled ceiling since it is located right below the roof. For tal(ler) people this can be a bit inconvenient, so we advice our guests to feel free to raise this issue when booking or, if it becomes late for that, to request a different kind of room next time.

In these hot summer months, we offer our guests a small dipping pool on the terrace to get some refreshment. It is not big enough for swimming, but we think a good splash in the city centre is always welcome.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed for an extended weekend in Valencia: nice rooms beautiful decorated, walking distance to the city centre and a nice restaurant with a great breakfast. The friendly and helpful hotel staff made the stay excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on Caro Hotel here in TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel and made the most of your trip. Satisfaction is always our commitment.

We highly appreciate your words and do hope to welcome you back in a future occasion.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay with nice accommodations and decor. The location is within walking distance of any thing you need,Good food and shopping right around the corner or want to see and a short ride to the beach. In a nice part of old town and felt very safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
​Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice review of Caro Hotel. We are really happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind words.

As you mentioned, we are located right in the heart of the city. The main tourist attractions are near the hotel and can be reached on foot. Additionally, the main shopping street (Colón) is just 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Once again thank for your comment and we really hope to see you again in your next visit to Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Valencia and stayed at this hotel - we were totally impressed by every aspect, from check in to departure we were very much looked after. The hotel is hidden away in a side street a few minutes walk from the Plaza de la Virigin, so completely peaceful at all times and away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but only a 5-10 minute walk into the old town. The room (24) was very well appointed with lovely bathroom and Bvlgari toiletries which along with the complementary minibar /snacks is a lovely touch. The hotel is easily walkable from the Estacion du Nord which is the main station in Valencia city and is about 5 mins further on from the Cathedral, so dont worry about taxis. We also took a trip to the beach area - the bus stop is 2mins from the hotel and Bus 1 takes you straight down to the beach (c. 30 min trip) for a few euros. I will definitely recommend this hotel, it's a great place and great staff, We will be coming back soon I hope!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you liked so much our hotel and your stay with us. As you said, our surroundings are really interesting. We are located right in the city center, the main Plaza de la Virgen and the Cathedral are maximum 5 minutes’ walk. Restaurants, bars and sunny terraces are also near the hotel in the district El Carmen. There you can enjoy a refreshing drink during the day or even a nice dinner.

From Caro hotel you can visit the city center on foot. Other interesting points from Valencia like the Science City of Calatrava or Arenas or Malvarrosa beach can be easily reached by bus.

We have 26 rooms and all of them are different. Minibar is daily refilled free of charge, as well as tea in the room. Regarding our amenities, those who book a stay can try Bulgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products, which is made with essential plant oils and silk proteins and fragranced with Italian bergamot and pepper.

We would love to welcome you again during your next visit to Valencia.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

From the welcome to the departure, It would be churlish of me to fault anything. The food, the decor the staff the free tea, the free mini bar but above all the decor and the location,truly memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to show our appreciation for taking the time out to write this positive review.
Your opinion is short but very clear, you enjoyed your stay at Caro Hotel which means we succeeded our goal.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon in our hotel. Next time, if you book directly with us through our 24hour website/chat/phone/e-mail, we will be delighted to invite you to some more free details as a courtesy, such as a welcome drink with tapa and some homemade snacks in your room.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The surroundins of the hotel was very good, we all slept really well, breakfast was good but extra. Location cannot be beat as walking distance to all must see site. We especially love the contrast of the old and new design.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family at Caro Hotel.

Did you try our continental breakfast? Or our extended hot buffet breakfast with many local products? Either way, both are a great start of a new day in Valencia.

As you write, we are located at walking distance from the main highlights in the city, such as the cathedral and the main square, Plaza de la Virgen. The historical center of Valencia is very beautiful and full of history.

In the design of Caro hotel, location and history meet contemporary art. We are glad that you were able to appreciate the unique combination of old and new. Indeed, we usually provide our guests a small guide to be used with a QR application on your smartphone which explains with full detail a great number of issues about the hotel and its history. That is the way guests can experience the hotel as a kind of museum.

It will be our pleasure to welcome back you and your family again in your next visit to Valencia.
Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirante, 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ornamental elements of almost 2,000 years old, wooden beams from the eighteenth century, bright rooms with skylights, the 800-years-old Arabic wall of Valencia behind the bedhead, the former ballroom of the nineteenth-century palace, surprising concrete ceilings...Caro Hotel makes a unique range of 26 rooms available to the guest. Every room is different from each other, just in the heart of Valencia. Would you like to discover which one is yours? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.