We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almirante, 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain (La Xerea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Valencia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel midweek after looking at previous reviews . Very professional reception staff, quick check in managed to get into our room at 11am. Great central location. Ultra modern hotel.Hotel bar relaxing..would stay here again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We do really appreciate your opinion and your sincere words.
Thank you for sharing your view of the hotel. Our staff is always trying to provide the better service possible and these reviews make us realize how we are doing it.

One of our priorities is to make the guest feel comfortable during the stay and we reach that goal by having every room ready at the time of your arrival. We know you guests feel more relaxed if you have the chance to leave your suitcases in the room and then taking your time for a small rest after the trip.

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and also our MetaBar with a pleasant and relaxing time with us. It will be pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely.
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
142
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Every hotel should have a Unique Selling Point - the Caro has many, but its greatest strength is its perfect customer service. The team here are worth a fortune - and they're a credit to their employers.
From locating my brother's ipad (left on the inbound flight!) to sorting us out with rooms and rebooking our new flights after the French air traffic control strike - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done naturally and without any fuss - amazing!
The rooms are beautiful, the terrace relaxing, the location superb - I won't bother looking for any other hotels in Valencia - you can't beat perfection!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us and for your delightful remarks. We really appreciate to read so many USP´s in your review.

As you said we are very good located. We are placed in the city centre and you can very easily reach the cathedral, La Virgen and Reina Squares as well as the central market and the silk market. Shopping areas are just few minutes walking.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we really hope to see you back soon

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

a lovely small boutique hotel, with creatively designed rooms that make good use of all the space. Located at the end of a street in the old city, just 3 minutes from the cathedral. Staff very friendly and helpful. Outdoor patio bar very romantic. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have mentioned, we are a small lifestyle hotel with only 26 rooms, a different kind of hotel based on the proximity between the staff and the customers with a very special atmosphere.

Our small and cozy terrace welcomes guests to enjoy the Spanish weather in a quiet and sunny patio. In our Meta Bar you can taste our local wines and also artisan beers made of medlar, honey and rosemary among others, in which you will find the aromas of Valencia in an exceptional place.

We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent hotel in terms of both personnel and accommodation. Beyond the front doorstep an easy stroll guides you through the center of Valencia. But in fact their is no need to leave the hotel, as it restaurant and very pleasant outdoor lounge provide the business traveller every aspect that makes life a pleasant relaxation, though being limited in time. The interior decoration, somewhat minimalistic is well balanced with the restaurated building, though oddly enough some medieval rocks are at display for its historical value. It actually elicits a smile! unfortunately, the narrow streets and echoing house however make it relatively noisy should one consider sleeping with the windows opened. Hence, ask for a non-street facing room. Staff is extremely forthcoming and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for business stay and do consider it of clear interest for a next stay with my family.

Room Tip: Non-street room should one wish to sleep with windows opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Your opinion is very valuable to us and we highly appreciate your brief summary about your stay with us in Caro Hotel. One of the reasons we respond to all of our Trip Advisor reviews is because it is a good way to connect with all of our guests about their experiences here and let others who have not yet stayed with us know what they can expect from us.

You have highlighted very important details in your review, such as the convenient location of our property, several of its design elements but, most importantly, the human factor.

We consider ourselves a 'urban retreat' and still, the vast majority of our guests appreciate our quiet neighbourhood location and experience a peaceful and relaxing stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to all the important sights the city center of Valencia has to offer. Even though our hotel might not be considered a 'business hotel', perhaps due to its central location and services offered, we can perfectly respond to any guest's request. Our restaurant 'Alma del Temple', as well as other spaces in the hotel, can easily be adapted for meetings, conferences and press presentations. Our goal is to make sure we provide you with excellent value and of course, impeccable service.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in Caro Hotel, for both business and pleasure purposes.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A beautiful architect designed conversion of an old Palace. They have managed to introduce contemporary fixtures and fittings well against the back drop of the Moorish architecture. It is the best of it's type I have seen and is a perfect city break hotel, for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate that you enjoyed the character of our historic property.

By staying at Caro Hotel you can observe the remains found during the construction project such as, the Cornice of the Roman Circus of Valencia (2nd Century), the Gothic Tiles (15th Century,) or the most ancient ceramic mosaic found in Valencia created more than 2000 years ago, just to mention a few.

Even in some of the rooms you can be surrounded by the antique Arabic walls, for example in room number 03, where the 900 year-old wall with candles inside its holes makes time-travel possible. This was, indeed, one of the main purposes, to be able to combine the Ancient remains with ad hoc pieces to create a very unique style.


Also perfect for romantic getaways is the hotel attic, divided into two rooms both with a round bathtub located under the mansard of the palace allowing you to observe Valencia blue skies.

With such reviews like yours, we will keep on working hard to make your stay memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Thank you again for your opinion.

Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Check in was a breeze. Very accommodating and professional. Service staff from valet, to bartender, server in restaurant were all so courteous, polite and helpful. Breakfast is superb. Very centrally located. Close to several plazas and the Cathedral. Hands down an amazing experience and one of my favorite rooms ever... If you want to splurge, it's worth checking if there availability for the Marquis Suite. The fusion of classic with modern is particularly accentuated in this room. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate you have taken the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We have been working hard to set a high standard in our hotel staff, we hope we have reached your expectations in this matter.

We are glad to know that you did enjoy our breakfast. We offer a complete buffet with first quality products, homemade pastries, warm meals, and natural juices.

As you mentioned we are located in the very city center so it is always a pleasure to explain to our guests the highlights of Valencia, all within walking distance. We also love to take time to show the Roman, Arabic, Gothic and XIX century remains that set the background of Caro Hotel.

The Marquis Suite is our best Room. It has a prime location and it holds an agricultural allegory fresco and part of the Marquis ballroom. The Rococo remains and the Avant-garde Minimalist styles have been fussed with great mastery in this room and we are grateful to our interior designer Fancesc Rifé for his work. We are very glad you appreciated it.

Last but not least, thank you again for your nice review, we hope to see you again in your next trip to Valencia.

Kind Regards,

Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirante, 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ornamental elements of almost 2,000 years old, wooden beams from the eighteenth century, bright rooms with skylights, the 800-years-old Arabic wall of Valencia behind the bedhead, the former ballroom of the nineteenth-century palace, surprising concrete ceilings...Caro Hotel makes a unique range of 26 rooms available to the guest. Every room is different from each other, just in the heart of Valencia. Would you like to discover which one is yours? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.