We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the old City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Lys

Save Saved
You added Vincci Lys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincci Lys
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martinez Cubells 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain (Sant Francesc)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Trail, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Heart of the old City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Vincci Lys from June 23-28, and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in Valencia for two weeks, with the first week ready to explore the old part of the city, and the second week to relax on the beach. The Vincci Lys was the perfect location for us to see the city. Breakfast were excellent, Front staff were great, rooms were big, beds were OK, view was not that great, as it looked directly at a building, but we were in the old part of the city with narrow streets. All in all I would recommend staying here to see the city. We both loved seeing Spain for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    470
    86
    23
    11
See reviews for
162
575
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I spent a night at the Vincci Lys on a family trip (four adults) and we all absolutely loved it. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful when we checked in. The location is right in the heart of town, a beautiful area surrounded by restaurants and fantastic shopping. I would recommend booking with breakfast, since the breakfast buffet is excellent and probably the best that we had in all of our travels in Spain. One small thing, not really a complaint - we were traveling with a car. The hotel does have parking, but it costs 20 Euro/night, even for hotel guests. We didn't realize this when we made the booking.

But overall an excellent hotel, friendly staff, and a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can get one - twice the size of a regular room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in July.
When we search for places to stay, our main considerations are location, costs, safety, sleep quality etc.

Location -
This hotel really does have a superb location, we used the Metro from the airport and the hotel is in walking distance (thank you google maps).
The location is great for access to all parts of the city and we walked to all of the main attractions.
There are plenty of good places to eat and drink for all times of day. We ate out for all our meals and would recommend the same.

Costs -
Hotel is reasonably priced and the room have everything you need (standard tourist).

Safety -
No concerns at all. There are a few beggars and buskers but they are not intense and will accept a polite no.

Sleep quality -
The hotel did let itself down here.
We requested a double bed, but were supplied 2 twins pushed together. I am aware the hotel doesn't have enough to fulfil all requests, but it was disappointing.
Further the twins were so uncomfortable, neither of us had great sleep. They are lumpy and could feel the springs.

On the plus side, the bedroom part of the rooms were separated by another door, so hotel room door goes into a reception area with access to the bathroom and there is another door into the bedroom. Did think this was a nice touch.
Again however the hotel let themselves down with flooring.
The floors were marble / tiled. Nice and cool, looks nice, however every time our upstairs neighbours moved chairs or walked in heels this could be heard in our room.

I would also urge a note of caution when using the shower -
Firstly the shower is in a bath and the water is piped from the bath taps. To me this seemed almost antiquated, I mean why no shower room ???
The caution comes from using the shower and attempting to find a constant temperature that is comfortable.
There is a knack, I couldn't find it, I ended up initially chasing the temperature e.g. when cold turned to hot, when too hot, back to cold.
This however just resulted in loud swearing.
I then decided to be typically British and to stand there and take it (despite the claim my wife said about the occasional girly scream).
Finally near the end of our stay I concluded it was all about the timing. When you feel the temp drop, back away and soap up, wait and count to 30, then hopefully the temp has again normalised for finishing off.

I did raise my concerns with the staff at reception who nodded and made notes but no changes materialised. My opinion is that its like when someone else in your household runs the taps when you are showering at home. Funny the 1st time but this soon wears off.

Staff -
The maids are outstanding, always smile and speak.
Reception staff, polite, friendly and helpful.

Overall -
I would advise scoping other hotels with similar costing's as this hotel does have great staff and location but at the end of the day, you choose a hotel to sleep and refresh yourselves for the holiday / reason for visiting.
Shame really as the hotel is nice but lets you down on the basics.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and opinions about your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We chose this hotel based on its location and were not disappointed. A two minute walk from the metro Xativa stop, from which we got the train direct from the airport. Friendly reception spoke very good English. Good sized tastefully decorated room even though only a standard one, air conditioning brilliant. Bathroom also a good size. We had the bonus of a balcony having requested it. Free reliable wifi and use of safe, comfortable bed. The room was always spotless. If we return to Valencia it would be to this hotel.

We stayed for a 4 night break for our wedding anniversary and the hotel kindly surprised us with complimentary Champagne which we were delighted with. Thank you Christina!

Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby so we didn't take breakfast. High Street shops were close at hand so a shoppers paradise, especially if you (like me) are fond of shoes!

The old town is easily accessible on foot, as is the Science Park if you don't mind a half hour walk. With the metro on the doorstep it was also easy to access the beach and port although this took half an hour.

In all recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Vincci Lys was smack-dab in the middle of all the action, and afterall, that's what we were looking for -- a hotel from which we can access on foot all that we want to see. While we didn't spend much time in our room, it was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathrooms have nice showers and the staff was helpful but not overbearing. The only qualm was the height of the chandelier in the middle of the room. You'll hit your head if you're over 6' tall. We were with a car, and the hotel provided a discount on underground parking. Our two-night stay didn't break the bank -- we paid 242 Euros ($344) with parking. Hint: skip the breakfast and get cafe con leche and chocolate croissants from the Carpe Diem across from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as 2 couples in early June 2014. We booked through a consolidator and on arrival were shown rooms at the back of the hotel with a huge brick wall about 6 feet away. We rejected these rooms and were told that there was only one standard room facing the front of the hotel left. This was a pleasant room so our friends had that and we only were left with paying a supplement of 60 euros a night for a superior room as I am claustrophobic. After some negotiation the reception staff agreed we could only pay 30 euros a night which we accepted. The only difference from the standard room was a terrace which was too hot to use and a somewhat bigger room certainly not worth 60 euros a night. However the hotel is well situated in a pedestrian street which was being dug up noisily all day and it is within walking distance of most places in old Valencia.
It is a lovely city and there is lots to see and do. The hotel breakfast which was included in our deal was good and there was lots of choice although the usual hard boiled eggs and tepid bacon were not very appetising. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were very clean and well appointed and everything worked well. A good choice for a city break if you can specify a front facing room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and for offering us your comments and opinions. We will take them into account carefully, because they will help us improve every day, and also to adapt our facilities and services to our customers' tastes and needs.

We regret that the first room was not completely to your liking. Rooms are allocated on the customer arrival and at that time we did not have other rooms in the same category.

We hope that you can visit us in the near future so that you can enjoy a real Vincci experience.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehorse
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Vincci Lys Hotel is very well located in Valencia, and the rooms are comfortable. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. However, there is a sickening and overpowering perfume smell that hits you as soon as you enter the building. Unfortunately, the smell is throughout the hotel including the rooms. It even permeated my clothing. I am not overly sensitive to smells, but I found it almost intolerable. If my room had not been prepaid, I might have cancelled my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Valencia and for publishing your comments.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and also the guestrooms, and that you rated positively the attention received from our staff.

We are sorry that in your case you did not like our corporate scent. It is one of the aspects that our customers rate most highly, and we offer it for sale at the customers' request.

We remain at your service for anything you may need.

With kind regards,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincci Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Lys

Address: Martinez Cubells 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#6 Family Hotel in Valencia
#12 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Lys 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Valencia and just a two minute walk from the train station and the Town Hall Square. Vincci Lys Hotel is located on a quite pedestrian street and surrounded by all kinds of shops, restaurants and buildings of cultural interest. Decorated in an elegant and attractive style. It is the only hotel in the centre of Valencia with a car park and direct access to its premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vincci Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Lys Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Lys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.