We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel to your Saves list
Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Boix 4, 46003 Valencia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good hotel, very friendly, efficient staff, good location in the centre of town, very quiet indeed (room on 3rd floor overlooking the street) good aircon! no mini-bar though which was a shame and not really enough clothes storage, but these points are being very picky.

Room Tip: street view rooms have small balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    136
    32
    7
    0
See reviews for
30
182
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A quaint hotel on a quiet street near the heart of a fantastic city.
The location is ideal because the hotel itself is just far enough away from the Old Town that you can easily find rest and relaxation and yet close enough to the very best sites and shops of Valencia.
The staff at both the hotel and restaurant were helpful, sweet, and attentive. They truly treated you like a welcomed guest.
When I return to Valencia, I will be returning to the Ad Hoc Monumental.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Small hotel part of a small hotel group.

Ideally situated close to the Old City centre in Valencia, 5 mins walk from the old centre.

This hotel is in a very quiet side street, with limited (non reservable) street parking right outside, bike parking no problem at all in the street.

Well serviced, clean and quiet rooms, air con fully recomended. 
Breakfast available, restaurant on the ground floor.

Friendly helpful staff, fully recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a lovely stay at the hotel. The Staff was very kind and helpful. Maria in the restaurant is also a very good hostess.The hotel is well located and a only short and safe walk to the historic centre of Valencia. A bus stop is nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. We paid a bit extra and rented one of the two rooms on the top floor which have a terrace. Other reviewers reported noise from surrounding rooms and street but we didn't hear any. Neither did we have any problems with sleep as the bed was large, comfortable and the pillows were fine for us.

The hotel is located in the north of the old city within 5 minutes walk of Plaze de la Virgen amd other other old city attractions. Check in was efficient and courteous although there was no offer to help with bags. As this was a small hotel, we only ever saw one member of staff on reception so I dont think there was anyone available in any case.

The hotel has a nice bit of character and the rooms reflect this. Bathroom was large with a decent shower.The room furnishings were a little dated but clean. Aircon was excellent.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel after reading all the positive comments on tripadvisor. Unfortunately we felt as if the hotel missed the mark. Ad Hoc is located to the north of the old town CBD, a 10 minute walk to the shopping areas. The hotel room was a good size, it's unique standard 80's feel was pleasing. The bathroom area was decent and the marble styled floors also looked valuable. The staff were nice and accommodating. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can not comment.

The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were flat and lifeless. The two nights we stayed here there was street noise (obviously not hotels fault). Given the floors are marble, every move from the rooms around, and especially above is amplified and can be heard. The walls are paper thin, we could hear conversations could in our room from the halls. The room had no fridge and the wifi is weak, slow and terrible. The wifi could be easily fixed with boosters on each floor. If you are interested in having shower, I recommend bringing your own pump as the hot water pressure is low.

With some upgrades and a facelift this could be a very good hotel. A main road is near by which made catching a taxi simple. If pedal power is your style, the city bike rentals are also very close. Good luck for the future, but I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Is located in a narrow street right in the old town and close to the old river bed so excellent for getting around. It is beautifully restored with marble floors. the room had a comfy double bed, floor length windows with a little balcony overlooking the street. It was spotlessly clean, the kettle and water in the room was a nice touch. Our room faced the street so you did get traffic noise so if that is a problem for you then ask for a room at the back.

Also had dinner in the hotel restaurant - good value at about €12 including the most delicious home made bread.
Do hire bikes if you can, it is such a great way of seeing the city and going to the beach and the aquarium too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel

Address: C/ Boix 4, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#27 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Hoc Monumental Valencia
Hotel Ad Hoc Monumental
Ad Hoc Hotel Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.