We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value and service. Need I say more?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorolla Centro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorolla Centro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sorolla Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento Santa Clara, 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Valencia
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location, value and service. Need I say more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. The location of the hotel is excellent and a 2 minute walk from Xativa metro station which is the same line for the airport. It is also a very easy 10 minute walk to the tourist sights. My room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable bed. I did not pay the additional 10 Euros for breakfast as there are many restaurants and cafes nearby so can't comment on that. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel as I don't think you will find better for the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guests,
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you point, the Hotel is located at the most commercial pedestrian street, 100 meters far from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento, perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center and perfectly communicated with Bus and Metro with any point of the city, including the Airport.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine, but from all the Staff because with their professionalism, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for sharing your experience, for trusting us and RECOMMEND Hotel Sorolla Centro through Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be very helpful.
We hope see you in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    214
    30
    2
    2
See reviews for
86
232
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed with two friends in a huge tripe room with a lovely balcony overlooking the main pedestrian street. All spotlessly clean and fresh. Nice big towels in a nice big bathroom. Good blackout curtains made sure we slept well and did not hear any outside noise. Another review says walls are a bit thin and that is true but I was so tired it didn't really bother me much.
Breakfast was great. The staff were invisibly super attentive - nothing ran out. I was dying to try the bucks fizz but too shy to ask the price! However, I am sure it would have been reasonable.
Reception staff were always friendly and very helpful. Two minute walk from the Xativia tube stop which links directly with the airport. We only had cabin luggage so it was no effort to use the public transport, but it would not have been too arduous to pull a proper suitcase from airport to bedroom.
Perfect position in the town. We walked everywhere although gravitated to the old town most nights which is a ten minute stroll. Lovely architecture to look at. Most museums are free on Sundays to that was a good tip.
Best tapas I have had in Spain. I recommend Suzie as a Tapas Tour guide!
Bio-Parc is worth visiting (get off at Nou Octobre tube stop and then ask for directions - about 15 minute walk and on the other side of the river bed park). We didn't go to the beach because we all live near the sea but other people said it was a lovely experience. We did go on a swimming day with Mike and that was great fun. We stopped off at a small bar on the way home and were royally entertained. I think the four rather beautiful young ladies who were also on the tour, ensured our special treatment!
I'd love to go back to Valencia and would definitely stay at the Sorolla again - I wouldn't bother looking at any other hotel although I am sure they are lovely.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are on the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing out Hotel, for your comments and for dedicate part of your time.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you point, the Hotel is located at the most commercial pedestrian street, 100 meters far from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento, perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center and perfectly communicated with Bus and Metro with any point of the city, including the Airport.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet. We offer diary a great variety of products, wide selection of juices, fresh fruit, sweets and savory, all with high quality and fresh.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine, but from all the Staff because with their professionalism, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for trusting us and sharing your experience through Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be very helpful.
We hope see you soon in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We choose to visit Valencia as a short stopover on our way to Barcelona. After looking around on TA, I decided on the Sorolla for it's location and proximity to the train station. We walked from the Joaquin Sorolla train station, not to be confused with the Nord which is right down the street from the hotel. It was about a 15 minute walk. Save your cab fare because it's a pleasant and easy walk and many do it.

Friendly greeting when we walked in and an explanation of the hotel, although we didn't know there was a key deposit (which you get back) for the room safe. The room was much smaller than our previous hotel in Madrid, but the twin beds were firmly comfy and there was a nice balcony with a view of the busy street down below. We were on the 7th floor and didn't hear anything when the door was closed. We even took a nap with the door open later that day and it was nice.

I thought there could've been a couple of hooks in the bathroom, but they have these big thirsty towels! Again, the only English station was the BBC, oh and Discovery Max, which is a local station that plays American reality series about stuff...LOL!

We didn't try the breakfast buffet so I can't comment. It smelled good though! This is really a great hotel to explore the city. We only stayed two nights, but wished we stayed a couple days longer. Wifi is free which came in handy, and again, the staff is very helpful and friendly! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guests,
We are glad to know the opinions made through Triapvisor helped you to book at Hotel Sorolla Centro.
As you could check, the Hotel is located at the most commercial pedestrian street, 100 meters far from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento, perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center and perfectly communicated with Bus and Metro with any point of the city, including the Airport.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine, but from all the Staff because with their professionalism, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for trusting us and sharing your experience through Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be very helpful, as they were for you.
We hope see you soon in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Hotel Sorolla Centro is excellent value in Valencia's old town. The hotel is located in a pedestrian street only a two minute walk from the train station. If you arrive to Valencia by plane be sure to take the Metro from the airport and get off at Xátiva, which is the name of the subway station below the main train station. The Metro is very convenient, faster than a taxi and costs only EUR 4.90.
The Sorolla Centro is a nice little hotel. It is very clean and has everything you need, including a nice breakfast buffet. The breakfast room is at the 2nd floor and has large windows from where you are overlooking the walking streets. The staff is helpful and friendly - and you are within walking distance of all the sights in the center of Valencia. The cathedral is only 10 minutes away, and many streets of the area are lined with restaurants, cafes and shops. The old town is quite crowded and has a worn down look with ruined buildings, some litter in the streets and much graffiti, but it is still charming. When I stayed at the Sorolla Centro for two nights in June I paid only USD 85 per night for a single room, including breakfast. This is super value for a nice room at a good three star hotel in Valencia's old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for considerer Hotel Sorolla Centro as a good 3 star Hotel at the historical center and for the fabulous value for money.
As you could check, the Hotel is located on the most commercial pedestrian street in the center of Valencia, 100 meters far from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento. Perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center, and perfectly communicated through Bus and Metro with any point of the city, including the airport.
Our Housekeeping team, headed by the head housekeeper, is diary responsible of the perfect cleaning condition of the Hotel, in and out of the rooms.
We are glad to know you liked our Breakfast buffet. We offer diary a great selection of products, wide selection of juices, fresh fruit, savory and sweet, all of them fresh and high quality.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine, but from all the Staff because, with their hard work, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for choosing out Hotel, trusting us and sharing your experience through Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be helpful.
We hope see you in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were three ladies on a 3 night city break and enjoyed a 7th floor triple room which, despite other reviews, we found to be peaceful, despite the fact we were right in the middle of a vibrant city location. The hotel is 5 mins walk away from the Metro. When you arrive at airport terminal, go to departures to find Metro. Hotel is 8 stops away (I think) at Nou d'Octubre cost c4Euro - total journey time 20 mins. The room was very spacious with our own balcony, big enough for table, chairs and sun bed. The bathroom was well-stocked and we also enjoyed the use of a fridge. Safe: 10E refundable deposit. If you are in the city for a short visit, you are within a stone's throw of all the best locations - no need for a taxi. The Bio Park and all the little squares of the old city, with their fantastic restaurants on your doorstep. We enjoyed a tapas tour with Suzie on our first evening to get our bearings and a day trip to the hot springs an hour outside of Valencia with Mike (reviewed separately) next day. The Bio Park is not to be missed, as is a walk down the old river bed, now drained - a lovely parkland through the centre of the city which you can hop on/off at any point. We missed the Oceanagrafic - not enough time - but understand this too is worth a visit. Oh, don't forget to try the best ice creams at Santa Catalina just off one of the big squares. Try Agua de Valencia (fresh orange juice, champagne and other lovely stuff) about 18E a jug but what a treat. This city is magic. We shall return and definitely stay at Hotel Sorolla Centro again. Thank you for a wonderful stay to the management and staff.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our top floor room - great views and guaranteed peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, marvelous according to your opinion.
As you could check the Hotel is located on the most commercial pedestrian street of Valencia, 100 meters far from Plaza del Ayuntamiento, perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center and perfectly communicated with any point of the city, including the airport.
I inform you I have already told the staff your message of satisfaction for the attentions they had with you during your stay.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine, but from all the staff because, with their professionalism, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for trusting us and sharing your experience though Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be very helpful.
We hope see you soon in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley Wark's
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A welcoming and friendly hotel, very comfortable rooms kept immaculate by the chamber maids. I have to agree with comments about the lack of sound proofing between rooms, also the street noise can go on late into the following morning, however this is the price you pay for such a good location. An excellent breakfast is provided by charming staff who kept everything coming.
A very good 3 star property at sensible prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for considering the Sorolla Centro Hotel as a good 3 star Hotel at reasonable prices. As you could see, the Hotel is located in a pedestrian street, just 100 meters from the City Hall, perfect to visit walking all the attractions of the old town. Perfect communicated by Metro and Bus to any point of interest of the city including the Airport. The waitresses team, led by our Housekeeper, works very hard to have the rooms and all the hotel clean ever day. We’re glad to know that you liked our Breakfast Buffet, we offer every day a wide selection of juices, fresh fruits, sweet and salty…all fresh and of a high quality. I wouldn’t say goodbye without express our gratitude not only mine, also of the entire Staff because they are the ones with their work make that guests leave our Hotel with good memories. Thanks for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor for future customers, for sure that your comment will be for a great help. If you come back we let you know that we have rooms to a backyard this kind of rooms are quitter.
Hope to see you again in this your Hotel in Valencia.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough nice things about this property. It's the perfect location to explore the old town. Only 60 meters from the metro station to/from the airport, and across the street from the main train station. If taking the metro from the airport, take any train to station "Xativa ". Exit to C/Ribia, 60 meters straight ahead (first street) turn right, you're at reception. At the same corner as the metro station you can catch the #35 bus to the City of Arts and Sciences. All of the attractions of old town are within walking distance. Hotel Sorolla Centro is where I'll be on my next visit to Valencia.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Luis M, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Comments like yours help and motivate us to keep doing properly our job with the only purpose of the highest level of satisfaction of our guests. Your satisfaction is also ours.
As you could check, the Hotel is located at the most commercial pedestrian street of Valencia, 100 meters far from Plaza del Ayuntamiento, perfect location to visit on foot all the highlights of the historical center and perfectly communicated through Bus and Metro with any point of the city, including the airport.
I would not like to say goodbye without expressing all the gratitude, not only mine but from all the staff because, with their professionalism, they are who make and achieve guests like you leave the hotel with good memories of their stay.
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and sharing your experience through Tripadvisor with future guests, we are sure your comments will be helpful.
We hope se you soon in this your hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorolla Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorolla Centro

Address: Convento Santa Clara, 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#4 Family Hotel in Valencia
#5 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorolla Centro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sorolla Centro is located in one of the most commercial pedestrian areas of Valencia, just 100 meters from the City Hall Square, perfect to visit walking all the attractions of the Historic center, being perfectly communicated by Bus and Metro to any point of interest in the city including the Airport.Rooms are comfortable and with a modern décor, being fully equipped including LCD TV with International channels, (FREE WiFi and Safe Box) and the most important, in perfect conditions and cleanliness.We remember you that booking directly through our official website where you’ll always get the BEST AVAILABLE RATE and 1 welcome free Bottle of wine in your room the check in day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sorolla Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorolla Hotel Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorolla Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.