We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bedroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Valencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Valencia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Valencia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Alameda 38 | Solher Alameda, 46023 Valencia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Valencia
1 review
“Hotel Bedroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

On arrival we were advised we could have a double room but with two single beds or a double smoking room with double bed athough it may not have been used by smokers even although we had booked a double non smoking room months previously. For a four star hotel we did not expect to find small holes in the bottom bed sheet and a larger hole in bottom pillowcase. Staff were very friendly and apart from this we had a pleasant stay. Desk manager was very helpful in arranging transport to the Moto GP race track for us for which we very very grateful. l

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear rebecca f

Thank you very much for your review. Now we must speak with the Laundry to know what's happend with the bedding

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    247
    147
    49
    16
See reviews for
166
180
27
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollviken, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having stayed here the last time we were in Valencia in 2008 and being very pleased with our stay - we returned for a one night stay driving through Valencia. The hotel is located in a nice area by the park surrounding the city and within easy strolling distance of many attractions. A short taxi ride to the old town - or a longer stroll will get you downtown.

The hotel has the pool on the roof - which our daughter and we enjoyed during our last visit. Surprise surprise - its still there, but now there is no one manning the bar (you can get it sent up via room service) which was a little disappointing as a cup of coffee gets rather lukewarm after a long elevator ride, the fitness room adjoining the pool areas seems a little run down, the water dispenser is filled "now and then", etc. You get the picture Im sure.

The rooms were large and clean - with the exception that I couldn’t seem to close the window. This until I noticed the cigarette butte stuck in the frame. Once removed by me (not the cleaning lady) the window could close properly.

The hotel is still good - still a great breakfast - and ok service. Not as good as it was 6 years ago. But would I return? Yes - I would most likely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. The pool area is closed in winter weather reasons. I regret that in the window had butts. I talked to the housekeeper about what happened so that it does not recur.

I hope see uou soon

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is near the "Agora" a very nice arena and part of the " Ciudad de Los Ciences" complex (walking distance) if you are going to the ATP 500 annual tennis tournament held there.
Very comfortable with a nice bar and restaurant.Excellent breakfast buffet.Very reasonable prices and an upgrade to an executive room (if you are lucky)
There is a restaurant called "Pizza Romana" almost across the road.
Only order a single starter salad,it is enought for 3 persons.Ditto their whopper pizzas.!
Fabulous choice of white and red wines for 10-11 Euros a bottle.You cannot go wrong here.Try the "Cinco quesos" pizza-wonderful.Huge lumps of cheeses on top.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tirnan0g33

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoy your stay in Holiday Inn Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good clean and comfortable rooms- very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was busy as it was a holiday weekend when I stayed, and the numbers of staff did not seem sufficient sometimes to cope with demand in the restaurant and reception. I wondered sometimes if the general manager (nowhere to be seen) was on the ball. On main bus route into town which is useful. If you use the hotel's underground garage, make sure you have a small car as it was not designed for large cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if you want to sleep as the hotel is near a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear York1000

Thank you very much for your contribution to our hotel. Our hotel has large spaces for cars and vans but true, it's best to check first such aparcamietno reserves.

We look forward to welcoming you in person the next time you visit

attentively

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September.

Hotel is in a fairly good location, about 30 mins walk to the beach, about 20 minutes walk into town but close to the large Turia park.

Staff were all friendly. We were upgarded to a suite on the top floor, so room was very large and had great views from the coast to the old town. Room had free WIFI, large lcd tv, sofa.

Our rate included breakfast, this was a good buffet breakfast. Fair choice, but always busy. Always managed to get a table though.

Happy Hour cocktails were good.

Rooftop pool was small, but did the job.

The Tourist bus stops right outside the hotel.

Check out the Pizzaria across the road, the Pizza's are ENORMOUS.... So are the salads. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Marksmith34

Thank you very much for your review to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in person the next time you visit

attentively

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Amazingly affordable rates for a very clean and comfortable hotel in Valencia. The Wifi was free and there was a field behind the hotel where people could park for free (Although they don't tell you this.) There are two wine bars immediately outside the hotel and other cafe's and pizza parlors nearby. The Hotel also has a cafe/bar and a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Falco:

Thank You very much for your review. It's very important for us to know who our guest fell in our hotel.

I hope see you soon.

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights (Sat, Sun, Mon). Managed to snag the non-refundable pre-pay nightly rate of 75 euros which did not include breakfast. Given that it was a nice-sized room, bright, in a good location and has all the modern conveniences, the price was well worth it. The wifi signal was strong and no code required. These were the most comfy matresses we slept on (not too hard or soft). Our room had two double beds and at least 2 feet of space between the beds. Many mid-priced European hotels have two twin beds situated right next to each other.

As others have mentioned, the magnetic key swipe system to operate the two small elevators took some getting used to.

A Mercadona supermarket was two short blocks away (near the Tennis Center) and handy for stocking up on fruit, drinks and snacks. There is a small refrigerator below the tea/coffee-making facility near the door.

Since it was the weekend, the town center was packed. After having spent 9 days in Andalucia, arriving in Spain's 3rd largest City was an eye opener. The whole atmosphere changed after we left that area to visit the grounds of the City Arts and Sciences/Ciutat de les Arts I Les Ciences. My sister is an architect and Calavatra fan so naturally she was awed. As an amateur photographer, I could not stop taking pictures from every angle imaginable.

On Sunday, we had a late paella lunch after walking along Malvarrosa Beach on Paseo de Neptuno. Having read that most Valencianos eat paella for lunch rather than dinner, we sought out either La Pepica or L'Estimat. Not surprisingly, these two restaurants did not have staff outside trying to lure in customers. We noticed many local families and some visitors in both and chose L'Estimat. Paella Valenciana is made with rabbit so we stuck to Paella Marisco (seafood). All servings are for a minimum of two persons. 17 euros per serving for the paella plus 1.50 euros per person "bread charge" (did not matter if you ate the bread or not). All the tourists were seated in the same area of the restaurant. Eat the bread, because the wait for the paella was 50 minutes despite the waiter telling you it is 25 minutes. The food was good and authentic, but not the earth-shattering experience I had hoped for.

Afterwards, we went to the Science Center. We purchased the combination ticket which included the Science Museum (nice architecture but the exhibits are so-so; compared to the Science Museums in Philadelphia, Chicago and San Francisco), an iMax movie (we saw "Sea Monsters" - the English translation was provided through a separate headset but could not drown out the Spanish which was blaring through the theatre) and the Oceanografic/Aquarium. We saved the Aquarium for Monday which was the best of the three. It had a unique layout and a pretty good dolphin show.

I had heard that October 9 was a Valencian holiday but had no idea that it was also a Festival of Pyrotechnics. At midnight, we were woken up after hearing several loud explosions. We saw the reflection of fireworks off the windows from a building accross the street. So we got dressed, ran oustide, and not far from the hotel entrance facing Turia Park, hundreds of locals were in the street watching the fireworks display. It was an unexpected surprise.

Make sure you visit the Central Market. We enjoyed some fresh-squeezed juices and empanadas. I also purchased handmade chocolates shaped like olives, chocolate covered blueberries and nougat from the friendly owner who kept giving us free samples (Vann's).

In short, the Holiday Inn is situated nicely between the Ciutat Vella and the modern Science City. It is located in a residential neighborhood right along Turia Park. If you are a biker, jogger or enjoy strolling, this is an ideal location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Valencia, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thak you very much foor your review, When we put the system in the elevator access was controlled to ensure safety to our customers. Given that he has been bothered more benefit we proceeded to disconnect.

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Valencia

Address: Paseo de Alameda 38 | Solher Alameda, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Valencia is a modern 4* Hotel situated besides the City of Arts and Science. With good access to the city center and the beach.You can enjoy of our high speed wifi, have a nice meal at our restaurant or have a drink in the evening in our terrace.We have a wide variety of rooms including family rooms for a maximum of 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 children.For business travelers, we can offer our executive floor, with more space for working confortable in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Valencia Hotel Valencia
Valencia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Valencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.