We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but hotel has seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Reina Victoria

Save Saved
You added Husa Reina Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Husa Reina Victoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barcas 4-6, 46002 Valencia, Spain (Sant Francesc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 98 hotels in Valencia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location but hotel has seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Looking at the positives, the Reina Victoria is in a fantastic location, very central, close to the old town and many bars and restaurants. If it wasn't for the greatr location I would made the overall rating 2 stars. The room size was fine, with quite a large bathroom. However, we found service levels sub-standard.. in fact, largely non-existent! There was certainly no friendly 'ola' from the front desk, which was often unmanned. There was also a lot of marks on the walls in our room, the mattress was a bit lumpy, and towels were old and frayed. The Reina Victoria I think is trading on past glories - the building exterior is grand and impressive, but it's what's inside that is more important!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    170
    103
    32
    13
See reviews for
35
146
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located only a few blocks from the central market and the rest of the turist attractions in the center of town. The room was spacious and comfortable. The decor could use some updating but this fact does not detract from the overall experience. The hotel has lots of character and charm. We recommend the breakfast buffet. It is very reasonably priced and the food is ok. If you wish to take the bus around town, the different bus stops are very near the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is 3 min walking distance from Plaça del Ajuntament. (and 10 min walking distance from Plaça de la Virgen and Plaça de la Reina, which are one of the main squares of the old town.) the hotel is OK but feels somehow jaded, probably because of the poor decoration. in July 2012, there was a huge scaffold that covered the facade of the building and the legs of the scaffold were placed in out balcony which is facing the street (a room which has a nice street view). our view was covered by it and the balcony was almost useless. we weren't warned about this situation before so the room was disappointing in spite of its good location. staff is really friendly (all Valencians are really friendly though, they never leave your questions unanswered even if they don't speak english, they use all their body languge skills).
we were told that the breakfast at the hotel was quite good but for me, it was average. scrambled eggs were so oily that i could just taste the oil, boiled eggs gone green, plus, all the clean glasses seemed dirty in our second day there, staff was unaware of it. one important thing: we were not able to lock the balcony door so anyone (practically anyone who has the intention to steal things) who can climb to the scaffold from the ground would have the opportunity to break in our room. nothing happened but even thinking of it felt uncomfortable.
despite all of the things that i never expect from a hotel which has 4.5 points from tripadvisor, it is a somehow peaceful place. reina victoria 's located in an old Valencian building, which is good. it was around 65-70 Euros for a double room daily, which is a reasonable price for a hotel in Spain but if it's Valencia, you really don't need B&B. there are dozens of bakeries in walking distance if you're staying around old town. if you don't feel like exploring, the huge vegetable-meat and fruits bazaar Mercado Central is enough itself. Just go and grab an empenada with fresh fruit juice - that's all you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vina del mar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location, lobby, restaurant and service was great. The elevators were convenient although the staircase is really beautiful. We had a nice bathroom and a nice view with a balcony. The room had bad air conditioning and the beds were not comfortable (2 things that are not unusual in Spain). Worth it for the price and location.
Restaurant and bar area is gorgeous! You can walk to the train station, bull fights, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de La Laguna, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What I did love about the hotel? It was clean, rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable, but if one's unlucky, you're gonna end up with a room basically facing wall as I did. Okay, that would not bother me so much as other small things. Like cleaning stuff bursting into the room despite the 'no molestar' sign. Happened to me as well to a friend of mine (we were a big group). Another thing was constant moving. Okay, we were a big group, okay the hotel may have been running out of rooms, but for god's sake why move people who paid for double room to a single one... that was extremely uncomfortable.
Another thing was slight strange smell when I went back to the room. Some scented sticks or whatever may have fixed it.
The nice thing was food and in general helpfulness of the receptionists.
But in general, I have a feeling that I don't know where the 4* came from.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I liked this hotel as I love old hotels with character It is right in the heart of the city so you can walk to every thing I do think they need to invest in some new pillows though It has a small foyer so not good when checking in if in a tour or big group Staff were very good and got our luggage as soon as was possible Beautiful staircase that you could walk up Air conditioner did not work so we left french doors open a little Lucky it was not hot

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Atención al cliente at Husa Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you found some details that were not of your liking, just to explain that the hotel is built in a modernistic building from the 20th. Century and as you might have checked,due to its location you were able to enjoy downtown Valencia.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is our third visit to Valencia and we decided to stay in the Reina Victoria this time. What a mistake. We stayed 3 nights, arriving on Sunday at lunchtime. Got the keys to our room and couldnt believe what we were allocated as a 4 star room. Tiny, dingy, smelling of stale cigarette smoke. One small window looking onto a back wall. Sunday was the final day of the F1 race and we paid €137 for this night alone. We immediately went to reception and were advised that another room was not available, however, after much discussion, were advised that if we came back in a few hours, a better room might be available. We went for lunch and on our return we were allocated a room on another floor to the front of the hotel that was larger and had more light. The beds were still the same, hard and springy equivalent to a camp bed but I guess I was at least upgraded from terrible to poor. Interesting to see that hotel management have acknowledged many of the ratings and indicated that only with customer feedback they can improve. I wonder when the improvements will start???

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Atención al cliente at Husa Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Customer, we regret to hear you left our hotel with such negative feelings. Don’t worry, we not only improve our facilities when we read our customer’s suggestions, we improve on a daily basis and as you might have seen, our hotel has very good reviews when it comes to personnel, rooms, cleaning, etc. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Husa Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Reina Victoria

Address: Barcas 4-6, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Reina Victoria 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Husa Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Reina Victoria Valencia
Husa Reina Victoria Hotel Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Reina Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.