We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Save Saved
You added Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Rodrigo Botet 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Astoria Palace Hotel) (Sant Francesc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 98 hotels in Valencia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city by a plaza away from the main road, so everything is within a short walk (except for the beach of course). The staff where friendly, polite and very helpful.

Prices for both the rooms and services at the hotel were very reasonable.

The room was quiet and fairly new (upper room on one of the top floors). I would have given it five points if it hadn't been for the unpleasant smell which sometimes came from the toilet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    423
    121
    37
    19
See reviews for
114
352
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in May 2013 and was given a 4th floor room at the front of the building with a balcony overlooking the small square with a couple of cafes situated around a small fountain. The room was huge (a junior suite apparently), with twin beds, a 'lounge' area (open plan), a walk in closet and a big bathroom. Only downside was it was a connecting room which I would normally avoid, but the occupants were thankfully fairly quiet.
The hotel has a very nice, modern bar on the ground floor. It was a bit early in the season for it to be busy but it looked like it would have lots of atmosphere in peak season and they have DJ nights on occasion.
I didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on that. However there are loads of restaurants, cafes, bars and bakeries within minutes of the hotel.
The location is perfect for staying in the old town, being only 2-3 minutes' wak from the cathedral and main squares.
I took the metro from the airport - very cheap and only takes about 20 minutes to Colon station. From there the hotel is 5 minutes' walk through one of the main shopping streets. Easy!

Room Tip: Room 412 is a 'junior suite', with twin beds, a 'lounge' area (open plan), a walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Astoria Palace is perfectly placed in the centre of Valencia, but in a quiet little square not far from the Town Hall. Very nice rooms, but the bathroom area is separated into individual parts by partitions that make each part quite small. Not so good if you are on the larger side?
Overall a very good quality and value hotel in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Choose one of the upper floor, (slightly more expensive), rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel looks much better on the pictures, than it really is. Old, tired, even the rooms, that were sold as a "recently renovated". And a very annoying smell of the humidity, that hotel staff tried to hide with the terrible airfresheners. The only thing that is really great - is location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
We appreciate your feedback given and we are very dissapointed that our Hotel didn´t match your expectations.
The refurbishment completed a few months ago was the removing of carpets and painting in all rooms and corridors as well as some details in the bathrooms, but it wasn´t a full Hotel refurbishment as such. We do have some superior rooms called Upper rooms in our Hotel, which are completely refurbished, and maybe those are the rooms you saw in the pictures.
We thank you again for the time taken in making your comments and we will make sure that we improve in those aspects you mentioned as we keep on making updates in our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the AYRE Hotel, the staff at reception is very professional and makes you feel welcome.
Our superior room had been recently refurbished and was large. It was clean and well equipped, but the design and finishing were average. The Hotel is very well located in the heart of Valencia.
On the downside, our room located on the 2nd floor was noisy, you could hear people staying in the room next door and noise from the street (van loading goods from the hotel).
Also we found the breakfast not a pleasant experience. While the breakfast room offers nice views over the city, the service is poor and the quality of the food of very low standard. You feel like eating in a cheap cafeteria.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel! From the minute we arrived we noted how excellent the service was (Juan in particular). The Upper room was worth every penny, stylish, clean and very comfortable. The cleaners do an amazing job!
We liked the bar area which was again very stylish and excellent service. We couldnt believe how cheap (compared to many hotels) room service was too.
We had breakfast on the top floor and was varied and fresh. The view was fantastic from there so a lovely way to start the day.

We can recommend venturing out down the little side streets and finding the tapas bars, the menul del dia (menu of the day) was such great value and never any danger of being underfed! In fact couldnt believe how much you get!

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel for its excellent service, value for money and great location

Room Tip: go for an upper room , it really is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to complain about. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the staff is smiling and are helpful. The location couldn't be better, and it's cheap. The guest areas are of a higher standard than the rooms, but if you aren't planning on spending your time in the hotelroom, this is great value:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Address: Plaza de Rodrigo Botet 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Astoria Palace Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#17 Family Hotel in Valencia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace is located in the heart of the city, which is well known for being the financial, shopping, cultural, and historical center of Valencia. Located only 100 meters from the Town Hall and close to the Cathedral of Valencia, the Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace boasts of 204 completely renovated rooms. The hotel also provides meeting rooms, a gymnasium, a large terrace/garden, and a wonderful restaurant specializing in Valencian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Valencia
Astoria Palace Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.