We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“masterpieces made by hand at the lladro factory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lladro Factory

Lladro Factory
Calle de Alboraya, 0, 46016 Valencia, Spain
96 185 0177
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lladro Factory like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Valencia Tourist Card
Ranked #27 of 214 things to do in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“masterpieces made by hand at the lladro factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

my husband and i have enjoyed the many pieces of lladro that we have collected over the years, so of course while in valencia it was a must see opportunity to visit the factory. one must make a pre-appointment for a tour and that usually takes just a few days for a response.
you are shown a 6 minute film which describes the beginning of lladro and the family that still maintains the running of the company. (this film can be shown in MANY different languages to make this experience wonderful for all tourists.)
it was a special experience to be up close with the artisans and see first-hand how these beautiful pieces are created.
the showroom is very interesting, and of course the opportunity to purchase at the end of your visit makes the visit perfect.
a must see if you are interested in these lovely pieces.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    8
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We fell in love with that! So interesting, pieces of art, really worth a visit to the factory and also to the shop. The collection of the "family" is oyr preferred.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour of the Lladro factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Took my wife here as a surprise at the end of our three day visit to Valencia as I knew she would be very interested as she has a Lladro figure which she ihterited from her mother and therefore has considerable age. Excellent tour and the figures in the showroom as quite breathtaking, especially the 'Queen of the Nile' (140,000 euros to you, less tax if you take it out the country). Most enjoyable couple of hours and no pressure to buy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A must if you love Lladro !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was so happy to tour the factory and got to meet and see the people working on pieces that I was interested in buying. You get to save over the US prices if you ship it. Not to mention that you can get pieces here that would not be able to get it in the US.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational tour of the porcelain making process”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Free guided tours available by appointment only. I emailed for reservations about 1.5 weeks in advance, replies took 24-48hours and was allocated just the one time on the day I had requested. The tour was done in English by a knowledgeable tour guide. It started off with a six minutes long video about the Lladro brothers and how porcelain figurines are made. We were then walked through the process, starting from how the porcelain is moulded, how the different pieces are attached, the colouring, and most impressive of all, the making of each individual flower. So much effort is taken for each painstaking detail and it was an eye opening experience to see how they were created.

Their showroom at the end boasted many beautiful pieces which had an equally impressive price tag to match. For those of you who are not porcelain connoisseurs but do want to own a piece, it is worth noting that there is an outlet attached to the museum selling lots of pieces at much more affordable prices. They do not mention the outlet during the tour. In fact, we foolishly purchased a piece from the showroom at €85 only to find the exact same piece being sold for €43. I understand that the pieces sold in the outlet have imperfections but I can assure you that it did not look visible to the naked eye! Certainly felt ripped off and wished we had known beforehand. The showroom does not offer refunds for its pieces, merely exchanges.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lladro Factory also viewed

 
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Lladro Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lladro Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.