We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you love Lladro !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lladro Factory

Lladro Factory
Calle de Alboraya, 0, 46016 Valencia, Spain
96 185 0177
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lladro Factory like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Valencia Tourist Card
Ranked #24 of 214 things to do in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A must if you love Lladro !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was so happy to tour the factory and got to meet and see the people working on pieces that I was interested in buying. You get to save over the US prices if you ship it. Not to mention that you can get pieces here that would not be able to get it in the US.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    8
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational tour of the porcelain making process”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Free guided tours available by appointment only. I emailed for reservations about 1.5 weeks in advance, replies took 24-48hours and was allocated just the one time on the day I had requested. The tour was done in English by a knowledgeable tour guide. It started off with a six minutes long video about the Lladro brothers and how porcelain figurines are made. We were then walked through the process, starting from how the porcelain is moulded, how the different pieces are attached, the colouring, and most impressive of all, the making of each individual flower. So much effort is taken for each painstaking detail and it was an eye opening experience to see how they were created.

Their showroom at the end boasted many beautiful pieces which had an equally impressive price tag to match. For those of you who are not porcelain connoisseurs but do want to own a piece, it is worth noting that there is an outlet attached to the museum selling lots of pieces at much more affordable prices. They do not mention the outlet during the tour. In fact, we foolishly purchased a piece from the showroom at €85 only to find the exact same piece being sold for €43. I understand that the pieces sold in the outlet have imperfections but I can assure you that it did not look visible to the naked eye! Certainly felt ripped off and wished we had known beforehand. The showroom does not offer refunds for its pieces, merely exchanges.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very educational and interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

You must take the tour to have a greater appreciation for the making of this fine porcelain. Afterwards visit the store where you can buy a figurine or two at a "discounted" price. Just a precaution, just because they tell you the items are discounted, they are not cheap!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Lladro Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You have to book a free visit. It is a real eye-opener seeing how these beautiful ceramic pieces are made. We loved the tour - there were 9 of us and it was in English. There is also a seconds shop attached to the factory which you enter through the gate nearest the town.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A must see for porcelain lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The lladro factory is a great place to visit and learn how porcelains are made. The tours are by appointment only so you must call to schedule a date and time. The tour starts with a short video of the history of the company. After the video you are taken trough the different steps a porcelain undergoes before it is a finished product. You are able to see the amazing artistry that goes into each creation. The tour ends at the show room where you can browse as long as you want without any pressure to buy, a fact which we really appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lladro Factory also viewed

 
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Lladro Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lladro Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.