We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal, friendly restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen

Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen
C/ Alta (d'Alt), 42, 46003 Valencia, Spain
963917754
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,343 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurante del Carmen in the historic quarter of Valencia is known for its seasonal cooking with high quality ingredients, careful presentation, friendly and informal service and its excellent value for money. All of the dishes are made in-house, including the desserts. The seasonal menu always has a selection of rice, fish and meat dishes and a wide variety of vegetarian options. The ambience is intimate but lively, with two dining rooms. There is a carefully designed wine list and a wide variety of infusions and the restaurant also offers food and wine matching dinners and special menus for groups.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal, friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great food, good service - attentive but not over fussy. Clever, flavoursome dishes - we tried a sardine starter, and pork and salad main courses, all excellent - and good value. Best meal in Valencia in our week here. Atmospheric little restaurant, simple decor. I am headed back today for lunch - to try the cod or monkfish, which looked amazing on a nearby table.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    111
    36
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Off the page!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

What an experience! ...and that was only the Gin and Tonics!! The atmosphere was lively, warm and friendly. Our host was a one-off with a booming infectious laugh. He was engaging and informative (the history of the El Refugio area is worth asking about) and the food served was a visual and gastronomic treat. We are not big eaters and were not too sure what to expect portion-wise, so we played safe a went for a mains and sweet. That was a mistake as the portions are sensible and .we thereby 'missed' the starters, which had looked great. Our mains of Duck Breast and Bacalao were works of art as well as culinary treat and our postres beggared belief (although a combination of ice cream, cheese, red peppercorn and a garam masala biscuit may not be to everyone's taste!!) Our only regret was that time constraints meant we couldn't go back for a meal the next night. Great time..great place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“incredible combination of flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

found this small restaurant while walking through the Carmen borough. I don't know why I stepped in, I was not hungry.. I think it was my good luck.
I entered and suddenly I felt stunned by the place.. wich is a combination of asian and spanish cultures. then I sat and decided what to eat.
the menu is not large.. I think it was a perfect solution to not stress the clients.. because the dishes are very different than the other restaurants.
then.. the food arrived. It was REALLY amazing. Probably some of the best things I have never tried. everything was different to what I expected: much more delicious!!
I just have to come back to this place when in Spain!!!
it is a MUST!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the heart of Valencia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This little restaurant in the old town of Valencia is a real gem! The staff is very nice. The menu is small and the dishes are delicious! Try the seafood salad which is served in cocos milk, delicious! And the best of all is the tuna steak with wasabi souce. The house wine was good as well. You are also allowed to bring your own wine, if you like. And another positive thing is that this restaurant is opened on Sundays! I recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very God Choice in Carmen district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A very good restaurant with a limited, but creative menu. A welcomed break in the city of a thousand paellas (that all taste about the same). The service was charming but a bit slow, we waited about 15 minutes to get the menu when we first sat. The food is tasty, well presented but with a few rough edges, for example: the duck breast was a bit too under cooked and the skin not very crispy and thus, with too much fat; the monkfish still had few of the outer skin membranes making it a bit chewy; the mesclun salad with season fruits only had a few thin slices of strawberry. The wine list was reasonably priced. Will go again and try the lunch menu..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen also viewed

 
Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio, Restaurante del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.