We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia to your Saves list
MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Mestre Racional, St 23, 46005 Valencia, Spain (Formerly B&B Mare de Deu - Jardines del Turia) (Mestalla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, costa rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good for budget traveling. Definitely light years above a hostel but our experience was craptastic. Literally.

Our toilet was broken and was super nosy and it stank like hell! Also the bathroom door didn't shut so no way to stop all the stank nasty from coming in the room.

On top of all that fun, they misbooked us and booted us out of the hotel a night early!

Stayed here during Las Fallas. It was almost impossible to find another hotel!

GHETTO!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Owner at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear customer,
For B&B Mare de Deu is very important all the opinions of our guests. At the reception desk, we are willing to help in any issues that may happen during your stay. Remember that you can request room changes as we have other room categories to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and remember that we are always willing to help. Simply, notify to reception. Moreover we are not aware of having made a practice of this nature shortening their stay in a day to any customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
65
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was very spacious, with good sanitation. The air conditioning was fine and the bed was comfortable. The B&B was quiet but this room was on the side of a crowded road and it was not possible to sleep with the window open. Location was not in the centre but very nice between the centre of the city and the City of Arts and Sciences. Overall a good home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Gerente at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente, gracias opiniones como la suya podemos mejorar el confort y el equipamiento de las habitaciones. Hemos tomado medidas para la climatización e insonorización de las habitaciones que disponen de vistas a la calle. Esperamos verle pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 for 5 nights in room 109, which has a private bathroom and patio. It's a really nice place and a great concept. The one downside to that particular room is that it's always quite dark, being near the bottom of the building on the internal courtyard. It could do with some more artificial lighting to compensate. The quality is at least that of a modern three star hotel, but because it is a hostel it only has a skeleton staff and then only at certain times of day. Nevertheless, despite the absence of people in general, it is just as welcoming as somewhere like the Barcelo in Valencia, which I found quite impersonal. So, apart from room cleaning (which was of a high standard) don't expect any normal hotel services - think of it like a posh hostel. Breakfast is available round the corner at a local cafe, with whom the hostel has a reduced price arrangement for its guests. I would like to have tried it but I was in a rush most mornings. The location, right on the Turia gardens across from the Palau de la Musica and near Gulliver's playground ;) was fine for me because I was attending a conference at the University, for which the local bus service was fine. It's a fairly long walk into the historic centre but a pleasant one, though you'd probably want to take a bus or rent a bike (something else which I would've liked to try) from one of the many new on-street rental stations. I think the closest metro station is Alameda, or at least that's the one I used when arriving from the airport. From there it's a good 15 minute walk to the hostel, but you can stroll through the Turia gardens (less appealing if you have luggage and it's midday in the September humidity ;) So, if you want hotel quality but are not too bothered about room service, and you don't mind exploring the local cafes for breakfast (a plus point in my opinion), then this is a great alternative to a hotel. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Propietario at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your comment. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in the B&B for five nights and were really postively surprised. When booking the room beforehand, I saw that the superior bedroom with ensuite bathroom was only 3 euros more expensive per night and we decided on this room. It turned out to be incredibly spacious and well-furnished. (I saw that the smaller rooms are often quite dark because their windows do not really face daylight spots. Our room had two huge windows and was nicely light.)
I had read online that people complained about the fact that breakfast is served in a nearby cafe and that it only includes a coffee and pastry. However, we actually got a coffee, fresh orange juice as well as either the typical Spanish "tostada con tomate" or croissant which was sufficient for us. If you wanted more you could just order it and pay for it individually (which is not expensive at all and it appears to be a very nice pastry store). The cafe is only two blocks away and really nice because you can sit outside and enjoy your breakfast there.
The B&B is located just outside of the old town which turned out to be quite beneficial because restaurants in the area are local and not very expensive. We rented the bikes that are distributed all over the city and this way were able to go wherever we wanted quickly.
I would recommend this B&B for everyone who is interested in a clean and simple place to stay.

Room Tip: Check if the superior room is only slightly more expensive and choose for that one (bigger windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Propietario at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We appreciate your constructive opinion. We look forward to valencia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliningrad, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The staff helped us in all the necessary questions. Even during the siesta time. Thank them very much!

Room Tip: For late check-ins get the code for the automatic door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Propietario at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Customer: I want to thank you for your comments, which always involve an incentive for us to improve our work and achieve customer satisfaction. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Okay let me start with the positives; B&B Mare de Deu is a perfectly located accomodations near the beatiful river Jardin del Turia. When we entered the B&B we were welcomed by a sweet cinamon smell in a pleasent and cool hallway. The service was good and the people behind the desk were friendly and able to help us in English.
Despite the cool temperature in the hallway (airconditioning), the temperature in the room was a different thing. Although at first I had false hope that the white thing in the room was an air-conditioning machine, it turned out to be a heater, which was quite useless considering the heat (30 C). This meant we were totally dependend on a fan on the cealing which provided with some cooling, but little at best. We experienced the second shortcoming during the night: the noise. The busy street next to our room in combination with the big windows turned out to be the perfect recipe for a bad night sleep. Despite our efforts to mitigate the problem with ear-plugs it was useless since noise was coming all sides: the road as well as renovations inside the B&B !! The third problem was the next morning when we wated to enjoy our second B (breakfast); it turned out to be a meager breakfast of one croissant and one coffee/tea ( I am not kidding!) that you had to pick up two blocks away because the B&B does not have its own kitchen. My feeling is that the breakfast is more for the form i.e. in order to be able to call it a B&B than really providing you with food that fills your stomach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaredeDeuJardines, Propietario at MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Customer:
We welcome your comments. We have rooms with air conditioning, superior double rooms, but surely you stayed in a room with a different category. We regret that you didn´t discuss the problem with our reception staff, we could have managed to change to a room in which you would have felt more comfortable.
With regard to the noise from the street, I inform you that our windows are soundproof, yet, the location is very central and there are noises of the city at night that can be annoying.
We believe that the breakfast service is in accordance with the price you have paid. Furthermore, when you made the booking you were informed about the following:
1 - "The price of your accomodation includes breakfast in a modern and exclusive Coffee - Bakery, located 200 meters from the B & B Jardines del Turia"
2 - Menu for breakfast:
- Black Coffee, Short Coffee, Coffee with milk, Tea, Milk Tea, Infusion, Glass of Milk, Milk with cocoa
- Croissant, Pastry 1 large piece or 2 small pieces, toast, breads, and marmelade/ butter
- Orange juice, 1 fruit, water
You can mark one option from each group
10% discount on products and daily menu
We believe that your critique regarding the fact that we don`t have a kitchen inside the hotel is not founded. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia

Address: Mestre Racional, St 23, 46005 Valencia, Spain (Formerly B&B Mare de Deu - Jardines del Turia)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Mestalla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia offers attractive accommodation 100 metres from Valencia's Palau de la Musica Concert Hall. This hotel features air-conditioned rooms with private and shared bathrooms. All accommodation at the MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia is brightly decorated and has wooden flooring. Each room has free WiFi, a TV, a fan, air conditioning and central heating, as well as a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel serves breakfast at a cafe located 200 metres away. There is a good selection of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. Valencia's old town and cathedral are less than 2 km away. MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia is a 15-minute walk from the famous City of Arts and Sciences. Colon Metro Station is approximately 600 metres away and is just 1 stop from Valencia Railway Station. Valencia CF's Mestalla Stadium is 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MD Modern Hotel - Jardines del Turia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.