We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Clean, Good-Value Hotel. Excellent Location - Right next to Louis Vuitton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SH Ingles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SH Ingles to your Saves list
SH Ingles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Marques de Dos Aguas 6, 46002 Valencia, Spain (La Xerea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Clean, Good-Value Hotel. Excellent Location - Right next to Louis Vuitton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights on a girly break this summer. We were pleasantly surprised when we turned up. This hotel is located very near the cathedral and also in the premier shopping district with shops like Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss and Roberto Cavalli literally just outside the front door. Very clean, excellent room amenities, extremely good value for money. Would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    213
    69
    10
    7
See reviews for
49
208
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Minutes away by foot from the best destinations in central Valencia. Very cosy, nice big rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in room 119 which directly overlooked the Ceramics Museum and hotel cafe. The room was a good size with comfortable bed but sometimes noisy at breakfast time (nothing that a pair of good ear plugs can't solve though). Note that the water in the mini bar is free.
The hotel is centrally located i.e. 5 minutes walk from the cathedral, 10 minutes walk to the Colon metro station which is a 20-30 minute ride from the airport. Staff at reception were very helpful with directions and booking restaurants. We didn't try the breakfast due to the expense but tried the croissants from the Pan Pan shop just around the corner instead which can be thoroughly recommended. As others have mentioned wifi is expensive at 3Euros for 15 minutes.
We ate at Pappadelles (Italian) and Dukala (Moroccan) and whilst we enjoyed both the latter was better. Note that a lot of restaurants don't open for dinner until 9pm.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is a very nice hotel in a great central location and was also good value for money, we booked directly with SH Hotels via their web site and paid 60 Euro per night for the room. If you are looking for nice comfortable hotel in a central location then I would highly recommend the SH Ingles.

If you have any questions, feel free to email me.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Easily the best thing about the SH Ingles is the location. It is five minutes from Colon metro station which itself is only twenty five minutes from the airport on the same line. It is a few minutes walk from the historic heart of the city and is in an area of good shops and restaurants.
The building, although supposedly a former palace, has little character once you get past the facade, but it is comfortable and clean, which is all you need after a day spent wandering round the city (particularly if you made the walk out to the science park and back, which we did, twice in two days).
The rooms are fine and the breakfasts more than adequate to set you up for the day. The reception staff seemed to be friendly but the breakfast waiter could do with learning to smile!
Small criticisms include the fact that soundproofing between the rooms is poor (thank you mister businessman for keeping us entertained with your female friend, so remember to bring ear plugs) and when full i.e. Saturday night, the hotel seems to run out of hot water.
Despite this, I would certainly recommend the SH Ingles as a very good base from which to explore the underrated city of Valencia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petergolf
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

As stated before this used to be the Melia Ingles and other reviews are under this hotel.
After our experience I can only see it rising up the list.
This is a very well located hotel on an upmarket shopping street although very quiet at night.
The room design, facilities and cleanliness are admirable. The domestic staff service the rooms every day, and the staff on the reception desk we found helpful, courteous and spoke English.
We cannot comment on the breakfast and meals as like a lot we felt the cost was expensive given the competition locally. In fact the No 1 Tripadvisor restuarant, the Ginger Loft Cafe, is 1 minute walk from the hotel.
Yes there can be a smell around the hotel ( as there can be around this wonderful city) but if it had not been mentioned in other reviews I would not have mentioned it here. It did not effect our option of the hotel.
The best tip given previously is to ask for a room overlooking the Ceramics Museam, best view you can get.
My view of the hotel is based on the room we got and the price from e-bookers, which was a good deal at the time.
Good hotel, great value

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This was formerly called the Melia Confort Ingles and most visitor reviews are under that name. We stayed three nights in November 2009 and thought it a real find. For a comfortable hotel so close to the centre of town and the tourist sights it offers amazing value. The rooms are not large but adequate, and the beds are big and firm. Our particular bathroom (room 217) was enormous. The location is on a street corner but the traffic is light and noise didn’t seem to be a problem. It’s right opposite the ceramics museum (Palacio de Dos Aguas) and our room had a fantastic view of the fabulous marble-clad entrance. No idea what someone’s comment refers to when they complain of the smell of sewers in reception: the place was fragrant (even if some of Valencia’s streets are not) and the staff helpful. Pity that wifi is not free: it’s charged in timed units that must be used up all at once (I logged off and when I returned my time had expired). There’s also internet access via a PC in the lobby, though this is also not free. The hotel’s café/restaurant serves refreshments until late. Breakfast, though, costs 12 euros, which seems a bit expensive, especially as there are lots of cafes in town offering a cheaper alternative. We loved the Café Bertal on the nearby Plaza de la Reina, which has a wonderful selection of juices, fruit salads and pastries for breakfast. On the subject of eateries on the Plaza de la Reina, one to avoid is La Fonda, where you might be tempted in, as you study the all-in-Spanish menu, by a hostess fluent in English. The food is meat-heavy, very basic and expensive, while a glass of house red cost 8.50 euros.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SH Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SH Ingles

Address: Calle del Marques de Dos Aguas 6, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Valencia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SH Ingles 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your SH Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Ingles Hotel Valencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SH Ingles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.