We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Home Backpackers to your Saves list
Home Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Plaza Vicente Iborra s/n | Plaza Vicente Iborra S/N, 46003 Valencia, Spain (El Carme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solid Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at Home for a few nights in April. It was a nice hostel, clean and well organised, good security and location. We arrived off the bus at 8am and couldn't check in until 2pm. We were told we'd have to go and walk around for 6 hours until it was ready. Would have been lovly if we could have sat for a while in the common area, but maybe that wasn't allowed. Also, on all the advertising brochures we saw, linen is not free as advertised, and lockers require a 2 euro coin to open, which is fine, but make sure you have change. Kitchen was big and well stocked, lots of fridges and cupboard space for your own food. Maybe an idea would be to have some tea and coffee for people to use as breakfast isn't included. Rooms were big and we had some great room mates. The ceiling lights are really bright and directed on to the beds, which is great when your trying to find something, but terrible when your room mates come back at all hours of the night and switch them on!! All in all, a good, safe, clean hostel. I would recommend this hostel for younger people wanting to party and socialize.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Home for 5 days with a group of around 20 (12.4.12-17.4.12). The staff were always friendly, keen to help and, as far as I know, all speak English. The kitchen/common room is well stocked with enough utensils for the whole hostel to be able to cook their food, though they also serve paella at nights if you don't want to cook. It is a large, fun environment and everyone in the hostel seemed to get on with each other. There is a terrace on the roof for when the weather is good enough.

The rooms were as clean as could be expected with a secure locker for storage and a key-card lock on the bedroom door.

There is a local company that operates a bar crawl and a variety of tours from this hostel that joins others and this allows backpackers to meet other people easily. Overall a very good hostel of which I have no complaints - I would fully recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Hostal is quite new, and clean. The Staff is so nice that make you feel at home. -That explains the name.- Internet OK and activities are very fun. (Paella lessons, and free walking tour included).

The room was very nice with a balcony.The only bad point was the shared bathrooms, but clean and comfortable.

Great experience in Valencia! We wan't to come back soon, we loved the city.

J.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Home was reasonable priced at 9 Euros. The beds were clean, the toilets and showers were clean, floors were clean, internet access free, it was warm and the service was cheerful and very helpful at all hours. I heartilly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed at the "Home backpackers" for three nights, sleeping in the 16 beds room with three friends of mine.
It was everything well clean and the big kitchen was very beautiful.

They don't serve breakfast but it's not a problem at all since there is a supermarket right turned the corner.

very very good

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alverna, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hostel was perfect to stay. Nice location, clean rooms, clean bathrooms. The best thing is the big kitchen and living room. I had some great nights there chilling with other backpackers. I would definately recommend this hostel is you are planning on visiting Valencia!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed therr for four nights and liked it. The only bad thing about the hostel was that the wifi wasn't working, as they had promised. I really needed the wifi for a school work - but fortunally they had computers you can use.

I met some cool friends and some not so cool persons; People screaming and talking loud in my room at 2 am and a guy constantly flirting with me, but that is not the hostels problem, that's just the guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Address: Plaza Vicente Iborra s/n | Plaza Vicente Iborra S/N, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > El Carme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for low-cost accommodation in Valencia, Feetup Home Backpackers Hostel is the place for you. We're one of the best places to stay in the El Carmen district, only 10 minutes from the bus and train stations. Feetup Home Backpackers Hostel is located in the El Carmen district, right in the centre of Valencia. The hostel is in a building that was formerly a religious school and which was changed into a Youth Hostel. It is a safe, calm, young and international place to stay, with lots of colour, harmony, natural light and a friendly and fun atmosphere for travellers and backpackers. In short, a youth hostel in the centre of Valencia and above all, very low-cost and one in which you'll feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.