We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited with friends - great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Guitarra

El Guitarra
Dr Esquerdo jose maria 10, 03570 Villajoyosa, Spain
0034966851410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 53 restaurants in Villajoyosa
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Visited with friends - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The restaurant has it all. Great view , great food and great service. Luc is very friendly and makes every effort to welcome you. We had the tuna salad which was very fresh and tasty and the soup to start . All the food was of good quality. When we return to Spain we will visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    35
    34
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paella - Tasty but by far the best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are regular visitors to Villajoyosa and its surrounding areas and took recommendation from the reviews to hunt down an authentic tasting, high quality Paella. I must say my OH and I were quite disappointed, it was far from 'amazing' and it was not 'the best paella around'. The food was moderately priced at 11.95 euro's per person for the chicken and spicy sausage paella and I would say that we expected something rather spectacular for this price. The dish was average sized (more of a snack size than a main meal for two), tasty but did not ooze flavour, depth or value for money that's for sure. We will most definitely be furthering our search the next time we are in the local area in the hunt for Villa's best cooked paella. We have personally tasted better Paella at the El Cisne Rastro just outside of Benidorm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have dined here many times over the last few months, but we celebrated my mothers 70th birthday at El Guitarra the last Friday in August.
The food was excellent and every attention was made to ensure the whole family has a pleasant and memorable meal.
To finish the meal the staff came with a wonderful birthday cake and sang to my mother.
We can definately recommend the restaurant to anyone and value for money the choice of dishes is wonderful.
Well done to all the staff and "thank you" for making my mother happy !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great dining in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been to El Guitarra several times over the past 3 years, and, having dined at several restaurants in the area, this is definitely one of our favourite venues. There is no set price 'daily menu', but what they offer is a good a la carte menu at a reasonable price. We had the salmon, and it was beautifully presented with a selection of fresh vegetables. The service is excellent too. One of the the things we love best about this restaurant is its location - right on the sea front. The perfect spot for casual dining!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Superb Food, Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Whatever negative comments have been made about this little restaurant on the sea front, "IGNORE".

We have visited this Lovely little restaurant on the sea front several times over the last 2 or 3 years, It has recently changed hands and is owned by a Belgian Guy called Lucas with his wife, he is very hospitable and friendly along with many of the staff. We ordered our meal and have to say the quality and quantity of food was excellent with no complaint at all about service. We asked to speak to the 'chef' who is called Jooles to thank him for an excellent meal. The menu has a good variety to cater for all tastes. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone with confidence and we will certainly be visiting again when we are next in Beni.

The Bowman Family and Friends

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guitarra also viewed

Villajoyosa, Costa Blanca
Villajoyosa, Costa Blanca
 
Villajoyosa, Costa Blanca
Villajoyosa, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Guitarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Guitarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.