We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Sol y Mar to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July during my wedding. I loved this hotel. We had a balcony room and it was well worth the extra money for the views. All in all, it was a great location, luxury rooms, food fabulous... what more can I say?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    221
    46
    24
    19
See reviews for
371
555
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

just got back from our wedding at the sol y mar , great venue had wedding blessing on the top of the La Champ , then wedding breakfast within the abiss restaurant . Bridal suite was fantastic very spacious and large and the Jacuzzi bath big enough for a least two. Both Sergio and Yolanda were fantastic to help with our special day as were the rest of the staff . Location is stunning as well, close to all amenities and 10 yards from beach. Most of our family and friends stopped at the hotel in inside , sea views or apartments and all agreed on the quality and service of the hotel.

Room Tip: if you need to get from Alicante airport try beni connect service as drops off and picks up at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights booked two rooms one with Balcony one without if you can afford
the extra the balcony is worth it so long as it overlooks the sea , that said both rooms were
great .
This Hotel is probably one of the Best we have stayed in Facility excellent the breakfast is a
must have your Eggs any which way you like all cooked in front of you, i didn't get her name
but she was great cooking 3/4 dishes at a time omelet / scrambled/fried etc well worth including
this breakfast as there was so much Choice .
Beach Bar great all though very full ,we found rarther than beat the rush go down around
2 o'clock when all the early birds have had enough. note there was a lot of Towels reserved on beds this did seem a problem although the guards were noteing this and going round and clearing them up.
Other Beach Bar Actually on the beach about Fifty Yards along a Must .
Lastly make the effort in the evening to some of the restaurants around one of which was
The Italiano at the top of the Hill turn left walk along about 50 yards Mauve colour front this was the best meal we had See Marcos the berry fruit pastry with Whiskey custard was great

Room Tip: Rooms facing on to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A mixed bag....this is a superb 5 not 4 star hotel. Unable to fault the service and facilities. Lovely touches in the room fruit water coke slippers!!!! Our room was on the curve of the hotel and was an amazing size room 246 it took 30 seconds to walk the balcony... Wow!!!! The staff were amazing and could not fault them. UK TV channels a bonus especially with a royal baby arrived.

The venue was rather mixed you could find yourself on the street side with constant noise pay the extra!!!!! A very very busy hotel don't expect a nice relaxed romantic break here its way too busy. Locals on the beach from 7am until 9 pm!!!!!

As title suggests the lifts become a challenge..can you go from 9 to minus 2 without a change of lift...will drive u mad.
Finally a v v windy, noisy and busy resort however well done hotel quality service.

Room Tip: 246 a must make sure you got sea view or it really poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a 6 night break at Sol y Mar in peak season. We opted for the deluxe sea view room which didn't disappoint, although I was glad we asked for a high floor, as lower rooms have the sea view partly blocked by another building.

The room was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped with a good sized balcony. No tea and coffee in the room, but then that's rare abroad. The shower gave Niagara a good run for it's money! Aircon was also efficient if a little confusing to start with, and very quiet.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly, helpful and very professional.

We had bed and breakfast and the buffet-style breakfast was the standard fare, but very well done: really fresh fruit, REAL freshly squeezed orange juice, espresso machines, omelettes cooked to order and taste and a huge range of pastries, cheeses and meats. After this breakfast, lunch was not needed! One small gripe - the standard coffee was in jugs ready to be brought to tables, but sometimes stood around too long and was cool. Advice is use the machines.

The beach club and infinity pool were a haven of peace and quiet, with easy access to the beach if an alternative is needed. Only one day was there a shortage of sunbeds and perhaps the lounging areas could be bigger and a little less crowded, but the setting pretty well makes up for that.

The location is perfect - right above the beach and you walk straight out onto the seafront promenade. Plenty of cafes/restaurants there but I would recommend the walk up the hill to the old town for far better options (see my other reviews). Car parking is in secure park underneath the hotel but is expensive - 14 Euros a day. There is also a supermarket under the hotel.

Overall, although the hotel is not cheap, it is good value for the excellent facilities and service. We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sol y Mar is just about the best hotel we've stayed at in Spain. This was our first time here having always been put off by anywhere bordering Benidorm. But Calpe for us was a real find.
The hotel is well appointed with a huge lobby area, our 3rd floor sea view room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed, brilliant shower and wonderful view from the balcony. And should you want to chill out in your room before going out for the evening they have that rare treat - English telly stations! All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. My birthday happened to fall on our third day there and we came back from the pool in the evening to find a complimentary bottle of cava in the fridge.
We booked B&B and the breakfast was superb with a huge variety of food on offer. There are two dining rooms and we always ate downstairs on the terrace which is right by the beach.
The only drawback to this hotel is the pool area. Both pool and surrounds are disappointingly small with the sunbeds crammed close together. As the hotel is popular with Spanish families (which we liked) it does mean the pool is heaving with bodies virtually all day long and if you did want to actually have a swim you would have to do so in the sea. Not a problem should you choose to do this as the beach shelves very gently and evenly into the sea so even if you're not a strong swimmer you can swim parallel to the shore and stay in your depth.
We had lunch every day at one of the many sea front restaurants along the promenade from the hotel but had dinner in the Old Town which is a maze of narrow streets. Amazing food everywhere and cheaper than in other parts of Spain. Favourite restaurants were Los Dos Canones, El Posit and Casa Mola Mola.
I've given this review a rating of 4 because of the small crowded pool area but it should really be 4.7 and despite that downside we would still come back .

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. Well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved every minute of our stay in both the Hotel and Caple itself! Very Romatic Hotel
The hotel, what can I say... was amazing! The room (deluxe sea view) was wonderful. Drink on arrival, fantastic spa, great gym loevely staff. But what made it was us was the inifinity pool and beach club. Although small we always got a sunbed (including a double one!) Fresh fuit was bought out to us complimentary as we baked! Service for drinks food ect was all done without us even having to move and the pool was just perfect.
The pool area was amazing at night with the pool having different coloured light illuminating it! The champagne bar was amazing although expensive was worth every penny and they have canopied beds you can hire too, very special for a couple. I really can't fault any part of this hotel except I wish it was cheaper so that I could visit more often!
The breakfast is one of the best I have had in any 5* including some bubbly :-)
The beach is adjacent to the hotel so in prime position and also one of the best beaches I have been on - clean tidy lush sand etc....
I think I love it here because it still feels quite residential and you don't have the strips of bars etc they are all dotted about.
I have to say I am generally hard to please but I am struggling to think of anything to critisise apart from the expese however you get what you pay for! :-)
I love Caple and can recommend the following resatuants highly les dos Canons (Old Caple) and Gariboldies. Both excellent. La Copa Bar is also great for cocktails and Karaoke!
I can't wait to return, thank you :-)

Room Tip: Must pay extra for a sea view, worth every penny. Enjoy! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Address: C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sol y Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept thought for leisure, rest and pleasure moments. Services and details of first quality. Elegant decoration and the most exquisite restaurant service in addition you will be able to enjoy the spa fitness area with a large and exclusive treatments Style, distinction, character, and an exclusive location beside the seaside overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the impressionant Penyn de Ifach. We want to give you unforgettable moments. Feel how sweet can be this life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.