We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time wish we could have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Sol y Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Calpe
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing time wish we could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was everything we could hope for, after 3 days with friends we then we traveled up to Calpe .
The hotel is lovely!! And the staff were very friendly /helpful more than usual for this class of hotel!!
Our room was lovely and really big and loved the fridge, instead of mini bar and not paying for the safe!! Gorgeous bathroom!!
Down side, the pool area got very crowded with sun beds too near the pool. but to be fair it was the last weekend in Jun and The Festival of San Juan!!
I would definitely recommend and I hope to go back.
My mobility is limited, I requested and got a room near the lifts.
The walk along the flat Paseo Maritima was lovely!! And there were excellent bars and restaurants close by. We loved Le Bodegon and went twice. very Spanish!!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    172
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
283
427
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in Calpe for the Hogueras de San Juan and decided to try Gran Hotel Sol y Mar and were very happy with our choice. This is by far the best hotel in Calpe. Clean spacious rooms, friendly staff and excellent buffet.
The paella we had on Saturday was the best we had so far on the Costa Blanca. Compliments to the chef.
I recommend this hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Calpe and were extremely lucky to have found and stayed at this fantastic hotel. All your needs are catered for, excellent food and the location could not be better straight out of the hotel onto the beach. The swimming pool area is kept very clean and enough sun beds to accommodate the guests. We had a room on the eighth floor with a wonderful sea view from the large balcony could not have been any better. The rooms are very spacious with exceptional facilities, fridge to keep your drinks in and a settee for extra comfort. The bathroom had a walk in shower, two sinks and also a bath with shower.
They also offer apartment accommodation and the staff were only too helpful to give us a tour of them, thought our family would like to stay here. They were also well equipped and quite spacious some have sea views.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our third stay at this excellent hotel.

Since our last visit improvements have been made. Firstly the excellent supermarket in the basement has been extended. All your shopping provisions are catered for. Secondly the television channels on the flat screen TV in your room has been extended.BBC1 ITV and other satellite English channels are available. We stayed on a half-board basis. Both at breakfast and evening meals there is a wide choice of food. All tastes are catered for. If you are travelling by car I would suggest you park in the underground car park for the first day. This allows you to unpack your luggage hassle free. Before the 24 hours is reached remove your car to free parking areas on the road because there is a 14 euro charge per day. When you are due to leave reverse the process allowing easy packing of motor. Rooms very clean staff attentive. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Superior sea view room-high floor 8th best in June we lost the sun on the balcony by five o'cloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel itself wasn't bad. It all depends what are you looking for. We expected a romantic gateway with some fun, we didnt really got that! The hotel was packed with buggies and screaming kids. We stayed in a superior room with a sea view. Our next door neighbours happened to be a big Spanish family with 3 kids. Due to the doors joining the rooms it felt that we were in a kinder garden. The pool area was designed for a trendy and cool people but yet again it was cramped with buggies and kids. We got a car so had a chance to visit near by towns. Calpe itself it's a run down dead fishing town where the main thing is gran hotel sol y mar. If you are looking for something more sofisticated stay in Moraira. Car park is well over priced. We left our car on a white line which is free and 2 min from the hotel.
The best thing in the hotel was food. Every evening you could try something different. That's quite useful as there are not that many restaurants. But after 6 days of eating buffet you get tired and not interested in what they have to offer.
If you decide to escape from the pool to the sea be aware of the jellyfishes.

Main customers are Spanish, Russians and German.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This truly is an amazing hotel, beautifully located, write on the beach and at the good end of the beach too! We had a side sea view room which unfortunately was only on the 2nd floor and we could not be moved up higher as the hotel was full. At between 2-3am each morning, the rubbish truck clears the bottles on the road and the noise certainly wakes you up!

We did not park in the hotels car park but instead parked in the white lines which is free, approx 5 mins walk from the hotel.

The breakfasts are to die for, even though the eggs are deep fried in oil, just don't eat them as there are plenty of other choices!

The hotel is busy, the pool area is hard to find a spot, but hey, what do you expect in a beautiful seaside town like this, a hotel and beach to yourself!

The rooms are very comfortable, always clean and the staff in general are pretty friendly. Like I said before, the only downside was being on the 2nd floor and woken by the rubbish trucks, that's no fault of,the hotel though.

Enjoy your stay, if we are ever back this way again, we would stay here without a flicker.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed there with our 1,5 year old son. We stayed in a sea view room and view was fantastic! Room is 31sq. m. Baby cot was new and baby slept well in it. There is a supermarket on the street level of the hotel and it works 6 days a week. You can get there by the elevator not leaving the building. It has not just food but all you need for the baby and for the beach. We rented a car for a week and used the hotel parking. For a day it is 14 euros and for a week it was 80 euros - one day they gave for free! Also you can get straight to the beach using the elevator and the room key. The sound proof is very good. we didn't hear any noise at all. Only the waves!

Room Tip: 424 is a sea view room with fantastic view! I am sure that on the other floors same rooms have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Address: C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calpe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sol y Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept thought for leisure, rest and pleasure moments. Services and details of first quality. Elegant decoration and the most exquisite restaurant service in addition you will be able to enjoy the spa fitness area with a large and exclusive treatments Style, distinction, character, and an exclusive location beside the seaside overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the impressionant Penyn de Ifach. We want to give you unforgettable moments. Feel how sweet can be this life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gran Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.