We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel which I can recomand but be sure you get what you pay for!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Juan Carlos I, 48, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Kristiansund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel which I can recomand but be sure you get what you pay for!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good Things first: Nice hotell, nice pool aera, nice rooms, tidy and clean, nice and polite staff and nice spa treatments. Lots of old People, but it is a fancy hotel so of course you dont meet backpackers here!

We reserved two superior rooms trough viastay.com - superior to be sure to get seaview. When we arrived, they found only one room in our names, and that was not superior. After some waiting (the staff were nice and polite), we got our two rooms in the top (12th) floor, with seaview. It seems that the difference between superior and ordinary room is not that big - just some extras they add to an ordinary room souch as: - daily newspapers, a botle of cava and chocolate at arrival, coffee for the nespresso machine and shampoo etc of other type than the ordinary - and free drinks in the minibar (non alcoholic)

There was no cava, coffee or papers to see..

On day 2, I went Down to get this sorted out. The staff was understanding and promised to get this right asap. My parents room got cofee and the "exclusive" kind of shampoos, except from that - nada. The same evening I talked to another person, also she promised to bring the cava, etc. She told me only one of the rooms was marked as superior - I showed her my voucher proving that I had payd for two superior rooms. Nothing happened.

On day 3, I met another person. She promised me the same. During the afternoon we got Our coffee and shampoos, and when we came in that night after dining in the old town, the cava was waiting. The ice had melted, and it was time for bed..

No papers seen, no apologizes...

As far as I can see we god two days With ordinary rooms and two days With superior (a service that I had payd for but that I had do work hard to get...) The difference was about 60 Euros per night, and I choose this as a treat for the end of Our vacation and a gest to my parents.

In sum:

- I had to complain to Three different persons before something happened
- I had a voucher telling that we had payd for 2 superior rooms, still nothing happened
- We did NOT get what we paid for!

At checking out they also charged for drinks in minibar, so I had to tell them to put that put. They also give me free parking for 4 days - but that was all -still no apologies.

The rooms was fine and the hotel fine - but having paid lots of extra for extra treatment that we did not get did something to the Whole impression. I also wrote an email to the hotel Chain, but they haven't even answered!

Room Tip: The further up, the better. Seaview is between other buildings, you also see the pool aera. On the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    176
    65
    21
    17
See reviews for
161
197
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel Sun 15.09.13 - Sun 22.09.13.
This is a hotel worthy of 4 star status, it has superb facilities:
(1) enormous restaurant serving breakfast and evening dinner buffet style. Drinks with evening dinner are extra cost.
(2) Fitness gym with a large range of what appears to be very high quality equipment.
(3) Spa, I cannot comment on this as I did not use it.
(4) Three outdoor swinmming pools and large poolside areas for relaxing in the shade / sunbathing.
(5) Spacious air conditioned bedroom, with a large balcony. The TV had some UK channels.
(6) Postbox in the hotel reception area, but note that there are no postbox collections on Friday, Saturday, Sunday.
(7) Very nice ground floor bar and cafe area.

The hotel reception staff and restaurant staff were always very helpful.
The hotel seems to be located in a very quiet area, although there are a lot of other hotels nearby it was a nice area to stay in for a week.

The only negative comment that I have is that there was no kettle in the bedroom for tea / coffee making. There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel which I used several times whilst I was staying at this hotel (to buy things for lunches).

A coach transfer from Alicante airport to the hotel, arranged by the tour operator, via the toll motorway, was about 1 hour (with no stops on the way) on Sunday.

If staying at this hotel on holiday, I suggest that you visit Altea, Calpe old town and Alicante old town.

Room Tip: You have two choices, either a room facing the sea and overlooking the hotel swimming pools, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite the name, it is a 5 min walk to the beach. However, the hotel is clean and nicely presented and being at the end of the beach strip, quieter than the harbour side of the rock. Staff were pleasant and buffet restaurant was well stocked and varied. The spa was beautiful but lacking on service- we were booted out of a 6pm hour long circuit at 10 to 7 but a very unapologetic staff member. It would not inspire me to book a relaxing treatment there! We had an apartment in the block next to the hotel and found it cleaned every day and in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoroz, Slovenia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for one week.everything was o.k., staff very helpful and kind, room was spotless, wi fi working most of the time fast enough, plenty of food in the restaurant, the beach is only 5 min walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I like Ballroom dancing and found this holiday on the internet.
Paul Eden (Holidays4dancers) arranges the holiday and we booked the flights when the holiday is confirmed.
This all worked extremely well Paul arranged the airport transfers at Alicante Airport so no worries there.

The Hotel is 3 km's from Calpe town about 300 metre's from the beach and is beautifully built modern and spacious with high class decor and superb facilities. The outside pool area is very well kept with a large provision of sunbeds and parasols to serve the main pool the tub and children's pool.

Rooms are a choice of seaward facing (sun on the balcony in the morning) or land facing, the seaward views are through the gaps of other hotels and apartment buildings but this does not detract too much from the views as there is quite a large space between them.
Inland facing views benefit from the sunset views across the mountains which can be very memorable.

The rooms are well appointed with double sinks in the bathroom and very effective shower. Toiletries and hair dryer are provided and the towels are of high quality, a magnifying mirror is a useful addition.

The bedrooms have large wardrobes with drawers and a electronic safe. The beds are comfortable with bedside lights and tables built into the bed heads.
A mini fridge is provided and stocked although the hotel does not mind you removing the contents and filling it with your own items (we bought from the super market across the road).

The restaurant serves food via gondola style serveries that you help your self from there is a wide range of choice at all meal times. Cook while you wait items are available from a servery with all the usual choices for breakfast or dinner. Coffee machines quite good once you have mastered the various options and cold drinks such as fresh pressed orange juice are popular.

Wine prices are reasonable for a hotel although bottled water is quite expensive we thought.

WiFi is free throughout the hotel, we took our own tea making kit as the is no provision in the rooms.

The only criticism we had of this hotel was that the room chairs make an awful screeching noise on the tiled floors that transmits to other room. Not good late at night!
We advised the management that they needed to fit felt pads to the chair legs.

Room Tip: The hotel has about twelve floors we had fourth floor sea facing which was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Diamante Beach Hotel on Saturday night after turning up on spec after having trouble finding somewhere to stay. The receptionist was helpful when I arrived asking if they had a room available in my best but limited Spanish. But I did have to wait about 5 minutes before being acknowledged while she finished what she was doing on the computer.
The room was on the 8th floor with a 'sea view' although that view was in between other hotels. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the TV was small and looked quiet old and the reception was bad so the picture was fuzzy. I think the standard of the room was below that of a Premier Inn in the UK, which was disappointing for a 4 star hotel.
Our main complaint was that we didn't sleep much due to the noise in the corridor outside our room. I realise it was a saturday night but we were shattered so went to bed about 11pm. People were coming and going in the room opposite, shouting and slamming doors. I did pop my head out of the door and ask them to be quiet. Then until 4am there was intermittent shouting and door banging until 4.30am. We didn't phone reception as by the time they arrived it would have been quiet again. So we woke up unrefreshed.
Breakfast ended at 10.30 and we arrived about 10.10 and soon after it was being cleared away. It was OK but not the best quality.
We complained at reception after breakfast but were only offered a room extension from 12noon to 2 pm, but that was no good as we had to leave before 12 anyway.
So all very disappointing and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely week staying at the AR Diamante Beach Spa hotel. Unfortunately there was no spa available at the time i attended the hotel. I went for a ceroc dance week and had a great time. The food in the restaurant was a buffet which is usually disapointing but was lovely. I have never had so much choice of fresh food and freshly cooked if you wanted it. Just as well i was able to dance it off! It was a short walk to the beach too but had a lovely pool as well. The bar staff and reception staff were very slow and not that helpful or friendly but the restaurant staff were much better.
I am booked to go again this year and am really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: We had a road view room and a view of the supermarket opposite. It was acually quiet tho and did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 48, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ar Diamante Beach Spa Hotel And Convention Centre
Diamante Beach Calpe
Hotel Diamante Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.