We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turmalina

Save Saved
You added Turmalina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turmalina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Juan Carlos I, 26, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Calpe
cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good low cost hotel. In need of modernising, but value for money.

Great location and outdoor pool was spacious. Good base for adventuring around Calpe and the Costa Blanca.

Right on the beach and close to restaurants. Not sure why you never get a double bed when booking apartments!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Like many who have written reviews here we ended up not at Turmalina which we had been to many times before hence us choosing it this time, but at Hippocampos - "upgraded" according to the receptionist! Hippocampos was OK, balcony didn't have the views or get the sun like Turmalina but did have a fabulous indoor spa pool. I agree though that Turmalina do need to sort themselves out, especially when families are arriving with small children. We are booked to go again in September, watch this space for next report!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Calpe. We were booked to stay in the Turmalina Apartments but arrived there at 2.00am with three young children to be told by a nightime receptionist with very little English that we were in fact staying at the Larimar apartments down the road. As you can imagine this is not the ideal way to arrive at your accommodation. It also seems unnecessary. I know from reading other reviews that this has happened before so why don't Turmalina sort themselves out and stop messing people about. We had to get a cab to Larimar. In fact the Larimar apartments were far superior to the Turmalina apartments as they were brand new and extremely well-furnished. However they are further from the beach, the reception is back at Turmalina and not on site and there is no pool bar which could make you feel a little cut off and is not what had been offered to us when we made the booking, which we made through Travel Republic. In spite of all this we did have a lovely holiday and this arrival was the only aspect which marred the holiday. I do think it is an appalling way to treat travellers who are left in a helpless position once they arrive at Calpe! So I would recommend the hotel but with reservations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Turmalina is an okay hotel, but I think if you looked around you could do better. The facilities are clean, yet basic, and the whole hotel has a feel to it that makes its hayday seem like a long time ago. On the plus side, the view from our room was very good. The actual resort of calpe is nice if all you need is a beach, but the high rise hotels that dominate the seafront (of which turmalina is one) make it slightly souless.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We booked through easyjet holidays and for just less than £400, flights and a more than adequate apartment were all in. As it was so cheap we wondered what sort of apartment it would be, but having checked the reviews on tripadvisor found that it appeared to be fine. No cockroaches by the way! Everything worked well and no complaints at all. If you like tea as I do, I used the microwave but if you're a big family of tea drinkers, just take your own kettle (a coffee perculator was supplied). Everything was there, TV with BBC and ITV, iron, ironing board, kitchen, oven, hob, hairdryer etc. It was a bit home from home which is just great for families as those pricey extras are taken care of by just doing the normal shop and stocking out the fridge. The place was clean. Was a little dated and in need of a modern uplift I'd say. I wouldn't mind buying one of the apartments and doing it myself as it has everything to offer. A word of warning, if you're driving there the entrance is hard to find initially. Its on the main road straight through Calpe, follow it past the lake and bear just continue on the road past the roundabouts. You'll see Ifach Hotel roundabout, go straight on, the hotel is hidden down a sidestreet but you must park outside on this marina road. when you see Royal India (curry house) lighted sign, then you're there. Just walk down past the curry house and you'll see a left hand entrance, that's the hotel. Reception is at the road side but the entrance is hard to find (for us anyway!). Its got a super position less than 50M from the beach. The kids used to go off ont he beach to play themselves and I could see them from my balcony which was huge! Three swimming pools which we didn't use because it was too cold, but the pools and gardens are really well maintained. The only gripe I had was the building work that was going on to improve the pools and gardens - it wasn't that bad and wasn't lots of banging etc but it made the walk to the car muddy and dirty and the workmen never seemed to clear up the mess properly. my son came back with mud all over his shoes and trampled it into the flat. i was not pleased! do hire a car. its so easy to drive around this area and it would be a shame for you to miss the easy access to Altea, Albir even Benidorm(worth a look at least!), up the other side is the way to Denia, Benissa and other such gorgeous places. Its all lovely. The motorway is close so a trip to Valencia which was also worth it was about an hour. From Alicante airport it took us about half an hour on the motorway. If anyone wants any advice please let me know. My father lived in Albir for twenty five years so I know the place well. Its terrific for the kids - so same and family orientated and just a great place for a quick holiday.h

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

The room was very well kitted out and a credit to its owners, slight probelm with cockroaches which upset the Mrs! lovely views of the rock, beach, salt flats and pool area, prices of food in the resort were a little high for the time of year, but the food in general was of a good standard when eating out, on a high note watching 16hrs of thunder storms and lighting was amazing to witness, down side however was the aftermath, flooding, powercuts, no water from taps,toilet ect, very awkward when you have a 3 year old child and a pile of washing! slightly worrying also watching the local emergency crews pumping flood water contaminated with sewage across a main promanade and down onto the beach into the sea, but I guess they had to pump it somewhere so they could clean up, I have some amazing pictures to show my family and friends, which i may add later, please dont use this to decide your choice of holiday, this I think was a freak storm and does not reflect calpe and alicante in general.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

The previous reviewer's (toomuchtoolittle) description is spot on so I won't repeat it! I would only add that our apartment also had a washing machine so we washed our own sheets and towels which dried in no time on the balcony. Also I would definitely ask for an apartment on the pool side as the views are much nicer. The pools are really lovely - by far the biggest and nicest ones I saw in Calpe. The rooms are really basic and in need of some TLC but if you're looking for a bargain they are perfectly fine.

  • Liked — Lovely view from balcony, good value
  • Disliked — Some furnishings a little tatty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turmalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turmalina

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I, 26, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Turmalina 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Turmalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turmalina Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turmalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;