We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL SH IFACH

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HOTEL SH IFACH to your Saves list
HOTEL SH IFACH
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Autumn Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I, together with four friends, spent a week at the beginning of October at the Hotel SH Ifach, Calpe in the heart of the Costa Blanca. Saga hit the jackpot when they chose this hotel. It's jut a short stroll from a beautiful beach with a nice promenade and 500 meters away from the marina. Great free form pool where at one end it was possible to gently walk into the water rather than negotiate steps at the deeper parts. There was a nice restaurant with a good choice of food at every meal time, a lovely open plan Saga lounge where tea, coffee and soft drinks were always available. A great holiday at a lovely hotel - we plan to go back again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your stay in Calpe.
We are pleased to know that our hotel has fulfilled your expectations.Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,

Quality Department SH Ifach
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    189
    70
    37
    15
See reviews for
187
127
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel. The location is perfect - just a few minutes walk from the beach and a nice stroll down the boardwalk to downtown Calpe. Rooms are not really new but well maintained and the lobby and other common areas of the hotel are very clean and well kept. It was cold so I did not get a chance to use the pool but it looked VERY nice. Breakfast was delicious and the staff in the breakfast room very friendly. The hotel has a few (6?) parking spaces out front where when available you can park for free, otherwise they have an indoor garage where you can park for an extra fee. The one night that I didn't get a space out front I was able to easily park my car on the street just a few meters away. Staff assured me it was safe and it seemed fine.

The most wonderful part of this hotel was the staff, who were always very welcoming and ready to help. Particulary great was the receptionist who worked at night, Laura, who was always friendly and happy to answer my questions. Also the quality manager whose name I didn't catch was amazingly helpful when I needed driving directions to a place in Valencia and helped me understand the local area.

The only criticism I could add was that the system for wifi was a little annoying at having to get a new code from the front desk every day, but I really can't complain about it since the service was very fast and also free! Most hotels of this size in the US charge an additional fee for wifi so I was very happy that the hotel did provide it for free.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very glad to know you had a nice experience in our establishment, receiving a kind treatment by the staff. We have read your comments, and we will consider them to improve the details you mention regarding the WIFI access system.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and it is very encouraging your nice appreciation report of our hotel and the work of our team.

We remain our gratefulness for your trust; we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We called in when staying in the marina at Calpe in the autumn and decided the hotel would be a nice place to stay on our 48th wedding anniversary. When we arrived on 29th January 2014 the reception staff were very pleasant and said as our room was ready we could check in straight away. This was at 12.15 p.m. although the rule was no check in before 4 p.m. The room was fine with an enormous bed. There was a view out to sea and of the Penon Ifach rock from the balcony. As we had only booked bed and breakfast we ate out in the evening at one of Calpe's spledid fish restaurants. When we returned there was dancing in the foyer which suited us well. The nicest bit was that when we got back to our room we found a bottle of Cava and 2 champagne glasses in the room courtesy of the management.Only one slight reservation was that they catered for the " mature" couples at this time of year which may not suit families, but in the summer it would be fine

Room Tip: Excellent views from higher floors with good lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad SH Ifach at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach to celebrate your Anniversary. We are very please to be aware that you enjoyed it, and that you appreciated the little detail we left in the room for your celebration.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Thank you again for your trust.

Yours faithfully,
Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with Calpe and the surrounding area, especially inland villages and mountains, and the hotel is quite well situated near to both of Calpe's beaches, and Penon de Ifach (big rock which dominates the coastline for miles around). It is about ten minutes walk to the harbour area where there are some souvenir shops, cafes and restaurants, and about five minutes to the nearest bus stop where the bus goes to the centre of Calpe and the bus and train station.
The hotel is comfortable, rooms a good size with very large bathroom & sheltered balcony - ours overlooked the pool with sideways views of the sea. As only heating and not air-conditioning was available (perhaps not surprising in December), we were often too hot at night and kept the patio doors open except when the hotel was hit by very strong winds (Christmas night).
Food was overall quite good but it did get very repetitive after two weeks. The meat and fish, including that cooked to order, was generally good but vegetables were quite poor. Fruit juice at breakfast was poor - very nasty sweet orange juice - and it would have been good to have a choice of proper fruit juice as well as wine or water at lunch and dinner.
There were some special meals, including Christmas Day lunch, but the highlight was New Year's Eve Gala Dinner, served in the lounge downstairs and including a large party of Spanish people as well as (mainly) Saga guests. This was superb, well up to the standards of some of the best restaurants - beautifully cooked and presented and served over a period of over four hours so that there was time to recover from one course before being presented with the next.
Entertainment in the lounge each night was OK, some better than others, but the volume was really too loud for what was a smallish space.
Being there over Christmas and New Year it was interesting to see a mix of people using the hotel including two different groups of athletes and some Spanish families as well as Saga of course.
One big disappointment was the indoor pool area. The ladies changing room was very basic with no hair dryers and the door didn't close properly. The pool itself sloped so that it was quite deep from about half way which seemed unnecessary since it wasn't very big. There was an advertised sauna, but this was only a tiny cubicle in the changing room (extra charge).
The staff were generally friendly and helpful, particularly the dining room and bar staff.
Overall, an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: As other people have noted, rooms overlooking the pool on high floors get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad SH Ifach at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach to spend Christmas time in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very glad to know you had an overall nice experience in our establishment. We have read your comments and we will consider them to improve the details you mention.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murcia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After 2 stays in Benidorm at Christmas this choice of Hotel was indeed a refreshing change .
Less busy and quieter , which suited us just fine .
The stroll into Calpe was easy enough for us even though into a very stiff wind . Once into Calpe it was uphill all the way up to the Ermita . Time to sit , reflect and enjoy the views . Burnt off a few calories as we were all inclusive & well worth sloping back for an excellent lunch .
The 1pm start for the drinks on all inclusive was different to Benidorm but not a problem as we could have a beer in the bar after 1pm before some wine with our meal . Incidentally the beer in the dining room had to be paid for but was only locally bottled .
The staff were efficient and courteous at reception , improving to friendly , outgoing and fun in the bar , dining room and the cleaning ladies upstairs . . Having their names on a badge helped the job along and they enjoyed being addressed and appreciated .
Not as much choice of food here but overall very good . As ever food can be microwaved if too cold as we did regularly .
As a self confessed gannet a special mention of the Christmas Eve dinner and the Christmas Day lunch . Truly marvellous fare and quite Spanish . Even had a piano accordion at lunch (Ramon) , played 'Brazil' for me on request .
High spot of the entertainment was the Spanish trio playing a selection of Christmas carols , a little local interpretation on the flute was novel and very nice with excellent backing from two stringed instruments . Amazing sound as they were playing under the atrium . Another night we were not keen on the male singer with his backing tracks , bailed out when his female partner got up . The Spanish guitarist with his female partner were much better , both talented .
All of the 52 Saga people staying may not have been down for these shows but the bar regulars enjoyed them , particularly the singers with their backing music . Played a lot of sing-alongs ; their money of course .
Now , would we recommend this Hotel - Yes . Would we return to it - Yes .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad SH Ifach at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your stay in Calpe.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours faithfully,

Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elche, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff were exceptional. Everyone of them were friendly and welcoming. The room was large and very clean, as was the bathroom and the large single beds (pushed together) were very comfortable. We requested a high floor room overlooking the pool and were not disappointed. Food was of a good standard and there was plenty of choice. Individual heating controls in the bedroom meant we were as warm as we wanted to be. The location is very central and it is an easy walk to the beach area and other bars and restaurants. Reception handed us an information sheet on check-in listing meal times etc and explaining that we needed to take our room cards to the dining room each meal time. Very informative. Bathroom mirror and lighting the best I have ever used for make up/hair. Plenty of electrical sockets too. Extra pillow on the bed was welcome as Spanish pillows tend to be very flat. Bar area very comfortable and well stocked. The barman was very friendly and courteous (despite the rudeness of some of the Saga visitors who were staying there, abusing their all inclusive drinks package. The bar prices are very reasonable for a four star hotel. Entertainment not the best but still enjoyable and it isn't compulsory after all. Very quiet hotel in the winter possibly much noisier surroundings in the height of the summer. Would highly recommend.

Downside - No trouser press or mini bar in room as advertised and parking is expensive at 13 euros per night. Wi-Fi inaccessible in the room only available really in the lobby.

Room Tip: For a great view request a high floor (there are 15). Poolside gets the afternoon sun and the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad SH Ifach at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very pleased to know you had a positive and relaxing experience in our establishment, receiving a kind treatment by the staff. We have read your nice comments regarding the overall establishment, and we will consider as well the improvement details you mention regarding the facilities.

We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence and your recommendation, hoping to welcome you in the next future.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel SH Ifach is a tall imposing building which stands between the Fossa and Arenal beaches. It has fifteen floors with magnificent views.
Inside, the hotel is light and very airy as the ceiling is several floors high and overall it is very open plan. The lobby and lounge areas are well furnished and spacious and incorporate the bar area which again is nicely appointed. There is free internet for hotel guests. The restaurant is on the first floor and again is light and airy. Also on the first floor is the Saga lounge (for guests of Saga Holidays) which is also well furnished with a private terrace.
The bedrooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are supplied with a large flat screen televisions but only English news channels are available. There are wall safes and these are free of charge The bathrooms are large and very well lit. The balconies are very large and secluded and furnished with a table and two recliner chairs which almost become sun beds.
Outside, the pool area is very pleasant with ample sun beds and shades. There is also an attractive indoor pool and a well equipped gym and a sauna. Outside the bar area there is a small terrace furnished with tables and chairs.
The food in the restaurant is average and although there is a good choice of salads there is not a lot to go with them. The main courses are well presented with a good choice but I found that the desserts were mediocre. Breakfasts are good and eggs are fried to order.
Throughout the hotel the staff are of a very high quality and are very polite ad friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them and is a reflection on the very high standards of the management. Consequently this is a very well run hotel. It is kept spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are well maintained. For those wanting the sun in the afternoons, choose a room facing the pool and the higher the floor, the greater the view. The bedrooms are well soundproofed and I could not hear any noise from any other room.
It is an easy stroll to either beach both of which are excellent. The Penon de Ifach ( the rock) is very spectacular and you can climb to the top (weather and strength permitting). The hotel is in a quiet area and the old town is about a twenty minute walk away. A bus stop it close to the hotel which terminates at the station from here you can travel to Denia, Benidorm, Alicante etc.
Overall I found this to be a very clean and well run hotel. Although the food could be improved, I have never the less given this a four star rating for the quality of service.

Room Tip: A high floor and pool facing for afternoon sun. All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very pleased to know you had a nice experience in our establishment, receiving a kind treatment by the staff. We have read your comments and we will consider them to improve the details you mention in your review.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL SH IFACH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL SH IFACH

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calpe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL SH IFACH 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Ifach Hotel is located only 150 metres from the excellent Fossa Beach, blessed with warm and crystal-clear waters, along the Infanta Elena seafront promenade. Only 150 metres from the Port of Calpe from which the famous Rock of Ifach rises up. 1 kilometre from the centre of Calpe, a shopping centre and the main bus station. 75 kilometres from Alicante airport. The SH Ifach Hotel is located on one of the main highways through Calpe and enjoys views over the famous Rock of Ifach. The hotel provides 193 guest rooms: 170 Double rooms 22 Superior double rooms 1 Suite All of their characteristics and equipment explained in detail: The SH Ifach hotel is located only 1 kilometre from the centre of Calpe, where the ancient heart of the town is home to the "Torreo de la Peca" defence tower, the ancient walls and the Church of the Virgin of the Snow, the only remaining example of the Arabic Mudejar style architecture in the whole of the province of Valencia. The location enjoys a privileged climate almost all year round. The large and bright lobby welcomes guests to a modern hotel, designed for the enjoyment of your vacations or the celebration of very special events. The hotel have a new FREE WIFI system available the whole zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your HOTEL SH IFACH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sh Ifach Hotel Calpe
Sol Ifach Calpe
Sol Ifach Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL SH IFACH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.