We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL SH IFACH

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HOTEL SH IFACH to your Saves list
HOTEL SH IFACH
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Torrevieja
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

First trip to this hotel and area .The hotel is nice and good quality throughout ,staff great ,rooms are kept immaculate by the staff.Stayed on all inclusive basis which was nice ,as a few reports below state if you book the standard AI ticket starts at 1300 each day until 2300.Food was nice with plenty of choice .The only downside i would say the only one was that there are no coffe facilities in the rooms i would have thought 4 star would have this service ,although they do offer room service .Outside of the accommodation although great beaches there is very little to do ie bars and shopping ,but in al;l had a very nice stay .The main town on Calpe is a good 20 minutes walk and very very hilly .

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool not the sea in the winter the sun is on that side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion, and we will take into account your suggestion relative to the extra facilities in the room.

We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    163
    66
    36
    13
See reviews for
174
104
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DL13 5RQ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Set in a great location, plenty of choice of walks around the hotel, very close to the beach,and the harbour. The hotel was very spacious and friendly, very clean and excellent food with tonnes of it. Allways plenty of sun loungers around the pool area, and also a heated indoor pool. I had no complaints at all, not even any small niggles. I would definately reccomend and i would also return in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your stay in Calpe.

Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Alcudia de Crespine Valencia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted all inclusive mainly for the children- we being grandparents can't eat or drink enough to justify the cost. The hotel was clean and fresh and rooms were kept well. dining room had plenty of choice but the main problem was 'All inclusive' was NOT all inclusive- there actually was 4 different types of packages- each with different options NONE od them explained by the staff or the booking co. My husband and I phoned hotel directly as we live in Spain
and were given the 'ORO' or gold package basically this meant we could
have which drinks we wanted even in dining room. My daughter & the children couldn't! there was also a saga package- this meant. Bar was not included before 13.00 and the kids could only get water or wine in dining. The bar ran out of baileys,Milk shakes, Port, and there were NO snacks- anyn time the family has been inclusive before when dining closed for main food, it opened for snacks- eventually the kids got a plate of crisps and when I bought them an ice cream I had to pay. Never before have I paid Top Dollar for such poor service- staff were harassed on by their selves and we had to wait ages to be served. If the children wanted a drink they were left to wait until we finally came into bar and asked. There was no life guard, no childrens club as advertised - the whole schedule was a shambles & disorganised.

Room Tip: Higher floors nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your family holidays in Calpe.
We are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations in some aspects; we apologize for any inconveniences during your stay.
Although we have recorded good acceptance of the "All inclusive Gold" services by other users, the opinion of every one of our clients is very
important for us; therefore we will focus on the mentioned details in order to improve them.
We greatly appreciate your opinion as a useful tool for continuous improvement, according to our quality policy.
We hope you keep your trust in our establisment, and we wish to have a new opportunity to receive you in Sh Ifach in the next future.

Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paignton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Two week holiday 22nd Sept with in laws 70s ,sister 60s and 89 yr old mother.Having read previous reviews of unfriendly staff and strange AI rules ,was a little nervous even though had stayed here in 2005 as a saga accompanying person and thought it was an ok hotel. Had an initial problem with the allocation of rooms which was sorted very quickly by t
he lovely man on reception ,who apologised profusely even though it was the agents fault ,not the hotel.Restaurant staff were all very friendly & polite ,from the chefs who made the breakfast eggs and pancakes to the ones on the grill in the evening.I would agree that the food varied from 2star to 4star and there was tinned fruit but there was also fresh pineapple ,melon ,bananas,apples ,oranges & nectarines as well as yoghurt, diet & full fat ,strawberry & vanilla /chocolate ice cream every day .Everything you could want on a salad ,a good variety of cheeses ,tasty fresh cooked pizza and though I am not a fish person ,on family recommendation I tried some from the grill one night and thoroughly enjoyed it.I would say 2 nights out of fourteen there was nothing for a main evening meal that proved appetising. The wine or water rule in the dining room was frustrating as I don't drink wine but lived with it .
The bar staff were extremely friendly & gave a personal service ,couldn't fault them.Outdoor pool area was very nice ,handrails were lethal for anyone needing them though & to have to pay to use indoor facilities at an AI hotel, I have never heard of & I have stayed in plenty.Entertainment was dire and too loud with the exception of Sunday which was great , Monday not bad & the dancers excellent.
Rooms were good quality & kept spotless with toiletries replenished daily.
Ideal proximity to the beach,nice walk to town ,bus service limited as was classed as winter schedule but had days to Javea ,Moraira and Albir. All in all a very nice hotel and would recommend to anyone 50 plus looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very glad to know you had a nice experience in our establishment and you got an overall good impression.
We have read your comments and we will consider these details you mention which did not satisfied you totally, in order to improve our services.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We always read Trip Advisor reviews before selecting our holidays, and the clues to this hotel were all contained within previous reports.
Good spacious rooms - clean - great balconies with good views (choose high floors with odd numbers)- towels changed daily, sheets every other day - maid worked hard to high standard.

Staff on the whole very friendly and efficient, we would pick out Ruben and the waiter of Far-Eastern origin in the restaurant for special mention, and the little chap in the white shirt behind the bar. We noted that the reception staff have attracted many negative comments, but they were polite and efficient.

The entertainment was varied and agreeable - the hotel is catering for a number of nationalities of very differing ages and therefore the entertainment manager has to try to appeal to as many tastes as possible. It certainly was not loud, and I can only assume that the contributor who complained about the volume was sat next to the speakers!

Yes this is a Saga destination (we travelled independently), and at times during the week it did resemble a day-care centre, but we knew this and it led to a quiet, children-free holiday. There was however a large influx of Spaniards on the Saturday (for one night only), and we understand this was due to a Spanish Bank Holiday. The whole aura of the hotel changed temporarily and the staff were clearly pressurised - but this did not concern us- in fact it created more interest, and let's face it we were in Spain.

So why only an average rating? Two big downsides - the outdoor pool and the food. The pool is large and at first site very inviting and you will have no problem in finding a sun bed. This is probably because the beds are not put away at night, nor do they appear to be cleaned. Consequently they are adorned by a blanket of droppings provided by the local bird population. My partner almost fell over as she held a handrail leading into the pool which was very loose and we noted a second was in a similar condition - since returning home we note that this was also reported the previous week! But the defining moment came when a very mild-mannered Senor entered a pool-side shower which are tall linear metallic poles, only for it to collapse on his head - this could have caused serious injury to a child or more vertically-challenged user. The tiles around the pool also need a good scrubbing - British Health and Safety Officials would be in there element here!!

Finally to our biggest complaint. I note that the food has had mixed reviews, and one wag recently asked what do hotel-residents expect - well I expect 4 star food from a four star hotel, and although there was the occasional highlight - the marlin was very good - in the main the quality was 2 star at best. We have stayed in many hotels in Spain, and although we never expect the cuisine to be to the standard found in say a French or Italian hotel, this was by some way the worst quality we have tasted in Spain. The vegetables were cold and stewed, much of the fruit had come from a tin, the meat fat and gristly, and the fish unbelievably poor from a port-side hotel. Yes there was variety, but when you remove that which was inedible, there was not much left from which to chose. The hotel's blushes are only saved by the friendly and accommodating waiters who excel in spite of, and not because of the quality of the food they serve.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on a floor 11-15
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de calidad SH Ifach at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent holidays in Calpe.

We are sorry for not having fulfilled all your expectations in some aspects; we apologize for any inconvenience, and we are pleased to inform you that we have focused on the points you mentioned, introducing some improvements: the pool handrails has been replaced for new ones with a modern and more accesible desing, the cleanliness of the outdoor area is conveniently checked daily, the rotatory buffet menu has been updated and the Head Chef is supervising the quality and apropiated elaboration of the food.

We would like to emphasise that guest health and safe is of the utmost importance to us, and the follow the established procedures in order to guarantee optimal conditions in our facilities.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel and for your opinion, that encorage all the team to improve each day.

We really hope to keep your trust and to welcome you in the next future.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

2 week holiday 24 sept 2013 to 8 oct 2013. We had a super room on the top 15th floor. marvellous views. the room was spacious and very clean. towels changed daily.there are 4 lifts, so no problems getting up and down. public areas spacious and kept nice and clean. bar staff at times very busy but remained friendly at all times.the dining room was well laid out the selections, well prepared and always something to tempt the palette. we found all the staff throughout the hotel very friendly and helpful.the evening entertainment, although varied was spoilt by the excessive volume. swimming pool area well designed and ample loungers .very well equipped gym.short stroll to wide sandy beach, and to other side of the rock to the fish port and other beach. we had been blessed with a 2 week holiday of very hot sunshine, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: if you want good room views ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe. It is very glad to check you had a nice experience during your
stay; this is an indicator that we are in the right way.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding the facilities, the service and the staff actitude; your feed-back encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and it was very agreeable. The facilities are good and the staff are helpful no sign of the surly staff mentioned in the reviews I read before travelling. The food is varied but on bland side maybe designed for the mostly older customers. The hotel is fairly close to a lovely beach but if you wish to go shopping its a bus ride away. All areas of hotel were clean and comfortable although the handrails on steps into pool were loose and not to be relied on. We did report this to reception so may be fixed by now.

Room Tip: We were on 13th floor on poolside. The views were good at that side. We could see the salt lake to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach to spend your holidays in Calpe.
We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our services and facilities, and we are very pleased
to know you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, receiving a warm treatment by the staff.

We have read your positive impressions, being very encouraging for all the team.
We would like to thank you to report to the Reception that the pool handrail needed attention; your kind collaboration help us to offer you better facilities each day and to improve in the overall aspects.

We hope you repeat the experience very soon, and we remind again our gratefulness for your comments.

Yours faithfully,
Quality Department SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL SH IFACH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL SH IFACH

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calpe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL SH IFACH 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HOTEL SH IFACH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sh Ifach Hotel Calpe
Sol Ifach Calpe
Sol Ifach Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL SH IFACH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.