We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Calpe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porto Calpe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Porto Calpe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Explanada del Puerto 7, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Calpe
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Was recommended this hotel by a friend who regularly stays. Although only 2 star, if you book an upgraded room it is excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly and gave good honest advice. Enjoyed our visit and would definitely return.
We did not use any of the hotel services it was really used as just a base and in that regard represents excellent value.

Room Tip: The cost of upgraded room is most reasonable and I think all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with no reservation and the lovely receptionist, Sofia, let us look at two rooms before making our mind. The 3rd floor rooms ('superior') had just been renovated and they were a great for EUR50 a night (double ensuite room). It was a great stay even when we did not have time to enjoy the swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed only 1 night at the Porte Calpe hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right on the port & easy walking to the seafood restaurants and the promenade. The room was clean & comfortable and as we had a sea facing room, the view was fantastic. The only minor complaint was the lack of a proper shower screen which caused water to go everywhere in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a sea view, the higher th better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for one night only, so did not have time to use pool which looked quite small. Room was ok , clean but very small couldn't spend much longer than I did here but I guess that is a personal thing.
45€ for a double room is pretty good but it was late season.

Room Tip: I didn't get the choice, but if your staying for a week or more you need a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of this hotel and what a lovely little hotel it is :) Not sure how many rooms in total, larger than a typical B&B but a lot smaller than some of the more typical, touristy, hotels in this area of Spain. Check in was easy and I was directed to my room on the second floor. I booked a single room however found myself in a lovely double. No balcony however this didn't matter as there is a lovely large communal terrace on the first floor. The pool is small but a perfect sun trap from 12-6pm. All in all a wonderful stay and I will definelty be returning again.

A few negatives but nothing that would impact me from staying again; the walls are very thin and if someone is being loud it travels easily. There is no designated parking and parking in the port is limited however at no point did I not find a space I just walked a little farther. There isn't a bar at the pool although there are some vending machines in the lounge area for soft drinks.

Finally, book a hire car in advance! Far cheaper than at the airport or getting a taxi. Calpe Port is extremely easy to find even without a satnav and there are plenty of places to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 11 night stay, bed and breakfast at Hotel Porto Calpe. Had a superior room on 2nd floor with a decent balcony overlooking the little port and the iconic Penon de Ifach. The room and bathroom were fine, newly refurbished, clean, cool, quiet and comfortable, cleaned daily. The only slight negative was the fridge was too small to be of much use, just small mini-bar size and without an ice compartment. The breakfast was plentiful and did the job but exactly the same every day! The star quality of this hotel is the location, overlooking the street and the bar next door but never rowdy so great for people watching. Literally cross the road and you are at the harbour and 1 min walk to the small local Playa Roig beach with fabulous seafood restaurants (although the waiters do pester a bit to try and get you in) and couple of nice little beach bars. 10 mins walk one way is the large Playa Levante backed with tiled promenade and huge choice of cocktail bars, restaurants, etc. 15 mins walk the other side along another promenade overlooking little rocky coves and an ancient Roman baths and you are at the other large Playa Arenal with more good choice of bars and restaurants and another few mins walk up into the old town which has a lovely traditional old Spanish area and restaurant row of great tapas bars, a rooftop restaurant, etc. Calpe is very "Spanish" without an English pub anywhere which was a nice surprise as it's so close to Benidorm, but is ideally located to visit there and Altea by ferry or bus and the huge variety of lovely surrounding places such as Guadalest, Fonts de L'Algar, Moraira, El Portet, Denia, etc. by car. It really is a little gem of a hotel in excellent location which I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a traditional Spanish beach holiday with superb choice for dining out!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just back from a week in the porto calpe hotel and cannot praise it highly enough everything was great,we had room 503 on the top floor with a priceless view over the marina and the ifach rock,the room was a superior and was better than any holiday inn i have stayed in ,the soundproofing meant we never heard a sound from other rooms and was fitted to a high standard ,aircon came out slowly which meant you left it on all night and it never disturbed you and room was a lovely just right temperature,i had a peek in one of the hotels standard rooms and that seemed a bit more basic,all of the staff we met during our stay always smiled and said hello and indulged me with my holiday spanish,the pool area was very nice and i beleive its just been renovated only downside pool area was in the shade a lot so water was a bit nippy,the breakfast was a continental with meats,cheese ,croissants ,bread ,cakes etc etc and there was a large choice of accomppinaments [ps croissants lovely when warmed in large section of toaster] and we couldnt complain in any way about the breakfast other than it was exactly the same every day a bit of variation would have been nice,location of the hotel couldnt be better with the marina across the road and the 2 large playas a short stroll away and our favourite beach the small one at the end of the row of fish restaurants about 3 minute walk,outside the hotel is a row of bars that seem to be all owned and run by romanians except one english bar and although fine and reasonably priced i always felt the friendliness of the romanian staff was so false it came with a sarcastic undertone [if you go you will see what i mean its hard to explain,] but there are so many good restaurants a short walk away you are spoiled for choice .overall this was a superb hotel and if this is a 2 star some of the 3 star hotels i have been in on package holidays wouldnt get a star we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: make sure you book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Porto Calpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Calpe

Also Known As:
Porto Hotel Calpe
Address: Explanada del Puerto 7, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
#6 Family Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porto Calpe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Porto Calpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Calpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.