We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Calpe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porto Calpe to your Saves list
Hotel Porto Calpe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Explanada del Puerto 7, 03710 Calpe, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean and rooms are revamped and excellent value, had room over looking port and the rock very nice. Pool area is newly done. Bar down stairs closing around 1 which might be a problem if u sleep early and have a room at the front like me underneath you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    59
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overlooking the port of Calpe lovely small hotel with great views of the harbour and Calpe rock good restaurants on the dorstep especiallyTaberna Del Port next door.
Room was well appointed,clean and comfortable.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the side or rear, if you want the views worth upgrading to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just a little update since we have just got back from re-visiting this fab little hotel. We got one of the newly refurbished rooms. Excellent job they have made. Light and airy and very modern. Staff ever attentive and friendly. How this is a 2 star I'll never know, but hope it stays that way with the same prices. It's a gem of a hotel. Would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed one night in December at this hotel..Most prices in area were 70E and up,but this gem was 35E and better than elsewhere...The view from the balcony is fantastic..The rooms are spotless and modern..There is English TV..The rooms are lit properly so you can actually read in bed.Internet in each room.The Chinese restaurant next door is fabulous...The girl on reception was friendly helpful and spoke very good English..There was the usual Spanish problem of all the tiling making the place into a giant echo chamber... One of the nicest hotels l have stayed in on my tour of Spain...They cater for everyone..The two stars are because they keep a couple of rooms basic for the hard up traveller (25E) and then they go into 3star and 4 star quality rooms

Room Tip: A front of hotel room is ESSENTIAL for the truly wonderful vista from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I went to Calpe in november for a week-end and I choose this hotel because I saw on the internet it is situated near the seaport .I've been to Calpe before but I have never stayed in this hotel. The room I stayed in was nice and very clean even if it wasn't renovated . The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help in any matter.
Near the reception is a bar/restaurant were I enjoyed great food and the staff here also was very friendly and polite to the customers .
Overall I can say I'm happy with the choice I made staying in this hotel .Definitely it's more than a 2 star hotel and I recommend it to all who love walks near seaside . I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, ask for a room overlooking the port and from the bed you can see the Penon de Ifach, what more can you ask !!! The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff on the front desk were very helpful indeed.
Although only rated a 2*, don't let that put you off. From the hotel, you are a stones throw from the restaurants in the port and around 10 minutes walk from the nearest beach.
Bars and restaurants are in abundance nearby for you to take breakfast if required and lunch and dinner. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a weekend break, fabulous !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been a visitor of Calpe for 30 years and this is the first disappointment ive experienced. We arrived at the hotel late Friday evening, greeted by a friendly English receptionist who checked us into room #215. The room was well below what we were expecting having researched and seen the facia of the hotel and reception and seeing the decor of the 1st floor as we made our way up the stairs. The walls and cieling had pieces of plaster missing, areas of walls were unpainted, and covered in dirt/dust, the bathroom walls were covered in black mold and the shower was a hose attached to the mixer taps which we had to hold whilst showering under a dribble of water. We pre-booked a "sea view" room, the actual view was a side view of the hotel rooms next door, and very very loud! We asked the friendly receptionist if we could be moved to be told the hotel was fully booked, and that had we upgraded by €9 before hand it would have been "well worth it" as the rooms on the 1st floor had been substantially refurbished, obviously this was not what we wanted to hear as we would have paid the €9 had we known before hand!! The air conditioning did not work in the room at all and the temperateure was well into the 30's, the door to the balcony was very small and didnt let any air in but as it was so late and we just wanted to sleep we thought we'd mention this when we checked out the next morning. Having suffered a very bad nights sleep (?) being so close to the loud hotel next door and the swealtering heat with no air con we spoke to the very unhelpful female morning receptionist, who implied that we didnt know how to work the air conditioning, we took her to the room and she confirmed that yes, it was broken! We disputed the cost of €88 (room only) as being far too much for the standard and the broken air con, but she told us there was nothing she could do, stating that because we hadnt told the night receptionist about the air con she couldnt reduce the room rate, this was totally irrelevant as we already knew there would be nothing the night receptionist could have done at the time!! We felt totally ripped off and saddened by the lack of interest from the receptionist and was a total disappointment to the beginning of our short stay in Calpe. We will always visit Calpe and will always recommend staying in and around the port however, we would not recommend staying in this hotel and particularly not the 2nd floor!

Room Tip: The First Floor has been refurbished, the Second Floor has not. Rooms to the right hand side are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porto Calpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Calpe

Address: Explanada del Puerto 7, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porto Calpe 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porto Calpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Hotel Calpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Calpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.