We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb sandy beacj” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Arenal-Bol

Playa Arenal-Bol
Calpe, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Attractions in Calpe
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Superb sandy beacj”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great sea sand and safety. With life guards wheel chair access and gentle slopping beach this is ideal for all families. Childrens playgrounds and foot washes make this a great friendly beach. Lots of bsrs and cafes line the promenade. There are roman ruins to see and some great walks for those who don't want to lounge in the sun. 5 stars from me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely visit to Calpe, best part of the visit was the walk along the promenade of Playa Arenal-Bol with the gorgeous sandy beach, the sea, the harbour and up close views of the Penon de Ifach (Calpe Rock) which can be seen from miles around.

We arrived there by Alsa bus from Benidorm. If planning the same, be aware that the bus station is a good mile or mile and a half uphill from the sea front. Not too bad when arriving as all downhill and we enjoyed walking through the streets, but all uphill for the return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Playa Arenal...Calpe...One of my favourite beaches...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I will be honest...I have a house in Calpe and have just returned to Turkey after a 3 week stay in Calpe over October and early November...Calpe and both of it's beaches are great and I visit Calpe about 4 times a year. Playa Arenal is the main beach and is the busiest all year around..

The beach is very long with beautiful golden sands and has excellent and dramatic views of Calpe rock to one side and Benidorm in the distance to the other side. The sea is excellent for swimming in...and there were still many keen swimmers in the water at the start of November. There are many excellent bars and restaurants along the main part of the beach leading towards the town, my favourite of which is Bar Morena. During my Oct visit I saw the Moors and Christians parade which started in the old town and ended by the beach and next day I saw the Moors and Christians battle on the beach. I arrived last year to the best fireworks display ever...( ok... Apart from the displays at Edinburgh Castle!) in the early August Spanish fiesta...right on the beach. Is was midnight and it was mobbed.....bang went the early night I had planned....if you forgive the pun!

I return to Calpe for Christmas and New Year and am looking forward to sitting on the beach on New Years day with my friends....as I did last year...drinking Cava...and wearing a T shirt in the beautiful sunshine..Note: It is chilly when the sun goes down!

If you want to avoid the wet t shirt contests and blue rinse brigade in Benidorm... Travel a few miles north and experience Calpe and it's wonderful beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Beach in Calpe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Beach is nice and near to the center of town. I still prefer the Levante Beach though : nicer shops and more relaxed atmosphere. Arenal can get very crowed during high season. Levante is crowed as well during high Seasons but we always manage to find a good spot to spend the day at the beach. Too bad I can't get a wifi connection on the beach most of the times. Hotels and appartments on the beach side have a lot of problems with nighttime noise from teh bars and discothèques.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“My "Home From Home" Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Been visiting Calpe on and off since 1988. First visit was to help "family" buy an apartment out there - where they now live. Naturally going to visit them when possible and just had the most fabulous two weeks this year 2011. Two weeks of wonderful weather! Going for the first two weeks of October the sea was lovely & warm. Also, this time round, the sea was at its calmest ever! Great accommodation "found" by said family but "Thank you Veronica" (of the Colon Inmobiliaria Agency) for such a lovely apartment too. Just round the corner from the main street it actually had a sea view and with windows open at night one could hear the sea gently rolling in!! Magnificent. Calpe being a self suffficient town where you need never leave once you get there. The bus from Alicante Airpoty is / was only 8 euros!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Arenal-Bol also viewed

 

Been to Playa Arenal-Bol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Arenal-Bol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.