We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi

Amalfi
Avenida Juan Carlos I, 26, 03710 Calpe, Spain
96 587 4078
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 227 Restaurants in Calpe
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tipperary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just gets better and better!thank you Rosa and Matteo for another brilliant holiday,mainly due to your excellent food!It more than compensated for the iffy weather in the first week!nothing was too much trouble,and the restaurant was so cosy on some of the cool nights!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top ten? I don't think so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm really suprised this restaurant is ranked so highly. We ate there because we saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were really disappointed. The place looks really run down and the food was below average. I must say that our waiter was very kind and attentive and so for this they can be applauded but I'm afraid it was let down by everything else.

Compared to other top ten restaurants we ate at (Patio de la Fuente and Casa Mola Mola) this seemed poor. I would nto eat there again and I would not recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Make no mistake – this is the gem of Calpe.

We first found this hidden gem in October, 2011. My daughter Jenny has special needs and it was a holiday for her. The sad fact is that not everyone accepts people with a disability. But, Jenny shines when she is accepted, acknowledged and made to feel welcome.

And your host, Rosanna, certainly makes you feel that way. What a ray of sunshine she is. So welcoming. Her husband Matteo prepares the food. And the food is amazing – true Italian cuisine freshly made by an Italian from Amalfi, Italy

Whatever you order, you always get a complimentary starter. The prices are very reasonable too. Three of ate for 45 Euros including a bottle of wine!

I just feel that when people really try hard to please, it should be recognised. In most restaurants you are just “ a n other”. Not here – you are made to feel special – the result of which is you enjoy the wonderful food even more.

We have just returned from another stay in Calpe. We visited the restaurant 3 times in a week. Same warm reception and first class food. And, Rosanna remembered Jenny’s name too.

Buon appetito !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“An italian fix in Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed an italian fix at Amalfi, it was an enjoyable treat far better than other pizza/pasta places we have experienced in Calpe. The mamma was an authentic lady from Napoli, very eager to please us with her husbands culinary delights, the portions were big, the pasta was cooked properly al dente and salty. Make sure you walk to the terrace at the front over looking the sea, and you will have an enjoyable time. We will go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have been here twice now with different visiting friends, both times the food and the service were excellent. This visit we all had Menu Del Dia, great value at 10.80 Euros. We were given a free appetiser (not on the menu), a very tasty tomato and garlic pizza bread. The friendly service and wonderful food make a visit here very enjoyable. When we visit Calpe again we will be sure to plan our day to ensure that we eat here!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi also viewed

 

Been to Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.