We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best setting in Calpe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Timon

Restaurante Timon
Club Nautico "Les Bassetes" E-03720 | Benissa (Alicante), Spain, 03710 Calpe, Spain
+34 965 83 61 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 240 Restaurants in Calpe
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The best setting in Calpe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I made a return visit to this lovely Restaurant after 4 years and I am pleased to say that the view is still amazing and the food is of a higher standard than most in the area.
Non locals may not stumble upon it easily, but if you follow the road from Calpe to Moraira you will see a sign for Las Antipodas Windsurfing and Kayak centre ~ go down the rather steep road and you will find yourself in a wonderful place. There is a casual beach bar type restaurant downstairs and Timon is up the stairs. Great decor, the best view of Calpe and the Penon d'Ifach. The staff and Sidu (the owner) will give a warm greeting, a wide selection of international cuisine including Spanish and Indian. There is an excellent choice of wines available.
Not the cheapest but worth that little extra.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average at best, but beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Reading the latest review I was on two minds as to whether to dine here. But it was close to our villa and getting late.
The restaurant itself is pleasant and the views are extremely nice. The service is average at best with no one speaking English (not a big deal as we are in Spain)
As it was just my wife and I dining, and her only having a salad as a main it was pretty painless but we are the sort of people who like to snoop on what’s going on around us. There were 3 tables on larger parties, two with 6 people and one with 9. What we noticed is that none of their main came out at the same time, and all were complaining. Some having to wait almost 45 minutes between the first and last main coming out. I just don’t think they know how to cope. So be cautious.
Our food itself was fine, cooked well and my steak for main was the size of a baby’s head.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Although the restaurant is beautiful inside it is definitely the outside dining that is special.
The views are of the ocean overlooking a sailing school.
I have always found the service excellent and the food very good.
Worth a visit for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh dear, oh dear.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having read other reviews my family was really looking forward to this restaurant and made sure that we reserved a table to ensure that we experienced what other diners have raved about. However, the service was very poor. The restaurant was barely a quarter full however we waited over 70 minutes for our main courses. The veg was undercooked and the food was no better than average. We were very disappointed as the food is quite pricey compared to other quality restaurants in Calpe. Not recommended - when we complained about the slow service only one waiter appeared apologetic and the others were indifferent to our concerns. A wasted evening when there are so many other restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Excellent views and very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Went there for a second time (both for Sunday lunch) and found the restaurant both times this year (June also) not very full. Not sure about other times. The outside terrace has a very good view of the bay and the food was good. Service also good. I found the price to be fair but a local friend thought it expensive. There are very good coastal walks towards both Calpe and Moraira and the local authority has done well in upgrading these. As such the restaurant is a very good stop if you are walking this part of the coast. Ther is an average cafe underneath the restuarant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Timon also viewed

Calpe, Costa Blanca
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurante Timon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Timon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.