We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Restaurant

La Casa Restaurant
Calle del Mar 23A, 03710 Calpe, Spain
+34 965 83 73 12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 240 Restaurants in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $33
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small family-run restaurant serving fresh and homemade dishes.A good selection of wines.Request on vegetarian dishes is advisable to call in advance. Please note that La Casa is very small(only 5 tables), we appreciate your early bookings.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Back to La Casa again for another great meal this week. I had veal strips with mushrooms in sauce. There were two us, fish of the day was the other main meal that was picked, sole with almonds. Both were great, as usual. We both had kumquat sorbet for dessert. It was to die for. If you like ice cream and sorbets this is the place to go to, all are home made.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Part of the Mediterranean dining experience is that the food is quite simple. Salads, grilled foods, eaten at a gentle pace washed down with wine and water.

This restaurant fits the bill perfectly. For example, creme of white asparagus soup. Delicate yet tasty. Pan-fried lamb chops with rosemary.

Many restaurants in the town/area cater to the tourist and thus provide staple, popular cuisine, such as pizza or chicken. This place offers something different, and although it is slightly more expensive, it is worth a visit.

Note - It is a very small restaurant (maybe a dozen tables) and the toilets are upstairs and have no handicapped access.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Came here with my partner, Food was excellent! Fillet Steak beautiful! Friendly staff although but slow but just due to being busy..
Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Cannot fault La Casa at all. Food is always at a high standard, prices are reasonable and the owners Mike and Serene are some of the friendliest people you could ever meet! I try to make a trip to this restaurant a regular occasion as I cannot get enough of their homemade baileys and after eight ice cream - to die for! 5 stars.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Thought we would try this place and was extremely disappointed. The place was expensive for what you got. The steak wasn't cooked how I asked and I can only describe the service as slow!
The whole place felt "old fashioned " and uncomfortable, and the menu a bit dated and limited.
Not quite sure how the place got so high up the charts but hey ho each to their own!!
I can easily name at least 4 places in Calpe a million times better to go and eat than this one. Sorry but that is my view!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Restaurant also viewed

 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Casa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.