We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esmeralda Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Esmeralda Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Esmeralda Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/San Pedro, 14, 03501 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Ulldecona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

First impressions were quite good, the lady at reception was really nice and she said we have given you a sea view room even though we didn't book one. That was very nice of them. But quite honestly the view was really the only thing that the hotel had going for it, to be honest. The location is brilliant. The décor is so old it not only needs painting but the door frame and the door to the room was rotten and crumbling away. The food wasn't bad but the jam in the sealed pot when opened ran out onto the bread. The food wasn't always hot either. When we were leaving there was a man at the reception desk, on the phone, we waited a long time to give him the keys and to say goodbye, but although he knew we were there he totally ignored us. Eventually I just put the keys on the desk said goodbye and left. We certainly will not be going back there.

Room Tip: If you do stay at least choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    55
    17
    72
See reviews for
28
91
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

it's a 2*don't forget! but every one of the staff, from cleaner to boss, was pleasant and happy and very helpful. Food was quite varied and plentiful but if you get down late, it could be cool. Room walls were thin, maid was in every day, get a sea view, well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

You have to climb down to reception, no lift to street, so make sure you pack light. We were on a half board basis and the first evening for food we were told "eat the soup, it's the only thing hot". This we found was the main problem with the hotel. The food was cooked lovely but the hotel had trouble keeping the food warm, even when topping up trays from the kitchen the food was not warm. The frozen vegetables they served were sometimes still steaming but that was it. We ate out quite a lot, there are a good few places to eat warm, delicious, fresh food.
I have a habit of checking under beds when arriving at t new place and although the floor appeared clean it was so dusty under the bed I wondered if it had ever been cleaned.
On the plus side the maid was friendly and cleaned the bathroom every day changing towels and replenishing toilet roll, soap as necessary.
Don't go here if you like to stay out at night, door is locked by midnight and if you arrive back after this time you have to wait for security to unlock it for you (they do this quickly - but it's still a pain).
Traditional area, traditional values and you have to pay extra to get a room with a balcony that you can sit out on. Not a place I will be returning to even if I was paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but be advised you may have to pay up to 10 euros extra per night for it, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

One of the cleanest hotels I have been in with towels changed every day. Sea view is worth every penny of the 10euros a day charge. Including the extra charge, 4 days full board including wine and water for lunch and dinner for 2 people came to £21pppn.
Yes the food choice is limited(the hotel is small) but the quality over the 4 days we were there was excellent eg grilled chicken breasts, beef, goulash, fresh fish cooked as it should with herbs and oil. Variety of vegetables and potatos, again of good quality. As opposed to some 4 star hotels if we wanted butter outwith breakfast, they would bring us portions to our table. If you are pleasant to the dining room staff, in return they are pleasant to you despite the language barrier.
Also because the dining room is smaller than the larger hotels, eating here is more like eating in a restaurant, as is less stressful and the same staff get to know you.
Ok the rooms are basic but they are comfortable as are the beds. Bathroom had been refurbished and there was always plenty of hot water and a powerful shower.
Again do not know what some travellers expect for their money, but I would not fault this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again as all staff are friendly and helpful.
Location is also excellent with bus stop just outside hotel, also easy walk to train station for visiting Altea and Calpe.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - one of the best in Benidorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just back after a 5 night stay at the Esmeralda Beach Hotel [ 1st to 6th March 2014 ] , where to start, well, firstly, to get to reception you have to go down 12 steps and with luggage it can be a task, someone with walking problems would find this very difficult to cope, to be fair the girl behind reception was friendly and efficient, and check in was very quick, she asked if I wished to use either the tv or the air con I would require the remote controls for them, and a 10 euro deposit would be required for each of them, I opted for the tv remote, my room was on the 3rd floor [ room 304 ] and at the back of the hotel, which looked on to the back street, to say the room was basic is an understatement, twin beds, a wardrobe which had a very funny smell in it, and I left the doors open the whole of my stay, the bathroom had a loo, bath/shower over , wash hand basin, yes the room was clean, but as I said was very basic, with some weird wooden art on one of the walls, well some of it was missing, and you could see the glue that had held the missing pieces, there was a balcony, no balcony furniture, and the depth was about a foot, just enough room to step on to it,
I was staying on a half board bases, so lets start with breakfast, there was no hot food options, just cereal, 2 machines to make your own toast, rolls and other bread products, and a machine for coffee , tea etc, the staff in the dining room was not friendly , well, they seemed only interested in talking to the Spanish guests, which there was a lot of, the evening meal was an experience, in the 5 nights there I tried it twice, but ended up going out and eating somewhere else, as other reviewers have said some staff was excellent and friendly, including reception and the staff who cleaned the rooms.
I was having breakfast on morning , and over heard 2 English guests talking about their stay / experience of the hotel, and one comment said it all, '' this hotel is not a very disabled friendly hotel, to which the other replied, it's not a very friendly hotel at all ''
I was staying as part of a package deal with Jet 2 holidays, and have already passed on my comments re the hotel to them, I have been in Benidorm many times over the past 15 years, and have to say have never stayed in a place like the Esmeralda, my advice is to stay somewhere else, as there are plenty of hotels in the area, better quality and value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

on the first night we had the most revolting painting on the wall full lenght from floor to ceilling it was just veins in red and blue of a man but the top of his head was missing. the room was poor no table a broken set of drawers. we was not told we needed about the tv remote and no english . the food for breakfast was poor dinner was worse and evening meal well thank for the soup. the cleaning @ serving staff was very good and helpfull that is the only good point

Room Tip: shame some of staff not as good as others as some was 10 + must have sea views but you pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent one night in Benidorm and, when I checked, there was an occupancy rate of 94% in the town. I suppose it should have been obvious why this hotel had rooms available when all the other hotels were fully booked!
On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and for a beach holiday, the location is unsurpassable. These two plus points, however, cannot make up for the negative points.
The corridors are uninviting and have paint chipped all over the walls. Inside the rooms, the decor is incredibly dated and the furniture is old and decrepit. The beds are very uncomfortable although this did not matter too much because a pulsating humming noise kept me awake for a lot of the night.
There were other things that were simply frustrating. For example, the electricity socket next to the bed did not work so I had to use the only other one, which was in the bathroom.
The shower curtain was too small for the shower and therefore, after I took a shower, there was a lot of water on the floor of the bathroom. I had to use a towel to mop up the water and, it was at this stage, that I discovered how dirty the floor was.
The selection of food in the restaurant is poor and, the quality of that what there was was nearly as bad. I was tempted to eat out however I was so tired that I decided to eat the poor quality fare available. On the plus side, if you are on a diet, you will not be indulging.
The old adage is usually true that you get what you pay for however I paid almost 48€ which is incredibly poor value for money, especially in comparison to many of the other establishments in the town. I live reasonably close to Benidorm so am fully aware of what you can expect from a hotel when paying this amount – caveat emptor!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esmeralda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Beach Hotel

Address: C/San Pedro, 14, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Esmeralda Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esmeralda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esmeralda Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.