We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than satisfied for price....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayra Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mayra Apartments to your Saves list
Mayra Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Amsterdam 6, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“more than satisfied for price....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

just come back from Mayra apartments last week, group of 5 21 yr old girls! we had a very good price for apartments of £79 each, was dubvious when booking thinking it was gonna be a dive but for the price it was alot nicer than expected...rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious, we was on 15th floor which was rather high and one night did get very windy, as we stayed for a week we did not have any maid service and no change of towels, it was a 2 euro charge for fresh set of towels! did not use the kitchen area but seemed to have everything needed! location of hotel was good it was a short walk from main strip/square and supermarkets etc. a well run bar underneath with friendly staff and cheap prices for drinks and food. they would greet us every evening with a discounted or even free shot to get us on our way. the pool area was okay not the best but done the trick, lack of umberella and cheapy beds but nothing an inflatable lilo didnt fix, the pool was on the small side but very deep so not the best for small children that cannot swim. overall the apartments was very good value for money, we had no problems with our stay and would definitely go back there again :)

Room Tip: higher floors apprantly have more breeze as theres no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    61
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

just returned back from these apartments take no notice of the negative reviews on here we had a great time the apartments are great for self catering everything u need and very clean the maid is friendly and hard working and the bar downstairs is good 1 euro a pint and snacks all day it took 5 mins to the beach and nightlife pool is small but hey ho great for cooling down we were on the top floor and the view was to die for straight over to the sea will defo be goin back to these apartments next year all in all great hol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

just got back from the mayra alex and ramona were very freindly we had the kids with us and he was brilliant with them. we would go back h there again. the rooms were clean there is a little bar under the apartments 1 euro a pint very good value for money, there were a lot of sun beds so we spent a lot of time at the pool. we wernt ment to check in until 5 oclock but alex let us into our room half an hour after we got there. my little grandaughter who is three adored him and he was brilliant with her . we would definitly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the 4th year running we girls have stayed at Mayra and we cannot fault the place for what we need it to do for us. If you are looking for 5 star then go book elsewhere. If however you are looking for cheap, clean, well situated accomodation this is it. 5 minutes from the main bars and restaurants but far enough away that you're not constantly disturbed by noise. A wee pool bar which sells snacks and drinks cheaply is ideal for during the day. Alex and Ramona are very nice people and let us keep one of our apartments on until we left for the airport. They work very hard and all they want is a bit of respect in return. We are always made to feel welcome and we will definitely return for our girls weekend next year again.

Room Tip: This is a 15 storey apartment block. Floor 3 or 4 ideal as can get a bit windy higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have read previous reviews and was very disturbed at how people describe romana (cruella). That is so very unkind as she is a lovely woman that would do anything for you. She is not the cleaner or receptionist she is part of the management team and there is only her and Alejandro that clean the rooms which is why you cannot check in till 5. It says this in your booking so then to complain that you cannot get into the room before this is stupid. There was a disabled family staying when we were there and romana went out of her way to help make there stay good. Alejandro is also lovely and friendly and my daughter thoroughly enjoys the attention from them both. The rooms are basic but very comfortable and very clean. The tv can be changed to English so if you see I programe such as "big bang theory" then just change the language setting. This works on most of the English tv programmes. There's a bar under the apartments but this doesn't create noise at night and the food is really cheap my family of 3 eat for €10 which would be hard to beat in the uk. If you arrive and there is no-one on reception then romana puts a note on with the rooms she is cleaning so if you press the doorbell for that appartment you can speak to Romana and she will advise you of what to do. CCTV has been installed so there is no worries about the lack of locks on windows and realistically who is going to climb 12ft to break in??? In front of everyone sat at the pool? All noise travels far in Spain so even though the only bar is a street away you can hear them in most of the appartments but all this stops by 12.00.

Please don't let the few negative comments stop you from booking as this is a great place to stay and great value for money. I have now been 3 times already this year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

have just returned from a 2 week stay at these apartments (19th July - 2nd August). After reading through some of the previous reviews I can absolutely agree with everything that branandpat had commented on, unfortunatley in my opinion the review after this I found to be extremely unfair. The apartments are in an amazingly central location situated on a slight hill at the side of the Nereo hotel. They are all pool view and the higher ones also have the advantage of a seaview and the possibility of a slight breeze. They are very spacious, two rooms with single beds in each. A sofa which can be used as a small double bed and a roll out bed underneath. Loads of clothes storage space with plenty of hangers. A perfectly adequate sized kitchen filled with all the appliances that you could need. Yes the kettle is not near a plug, but instead of holding it whilst it boiled (which the previous reviewer stated), we brought a small table in from the living area and set the kettle on it. It was close enough to the plug and also held the likes of our teabags/coffee/sugar etc... The balcony would easily seat 6 people although there were only seats for 4. There is also a large clothes airer...Bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water. Never did I see any evidence of silver fish... I did see the odd ant, but thats normal in such a hot climate.. We used mosquito plugs and never got bitten. Yes there are no locks on the balcony or windows, we were on the 2nd floor and unless someone was on a huge pair of fire ladders it would be impossible to gain access to the apartment. Yes there is also a gate which anyone can gain access to, to get into the pool, but the doors of the apartment complex are locked from 9pm at night and unless you have a key, you will not be able to enter these apartments. The main downside and something that may put me off going back is that there is no air conditioning. We bought a large floor fan but this only blew hot air round the apartment and we suffered quite a bit with the lack of cool air. We left every window and balcony door open each night, but this did not help.
The pool is on the small side, but the beach is a 5 min walk away if this is a problem for anyone. My main problem with the pool area was the lack of shade. There are NO umberellas and although the bar area have 3 brolleys they are for guests using the bar,not for the apartment complex. There is also a lack of sunbeds and numerous of them cracked and broken. The bar as said before is so cheap and the measures huge. I however did find that that the bar area itself was always quite unkempt. It often looked dirty and untidy. We never ate any meals here, but round the corner was the Yorkshire Pride II and I can absolutley recommend it. The portions are huge and the prices very reasonable.
A lot of talk here about the housekeeper. This lady has been doing her job for over 30 years and takes no nonense. I found her helpful, pleasant, approachable. She runs a tight ship and I witnessed her throwing out a group of several guys who had obviously been up to no good. I took sick on my 3rd day and she was more than helpful and took it upon herself to call a doctor out to the complex for me. I honestly cannot thank her enough.
I did find that there were a lot of spanish young people around who were noisy, but no more noisy than the rest of the holidaymakers who were returning from an evening out.
This has been my 3rd time in benidorm and my first time in apartments. In my opinion the amount of romanian gypsies had greatly decreased. The P men were still around, but ignore them and dont get involved with their gambling and you will be fine. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. The aparments are average, they are in a great location, just unfortunate that there was no air conditioning as I would've had no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: lifts are slow, so if you are impatient go for a lower floor, but then you have no sea view... all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I accompanied my family to these apartments, we were there from the 1st to 10th July.
Personally I absolutely hated it, although my family did not mind. We are certainly used to staying in nicer places. The only good thing I can say is the price is so cheap and in a good location - if you don't mind being kept awake all night and your apartment being infested in bugs then go for it!

We were on the third floor and my room was facing the pool, and given the Spanish had broken up for their Summer holidays - I was awoken many nights to loud screaming and their constant smoking of weed.
On the last night I was kept awake until 5am - and could only sleep once the people above us decided too.

Mayras 'rules' are an absolute joke - it states there will be no excessive noise after 10pm yet this really isn't the case. The apartments were apparently stated as 'family' yet all I saw was groups of rowdy lads and unruly Spanish teens/early twenties.

On the final night when I was kept up till 5am, upon turning on my light I saw a huge silverfish climbing up my wall - only to find my mum had seen many in the bathroom during the holiday.

I absolutely cannot stand bugs so silverfish climbing up the walls was the absolute last straw.

You have to pay to use the internet (around 25euros per week), pay 2euros? per day to use the safe deposit box, pay to get an extra change of towels if you need them before your designated towel change day.

The kitchen is a joke. The oven's knobs have no indication of which is for what - so that was a fun hour spent working it out. The plugs are in the worst places and barely reach appliances so you have to practically hold the kettle in mid air whilst it boils.

Last but not least, the apartments are on the back of a bar. Any one in the bar, or any random passer buy can get into the pool area and more scarily in the apartments. This is hardly safe for children or anyone. There are NO locks on the windows or balcony door. This caused much distress for my family that were staying on the 1st floor. What kind of place allows their windows and doors to be open at all times?!

I hated it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayra Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayra Apartments

Address: Calle Amsterdam 6, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayra Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DescriptionThe Mayra Apartments are ideal for summer holidays and long-term winter occupation. Located in the Rincon-de-Loix area of Benidorm, just five minutes walk (200 meters) from the vast white sand expanse of the Levante beach. Surrounded by a variety of shops, bars and restaurants making them a haven for those looking to be close to the action. Days can be spent either by the pool or by taking a stroll along the far reaching promenade, stopping off occasionally for a cool refreshment in one of the many drinking establishments on route. In the evening the variety of entertainment on offer in the many bars will keep you amused for hours. In addition, there are plenty of restaurants nearby in which to dine, all offering meals at very reasonable prices. Or, if simply looking for a quick snack then Burger King is just a short walk away. Nevertheless, the true self-caterer needn’t despair as Benidorm’s fantastic Indoor Market can be found just across the road stocking fresh fruit & veg, meat & fish, daily baked bread, and much more. AccommodationApartments have individual balcony, lounge/dining room with satellite television, fully-equipped kitchen which includes excellent cooking facilities for long stay guests (4 electric hobs & electric oven) and complete bathroom. These two bedroom apartments have two separate twin bedrooms and a double sofa bed in the lounge thus sleeping up to a maximum of 6 guests.Facilities and serviceThe block consists of sixteen floors with just 2 two-bedroom apartments on each floor. Own reception area with two lifts which in high season offers a foreign money exchange. There is a bar/cafeteria downstairs offering drinks, hot and cold food throughout the day and evening in addition to a private swimming pool and sun terrace just outside. Housekeeping and Porter service seven days a week and a luggage room and shower facilities (subject to availability) for late departures from resort. CleaningRoom clean on arrival, plus one cleaning per week, including towel and bed linen change, for stays over seven nights.Local pay supplementsSafety deposit boxes, cots, extra cleaning available via the resident housekeeper.Key collection/DepositOfficial timetable to check-in 17.00 hrs. Check-out 10.00 hrs. At check-in a refundable key deposit of 150 Euros per apartment to be paid directly to the housekeeper. Key collection at the block. (Late arrivals, key collection at the Hotel Servigroup Nereo, just 100 meters from the block). Full flight details requested at time of booking. Notice must be given for late arrivals. Stag and Hen parties are not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayra Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayra Apartments Benidorm
Mayra Apartments Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayra Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.