We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Villaitana to your Saves list
Melia Villaitana
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in "The Level" for a short escape. Definetly time run toooooo fast in the amazing swimming pool taking a refreshment while enyoing for some real relax time feeling a VIP.
Very funny the evening drinks, and lovely quiet ambience for restaurants, like staying in a "Hello magazine rmansion by the sea" for a day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Cano,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing The Level at Meliá Villaitana and taking your valuable time to share with other travelers your impressions in this website, Tripadvisor.
We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.
We really hope you come back to see us soon.
Best regards,
Nuria García
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    400
    181
    81
    53
See reviews for
426
447
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London england
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Level as we wanted an adult only hotel. The room was huge with a lovely view over the golf course and sea. Overall, we had a very good experience. We loved the peace and quiet around the pools, there was no rushing to get a lounger and all soft drinks were included. We also enjoyed the 7-8 p.m. happy hour, with free alcohol and aperitifs. A member of the guest team was always present and would speak with everyone. Breakfast had a good choice, although we did notice that certain things would appear one day and not reappear for some time. There were, however, some negatives as well. Charging 4 euros per day for outside parking is quite expensive - you also had to drive around and search for a parking space. We were informed of this on the morning after we checked in and were told that we should use a plastic card for coming in and out of the resort, but that they didn't have any of them at the reception of the Level and we should go to the main reception but no-one would be there till 10 a,m. and we wanted to leave earlier. There is no concierge to give you information about the local area (ie what to see and how to get there). The receptionist we spoke to, couldn't tell us which exit to take off the motorway for Alicante, so we ended up by passing Alicante and looking for the port, which was her recommendation, only to end up back tracking! In the evenings, the restaurants in the Level are not always open, although there are other restaurants in the resort you can use. We made a booking for Indigo, only to be told at 7.30 pm. on the night, that the restaurant was shut. Why not have these restaurants open every day in high season? When we did eat in Indigo, we were told that we couldn't order cocktails with our food. We could only order from the wine list, which we didn't want. The bar is 500 meters away, yet you can't have a cocktail!! It also would be nice if you could order some food when sitting by the pool. You can ask for drinks and there is a restaurant for lunch, but nothing if you just want to stay on your lounger.Overall, we had a good experience and would return for a long weekend break for some r and r!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,
In one hand, thank you for your positive comments in reference to our Hotel Meliá Villaitana and for having chosen it to spend your holidays in La Costa Blanca. It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.
In other hand, apologize for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.
We will take good notice of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.
We hope you come back again. Kind regards,
Nuria García – Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Hotel is definitely not " family-friendly Benidorm hotel" as they claim, we do not consider our 12 year old daughter an Adult, but the Melia Villaitana Hotel does. As a consequence of her not being 11 our room rate has shot up by around 40%. The call back service on the website left me speaking with an adviser who also thought this was crazy! We will now be looking to return to the professionally run Villa Gadea Hotel in Altea. If the management read this, then please contact me with a reply as you have no email address on your website.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor’s user,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on this website.
Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.
Exactly, as you have mentioned, Meliá Hotels international considers a person of 12 years old, an adult according the kind of bed and the food&beverages services. Apologize for the inconveniences.
We hope you choose our complex for spending your stay with us. We are sure you and your family are going to enjoy and we will achieve your expectatios.
It will be a pleasure to contact you but we do not have any telephone or email; we remain at your disposal in our Reservation Department.
Best regards,
Inmaculada Lucas – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, and enjoyed every minute of my stay! Breakfast was lovely, ate in the barbecue restaurant for lunch one day and that was great too! Centre of Benidorm only a 10 minute drive from hotel. Rooms were very clean and the pools were fantastic! Only thing that could be improved was the reception- always a huge queue! Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jess,
Thank you very much for having spent your valuable time writing here so kind and positive comments and also for sharing them with other Tripadvisor’s users.
We are so pleased to read that you had a great stay at Meliá Villaitana and that you really appreciate the quality of our food and our service. In addition, we take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service.
We hope to see you on your next holidays again!
Nuria García – Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I hate to start a review about how much things cost but I, like you, no doubt have an expectation of service levels when paying €350 a night for a room. Stayed in room 701 with a nice semi private terrace which is good for sun until around 4. The Level part of the hotel is good for those who wish to escape the kids for a few days, and the 7-8pm drinks on the terrace is a nice touch. Unfortunately the general service levels from the staff really let this place down, especially reception. Had dinner in two of the restaurants which was average and below expectations but not expensive. Breakfast was good. On balance you're better off renting a villa or going to Asia Gardens, I certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mark,
First of all, thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor Website after your visit yesterday.
We are really sorry about your comments which will be monitored by the departments'managers you have mentioned in order to check the procedures and improve our services.
We trully hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations.
Best regards,
Nuria García-Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. Upon arrival we had an issue with an iron not being available- but this was soon resolved by Cesar the manager. Michel who checked us in was also brilliant. On our 4th night there there was a local music festival on which lasted until 9am in the morning, we understand from Nuria Garcia that the hotel had tried to stop this from ocuring but were unable to do anything... but Nuria very kindly offered us drinks and a snack in the wonderful Jazz Bar. The staff at the hotel are great and very helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful as is the surrounding area. We would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of all the staff of the Meliá Villaitana Hotel and myself, I would like to thank your for choosing us for your stay, as well as taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor Website.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you could find during your stay.
We look for ward for welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Montesinos, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 times now and totally love it! I personally think it's worth paying the extra to stay in the 5 star accomodation as I've stayed in both but the difference in the rooms and the view are worth the money. Not cheap, but as a treat a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in The Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Virginia,
In the first place we appreciate your positive comments in relation your recent experience at Meliá Villaitana. We also thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments, especially referring to our “The Level” room and views. Be sure that your comments will help us to keep improving our service and product.
I remain at your complete disposal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#16 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Melia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Villaitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.