We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further if you want the best s/c apartments in Benidorm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gemelos XXII Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gemelos XXII Apartments to your Saves list
Gemelos XXII Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Ametlla del mar | Playa Levante, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Look no further if you want the best s/c apartments in Benidorm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just stayed at the Gemelos 22 apartments for 11 nights and we were highly delighted with what we got! Having stayed at other apartments here over the last 5 years, always self catering, we have just found the best! Booked through Travel Republic, we read some disturbing reviews after we had booked and were concerned about it, but it was all complete rubbish! We stayed in tower 1 building ( total 3 towers),on the 21st floor with excellent views right down to the seafront. The apartment was a 1 bedroom with lounge, kitchen and bathroom with a seperate utility room for a washing machine! and had air conditioning in the bedroom and lounge. The kitchen was adequate for 2 of us with enough utensils & storage, together with a full size oven & hob, and full size fridge freezer 75/25 split. It was spotlessly clean upon arrival, with plenty of sheets/towels also spotless, and c leaners came in to clean for the second week.
The apartments are very secure with locked & gated access to the main entrance and block, and a security guard patrols throughout the night 7 days a week.
Several booking agents are used for these apartments, and you will need to collect the keys from one of these depending who it is, so do try and find out which one before you arrive, we had to collect from Benidorm Fincas, about 700 metres away on the sea front. The only reception on site is for New Scirocco agents, which only opens from 10.00am to 13.30pm daily, so if you havent booked with these, you are going to have to walk to get keys! The gardens and grounds are very large & well maintained with 3 good pools.
If you want the best, book with confidence!! you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in tower 1 or 2 these have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Booked with John and had no problems. Was meet at the airport and taken to the apartments and back for 100 euros and booked a safe for 10 euros for safety. Paid 50 pounds to book and gave John the payment when we arrived. 50 pound deposit was given back at end of stay if no breakages or loss of keys.
Beautiful sunny days in the pool, shopping or on the beach. Lovely apartment - all you need is there for you. Didn't take our laptop, so went to a small internet cafe a few minutes walk away. Shopping very cheap at a nearby supermarket (Like Aldi's/Asda' s prices!)
Pool lovely and well managed.
Very hot in mid August - one day it was 110 and no air conditioning, so very stuffy at night, but got in a few cold baths before bed and it wasnt to bad.
Went to Mundarmar and Terramitica and had a great day, saw shows with Dolphins and had our photo taken with Dolphins.
Bus stop a few minutes walk away which took us to both parks for 1 euro 30 which was great.
Only problem that ruined a beautiful holiday was on our last day, went to a small gift shop opposite Gemolos and was looking at some bags... the Spanish shop assistant grabbed my hand, pulled it off the bags and rudely went 'NO TOUCH!! NO!!' and put the bags back. Very rude! But all in all, great holiday and cheap too. Have booked my holiday with John again for December, 11!
Defiantly my favourite when going to Spain!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRIAGHY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned from Gemelos 22 in what was our 1st time visiting Benidorm. upon arrival we first had to go to a local appartment letting agent to pick up our keys (after paying £100 deposit). A safety deposit box also cost us 22 Euros (10Euro refundable deposit) which i found reasonable for peace of mind. We found we were allocated an apartment on the 15th floor of tower 3 which was spotless and upon inspection also had a washing machine which we found a fantastic help.
The views from the apartments were also fantastic which had a great view of Benidorm. With a local supermarket less that 100 yards from the apartments and restaurants within a mins walk, your every need is catered for.
The only negative points that we found was regarding the pool area. Although this area was always immaculate, the fact that we had to pay 2 Euro per sunbed each day was a bit over the top. Secondly, each of the 3 pools had an attendant who at times mirrored a Gestapo officer enforcing the following rules, 1. No inflatables 2. No tee shirts allowed to be worn in the pool, even during the hottest parts of the day, and even if the kids had sun burn!!! Most places get you to cover up!! 3. No drinks allowed at the pool 4. No splashing or jumping into the pool. And breaches of these rules was met with a loud referees whistle and a yell across the pool. During one point a Dutch resident took exception to this and was promptly given a fingered gesture from the attendance. All in all this made it very difficult to stop my teenage son (and his mate) becoming extremely bored at the poolside.
This aside we did have an enjoyable time during our first visit to Benidorm and found the Gemelos 22 appropriate to our needs.

Room Tip: High apartments give you a great view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was to be our 4th visit to Benidorm, twice before as a couple, and once before as a family. I had gone over the reviews of different apartments/hotels on TA, and had chosen this one, as most of the people reviewing had good things to say about it, and the pictures looked lovely.

We were well prepared to pick our key up from Fincas down near the beach, and there was no problem with that, it was there and ready for us. Unfortunately the key to the main gate was warped and wouldn't fit, so we waited until another holiday maker went in, and were able to access it. The key was changed later, back at Fincas (they explained that sometimes copies didn't work too well)

I didn't realise that there are three tower blocks all within the complex. We were in tower 3, which is the furthest one away from the main gate (and pool!!), although you can access it immediately from another road, which is what we mainly did.

The apartment itself was very nice, very clean, and had fair sized rooms. The TV cost 1 euro per hour to watch, and at least there was more than one channel that was in English, one of which was a children's channel, which suited my daughter fine, lol

There were a few things that I found disappointing though. The washing machine we had, had no instructions, not even on the front of the machine, so I didn't dare wash anything, in case I ended up boiling all our clothes! The pool was a couple of minutes walk away, which in itself isn't too bad, but if I allowed my daughter to go down by herself, there was no way for her to let herself back into the tower, without giving her the key to the back door, and there was no intercom on that side of the building...and a couple of times she had to walk out of the complex, round to the front so that she could buzz us to let us know she was ready to come back up! We were 10 floors up, and although we had the window open to hear her calling, it wasn't ideal.

The sunbeds were 2 euros to hire for the day..and there was nowhere in our tower to hire them from, you had to walk all the way over to the other two towers, AND manage to catch the booth open in time to get them...although, in honesty, a lot of people must have gone out for the day, and left theirs unoccupied, so on the couple of occasions I couldn't get a ticket, there were some dotted about that could be used. Not sure what that would be like in peak season though.

The children's area wasn't anything to write home about either, it looked much nicer in the pics, it was closer to our tower than the pool was, but really just consisted of a swing.

I'm really not a picky person (honest!) The apartments themselves were fine, I was just expecting more from what I had seen. Perhaps if we had been put into one of the other towers, it would have been different, but for what we wanted, it wasn't our ideal accommodation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just got back from a 11 night stay this is our 2nd time staying at these apartments last year we booked with alpha rooms and had problems getting the keys .This year we booked direct with a man called called John Patterson it was a a lot better he met us from the airport and took us straight to gemelos and we went straight up to the apartment which was on the second floor which was great because we have children.Our fridge was not cold so i went to the reception told the lady and the next day we got a new one .The apartments are in a very good postion and near to bars,resturants and the beach,The only thing we would of liked more of was clean towels and the room cleaned which when we asked it was a mistake that we hadnt seen the maid . There are 3 pools with life guards and sun beds but they do charge for them 2 euro a day .There are plenty of places to eat ,China Garden over the road was our favourite place Yum and Chan who own it are very nice people they remember everyone and are really nice people always made you feel welcome and when you go in you are served very quick and its cheap .Also Yorkshire Pride is also nice but there was only one lady serving and it was very busy she was rushed off her feet.Greggs over the road was just like Greggs from home .In the old town is Sherrys which is also very nice .We saw some shows at night black eyed peas,blues brothers,deb n her,there is some good karaoke bars Triangle bar was a good night and Guiness bar on the front with Lee and Andy singing on guitars we have known them for 3 years and my son got up and sang with them.There is also a fair for small children .It was very busy and very hot we will book gemelos xx11 again and would recommend these apartments.Also would tell people to book with John Patterson you pay a deposit and then when you arrive you pay the balance and get your deposit back when leaving .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have used Gemelos 22 for the past 5 or 6 years. The apartments are spotless, in a great location, 5 mins from the beach and the where all the nightlife is but far enough away that you are not kept awake in the night by noise. The pool area is the best ive seen, great pool and grass!!

The last 2 times we have gone we have booked through John on the http://www.gemelos22.com/ which we have found to be the cheapest. We are going again next week and are looking forward to going to the Union Jack for some of our meals

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

we had a apprtment on the 21st floor very pleasant and clean.
Kitchen and bathroom well equipped. Nice sea view balcony.
Gardens and pool very pleasant if busy. Near enough to the night life and centre
The TV was on a metter so we ignored that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gemelos XXII Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemelos XXII Apartments

Address: Avenida Ametlla del mar | Playa Levante, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gemelos XXII Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gemelos XXII Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemelos Xxii Apartments Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gemelos XXII Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.