We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to watch the world go by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Amsteleria

La Amsteleria
Av. Madrid 22 Bajo 03503 | C/ Uruguay, Benidorm, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 556 Restaurants in Benidorm
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the world go by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really relaxed atmosphere and great service, right on the beach front with picture windows, really lovely and good prices

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good lunch and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restaurant was on the beach front, looked like a small café so wasn't expecting too much! The food was amazing, very impressed! The woman that served us as well was very good, excellent service would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

8 of us visited this restaurant in jan2013. We all ordered the meat sharing dish for 2. It was the worst meal we have ever had. The meat was tough and full of fat and it was virtually cold. There was no one else in the restaurant so there were not being rushed. I admit that it was not expensive but the burger bars had much better food and half the price.

Maybe it is different during the full season but I would avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for an ice cold beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went in La Amsteleria virtually every day of our holiday in Benidorm in 2011. It is situated near the end of Levante beach near the water skiing attraction, directly opposite some stripy beach huts. We would walk the length of the promenade up to the old town and get an ice cream from Helados Sirvent and then call in at La Amsteleria on the way back for a drink.

They serve what they call "big pints" of Amstel, which are about a litre for €1.99. The glasses are kept in the freezer, so you get a truly chilled drink and end up with a mini iceberg in your glass. They also have self-service pumps at some tables where you can pre-purchase a set amount and it's sent to the direct to the pump. The drinks come with a complimentary dish of salted peanuts (obviously in the hope that you'll drink more).

It's usually fairly quiet, so perfect for a relaxing drink. We didn't try any of the food, but what we saw served looked appetizing and reasonably priced!

We are returning to Benidorm in September 2012 and La Amsteleria will definitely be a daily port of call again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Amsteleria also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Amsteleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Amsteleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.