We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no worries hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Oasis to your Saves list
Flamingo Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Severo Ochoa 3, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #36 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
BILSTON UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A no worries hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Flamingo Oasis at Benidorm
An excellent hotel.
I do not know why some folks complain big time about the standards of this hotel?
All hotels have some flaws even this one.
This hotel is a 4 star rated hotel but what some people do not understand is that the facilities (like gyms, saunas, indoor pools and the like at hotels help build up stars
Its not just bed rooms.

Take it from me book this hotel.


This is mainly a Thomas Cook and Thomson customer hotel.

CHECK IN
Quick check in every thing is ready from temporary room card to paper work.
Then a some times a slower queue to get photo ID cards.

ROOMS
Our bed room was on the 9th floor (room 907) which was in my eyes big and clean the bath room is also big (with 2 sinks). Beds were comfortable even the extra bed for the 3rd person in the party.

The TV in the room (if you watch any during your holiday) has BBC 1, ITV 1, ITV 2, Sky sports 1, Sky sports 2, Setanta. BBC news, Sky news. Amongst other channels.

RESTURANT
Food is above par compared to most other hotels I have been in. with great roasts. Tip’s for the restaurant is give your self plenty time , do not go in with minuets to spare because they take the food off dead on time, you may have to queue to get in (peak periods) but it is fast moving. Also make sure some one from your party sits at the table always because it will be cleared and possibly some one else sitting there by the time you get back from serving your food.
The snack time food is sometimes left over food from main meal times and could have been sitting there for a few hours so keep an eye on what you are eating then.

LIFTS
There are 6 lifts and 25 (27 including ground and basement floors at peak periods the lifts can be a pain.

BARS
The standard drinks of San Miguel and the usual wines spirits etc with the addition of Strongbow on draught included with the all inclusive bar.
Peak periods had a queue but this was no different than waiting to be served at a busy bar back at home.

ENTERTAINMENT
DAY TIME
The usual kids clubs and adult activities pool, darts quiz etc.

ENTERTAINMENT
NIGHT
If you want good seats or even just a seat I recommend you get in the room early (opens 20:00) and make sure some one keeps in the other seat(s) while you go to the bar etc other wise it will disappear. The shows and acts are good the entertainments team work hard with musicals, free prize bingo and the famous kids discos. Later on some adult acts like hypnotist, comedian’s etc these come on around 23:00 but the entertainments team puts on a Disney movie for the kids while these are on stage.

OTHER INFO
Keep your ID card with you at all times and do not loose it (20 euros for a replacement)
Game of pool is 1 euro in the games room, 2 euros else where.
Want extra free internet time use computer number 6 get an extra 5 minutes on this pc (info correct during week
4/4/09 - 11/4/09.


All the staff was friendly
Every thing is done to the second so get what you want early.

I have been to bad hotels and put honest comments on these sites,

We travelled with Thomas Cook on this occasion the only fault’s I came across were
No Entertainment on out bound flight no apology or comment was made.
The coach back to the hotel was over filled with about 2 people without actual seats kids had to sit on laps.

FINAL TIP’S
Terra Mitica
If you really want to go book your tickets over here on line and get 2 days for the price of one, the price I paid came out cheaper than paying on the gate for only one day go to
http://www.attractiontix.co.uk/terra-mitica.asp
to buy over here for the best deals £29 for a two adult day ticket £22 child go Take your voucher to the customer service desk to get your 2 day tickets (same ticket for two days)... Use bus numbers 1 and 4 outside hotel next door to flamingo 1st bus 10.20am but get to the stop early bus came 10 mins early one day.

One final tip get you cigarettes from the Tabacos Shops in Benidorm they are much cheaper than in airport and watch the closing times of these shops because I missed out when they closed at 14:30 on Friday.

Good luck and enjoy your visit to The Flamingo Oasis.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    890
    442
    203
    102
See reviews for
1,181
938
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nufc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

went to this hotel after being told it was fantastic the food fantastic ,entertainment fantastic,rooms spacey and cosy,the only correct thing was the rooms we were very dissapointed in this hotel you expect decent service when you pay alot of money but i didnt think i got value for money,the swimming pool outside was lovely kids were in the pool but lifeguards station covered i think i may of seen one walking around the hotel,but never sitting at the proper station.resturant where do i start disgusting the food was ok dont get me wrong what i didnt like was the pudding side of things the chef had to cut you a piece of cake if you tried to do it yourself you nearly got your fingers cut off it was a joke,mind ther was always something you could eat dont get me wrong,but queing like school kids to get seated the waiters working really hard but at one time there was room for 60 people to sit down but tables werent cleared as not enough staff,..entertainment well sort of the club downstairs was ok if you had kids that had acts on till11pm,but acts not up to much,i went and seen tribute to the drifters and they were good,the entertainment in the piano bar was the same everynight,back in feb09there was entertainment singers and acts on in the piano bar thats all gone now,the bar wasnt even full it was mostly empty,and for bar staff 5 down to 1 is not on,it was ajoke.the roof top pool was great away from kids peace if you need if but adults only,but in may you have to pay extra to use the roof top pool as you have to book aclubclass bedroom at 14pppn,extra is it worth?lifts in the hotel they are a joke to there is not enough lifts to serve how many people the hotel caters for,iwas on the 3floor the room was at the back overlooking the hospital.,but it was lovely and peacefull and you get the sun about 5in the afternoon,rooms overlooking swimming pool are noisey so if you want peace ask for room at the back threr was to of us and we had 1double bed and 1single in our room very big rooms to sinks bath and shower cant knock the rooms,>yuo can get food and drink from 8am til midnight,so you wont starve and go thirsty,the kids are looked after well in kids clubs,so ther is something for them to do so they wont be bored.this hotel is abit way out 15mins walk to beach or 5mins in bus number 10 or 4,1.25euros not bad fares.this hotel isnot what it use to be things are going down hill very fast ,cutting back on staff,entertainment,and people wont go back if its going down hill,i forsure wont be going back i paid nearly 500quid for 1wk and ifeel as if i have be rippped off good time,i wont reccommend this hotel to anyone i know,so if anyone is going give it a try but dont say you werent warned.prices in the shops are disgusting you can buy cheaper in asda the shops are pricing themselves out no one will buy anything its to dear,cigs are 22euros,baccy 20euros and now thats the only thing cheap in spain now.thanks for reading and happy holidaysxx

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

If you are looking for a vacation that captures the essence of Spain, stay away from this hotel and away from Benidorm in general.

The Flamingo Oasis is a nice hotel that tries to be a 4 star, but cuts corners and is 3 star at best. I will start with the compliments- the hotel and rooms are exceptionally clean and the maid service is commendable.

On the downside, the food is mediocre. Every breakfast is exactly identical and every lunch and dinner tastes the same, even though the names of the dishes change slightly. They must use the same gravy base for all their meat because no matter what is floating around in it, it tastes the same. It's too bad when you pay for an all-inclusive and end up wanting to go to a restaurant across the street to get a little variety. Also, if you want water with your breakfast, you have to go fill up your glass in the loo. They do not have a water tap available in the restaurant and keep the bottled water literally locked up until lunch time. They do have orange/tomato juice, full fat milk (warm) & coffee/tea though for breakfast so some people may not mind the lack of water. And if you wait until 9:00 AM you can go upstairs to ask for a bottle of water at the bar. But if you arrive at the upstairs bar at 8:50 AM, the staff will tell you that they are not allowed to hand out water until 9:00--per the hotel management's orders. At breakfast, during the main rush, the fresh fruit area was often "being mopped" and there were barriers up that seemed to dissuade people from visiting that section of the buffet. It officially was open, but didn't appear to welcome you.

We went to Benidorm to spend a mid-term break in a warm weather environment. We were hoping to spend some time swimming which didn't happen due to mediocre weather which obviously doesn't have anything to do with the hotel. However, we were disappointed that during our entire one week visit, the only hot tub was drained and barricaded off. Don't know why- we never saw any work being done around it. There is an indoor pool, but it is marginally comfortable (according to the sign on the wall, Spanish rules do not allow an indoor pool to be above something like 26 degrees Celsius). The swimming room was an otherwise dark and unattractive room (basement) and was not enjoyable to spend time in. The beach is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

There are other potential recreation options in the hotel, but they are quite run down. There are mini golf holes on the roof of the lobby that look like they have been exposed to the sun and rain for too many years. The game room downstairs is also very drab and has an odor. My kids wanted to play pool (at 1 Euro per game), but the smell was enough to keep me away. Plus the tables were old and run-down with bumpers that were coming off the frame of the table and didn't work at all.

In short, if you want to enjoy a vacation that has even a touch of Spanish culture, do not go to Benidorm and do not go to the Flamingo Oasis. We were warned about this prior to our vacation, but did not appreciate how very true it was. If we could take this vacation again, we'd look for a hotel in Denia or Altea, which are just down the road by bus or train and actually have some local character.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We read all the reviews and thought this place sounds fantastic and was slightly disapointed. First time to benidorm with young daughter and must say we have never stayed in a hotel quite so big, but I guess thats benidorm. We have stayed in Thomson 4* hotels before, but was disapointed with this hotel, defintely best placed it at a 3*.

Rooms - These were clean, which is the most important thing, but tatty (definetly need updating) furniture falling to bits and when we went back late afternoon, it was very noisy due to work men, so forget the siesta!

Food average - (Typical school canteen best describes it) Lots of goulash!! Credit to the Roast Beef tho.

Noise in hotel was horrendous some nights, some people (and I know they were on hol) had no respect at 3 and 4 oclock in the morning, ie couples totally intoxicated and screaming at one another.

Secondly, the older generation say that us younger ones have no manners and common curteousy, I have never come across such rude people, but we also spoke to some lovley people too.

We went to the beach (which was lovley) most days to keep our little girl entertained, therefore we ate lunch out, so take plenty of money as things not cheap now.

Had great weather, better than we imagined we would, which more than made up for any other concerns but would'nt go back in July or August for love or money!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentaylor71
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Flamingo oasis is a fab hotel we stayed there this last week and have nothing but the weather to moan about!!! Food on the whole was good service excellent!! Rooms big and spotless!! Lifts phew done our heads in somedays had to go up then down grrrr!!!
Now for entertainment wow all day for the kids all night for the family what a team!! If the act after 11pm was over 18 they would take the kids that were still awake to watch a film so mums and dads didnt miss the shows,they put on their own shows like dirty dancing and grease!!!
You will really enjoy your stay at the Flamingo Oasis oh yeh STRONGBOW ON DRAUGHT !! ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

The hotel was very good with an excellent buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A couple of negative comments are that the beds are extremely uncomfortable and the staff can be quite rude. Also, I can imagine that in the summer months the queues for the all inclusive drinks at the bar can be quite long. They were long even in March.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract West Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

this hotel used to be very good, we have stayed 3 times before but it has gone down hill., this was a talking point among regular guests, hammering and drilling from 8am, food not as good, less choice. The reception staff were very unhelpful and obstructive. There is a tennis court but they go out of their way to stop you using it they have a rule you must book 24 hours in advance and even if it isnt being used they wont let you use it as they say they must stick to rules, I spoke to hotel manager who said they would try to be more flexible but that made the staff very cool with me and suddenly didnt understand much English. Indoor pool freeezing and conflikting signs about rules. A room was broken into they opened the safe and took contents and a man got into another room while someone was in but security got him but very scary we were told that reception didnt seem to care much or be helpful over these incidents. We wont be staying here again as it is no longer worth 4 star it is just a 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Oasis

Address: Avda Severo Ochoa 3, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#22 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun, beach and sea are waiting for you in Benidorm. Fun and comfort.... at the Flamingo Oasis Hotel. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is located in the Mediterranean's leading tourist resort: Benidorm, which has all the services needed to meet the needs of the millions of tourists who visit the city all year round. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is in the new part of the city. It is a four-star all-inclusive hotel with 398 comfortable rooms and many facilities to make your holidays as fun and entertaining as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Oasis Benidorm
Flamingo Oasis Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Flamingo Hotel Oasis
Hotel Flamingo Oasis Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.