We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stevie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
fife
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stevie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

from 7/7/13 to 14/7/13 was our 6th time at this hotel absolutely love it would recommend it to anyone,,food tremendous staff very friendly ( all areas ) 5 mins from beach what more could you want UNTIL THE ENTERTAINMENT STARTS.
for a hotel like this described above to put on 1 star entertainment is beyond me
ie a Spanish couple singing 4 nights out of 7 in Spanish to an audience that was 95% English with songs like the rivers of Babylon was taking the proverbial wee wee , even some of the bar staff was agreeing with us
all I can say is for a 4 star hotel that's caters for adults only the entertainment is shocking its as if the owners of the hotel are only giving us this level of entertainment so everybody leaves the hotel at night so they can save on the drinks

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    542
    151
    40
    21
See reviews for
192
990
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

staff at this hotel are excellent the hotel is very clean and modern. Food is excellent as it the drinks included in the all inclusive. Upgrade is well worth the money as a friend had this and got named spirits dressing gown slippers and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Cannot fault this hotel except for sunbeds - says not allowed to reserve them but if you want one you have to queue at 8:30 and some people were reserving beds at different points of the pool to get the sun at different times of day which was very rude of them and unthoughtful.

only other thing is every room should have tea and coffee making facilities - those are the only two things and would still rate the hotel as 10 out of 10 - selection of drinks is excellent and you can order 2 per band which is very good never had to queue for long at the bar and they had a great selection of cocktails

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Sun loungers are supposedly never to be reserved but they are reserved everyday and unless you get up at 7.30am to beat the other guests who do exactly this but dont follow the rules and dont turn up until 3.30pm...unless you do this you won't get one. You'll have to make do with an uncomfortable chair in front of an outdoor bar that for half the week didn't open and when it did open they didn't have soft drinks for two days, and although advertised that it closes at 7pm this isn't the case on Fridays when they have a gala dinner, when they also close the inside ground floor bar so you have to go to the bar next to the restaurant in the basement.
Music was played loudly outside and was repetitive to the point where we heard the same songs every 45mins all day! It was enough to drive you out of the hotel!
Bars - you'll find you need to repeat your drinks order at least 3 times and they will still get it wrong as they don't listen properly, we gave up with this very quickly and just made do which is a shame when you're paying for an all inclusive hotel.
Snacks - If you're really happy with haribo sweats from a bowl, crisps and a toasted cheese sandwich you'll be very happy!
Restaurants - Food overall good, good choice, quality not bad at all. Shame there isn't an a la carte restaurant but not a problem. The service by the male waiters is great, very friendly, be weary of sitting in an area with female waitresses as they are DAMN rude! We nodded to one to say we were sitting at a table one day that wasn't laid with any cutlery, she didn't do anything about it and when we got back with some buffet food and it still wasn't laid we didn't know where else to get cutlery from so took it from the next table. We didn't think this a problem until she stormed up behind us and muttered under her breath, collected plates from our table and smashed them on top of one another! Very rude indeed! They seem to have an issue with the fact the restaurant is open until 10pm because after 9pm they don't continue to keep tables set up which wouldn't be an issue if the guy ticking you off as you entered seated you but he doesn't and very often all staff grumble and ask how many are in your party as you are being seated as they'd like to move you to a convenient table for them, this happened twice to us, we refused in the end as they wanted to move us with our drinks and food on the table as we had sat down. When you only have one restaurant it shouldn't be that difficult to keep tables set up for anyone who comes in or close the restaurant earlier! Very poor service, which is a shame because on the whole the food is very pleasant!
Reception - Staff here are very helpful, great service and willing to help in any way and speak great English! They didn't always have their priorities right and serve the person in front of them as they often answer calls or deal with people whilst serving you, which is a shame because little things like this would give a great service not just a good one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from our first visit to Benidorm
The Sandos Monacco is centrally placed 10 minute walk and you could ether be in the heart of the old town or the buzzing center of the new town and you are only 5 minutes to one of the nice's beach's i have seen . It is quite modern and we thought beautiful with excellent staff throughout ,from restaurant to cabaret lounge with Toni and Bernardo being the stars

The evening entertainment was in general poor in our opinion but others seemed to enjoy someone singing in pigeon English but we went out at night during our 11 night stay to sample the night life at various cabaret venues where the standard was very high.

The food,service and staff were of the highest standard we could not find any faults at the Sandos Monaco and would recommend this lovely hotel to everyone, for our first time to Benidorm this hotel exceeded our expectations. i must also add that jet 2 where also excellent

Room Tip: our room was an odd number and had an excellent view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Brilliant week weather was gorgeous.
Hotel was also awesome couple of minor gripes- the beer was awful . I only drink Lager and it was horrid . we paid for the upgrade so could have bottle beer and omg it was heineken the second worst beer in the world. that said this hotel is spotless the staff cant do enough ( apart from one lady in the spa)
Entertainment was my other moan - please change the music in the day its the same tape over and over again. the evening entertainment was poor .
Special mention for the barman MOON excellent customer service. lots of food and mostly to a good standard though meat was undercooked but huge variety.
Paid a lot of money for this holiday and though we enjoyed it dont think would stay there again at the price I paid but I would recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Firstly after reading some reviews on here I firmly believe people either walk round with there eyes closed or should be in six star hotel somewhere in Dubai. Someone said steep hill up to hotel is bad, sorry but its a gentle slope nothing more. Takes around 5 mins at most to walk to beach. Beach is lovely soft sand but sunbeds are 4euro each for day,, use beach towel from hotel lay on that then change it when you go back they don't mind. If you face sea turn left new part of Benidorm turn right that's to Old town .Loads of shops bars clubs all over.
Now to hotel ,reception very good and helpful.2 key cards given to us so you can leave one in key slot in room leaves air con on and fridge. Room was quite large bed was even comfy . Large bathroom good powerful shower. We did have a select room so few extras like kettle tea coffee ,mini bar , slippers bathrobe not that you need them .Large balcony. Room very clean sheets changed twice in one week. Towels whenever you need them. Also can get beach towels for 10euro which you get back.
Food was in my opinion excellent , lots of choice and cooked fresh. Big joints of meat carved in front of you. Loads of fresh fruit veg. Fish chicken pork lamb always being cooked fresh in front of you.
Pool is quite small and does not get sun till later on in day so is quite cold but still refreshing on a hot day. Plenty of sun beds but doors locked till around 08:45 so you cant get to them early ,.But usually managed to find a couple knocking about. We had select room so you get upgraded drinks ,top brands etc also bottles of water from fridge .You use your key card to get into select lounge, .not supposed to take drinks out but no one stopped you. Entertainment not much good but occasionally a good show . Plenty of entertainment around Benidorm non stop all through night and day if you want it. This is adults only hotel but obviously groups of lads and lasses do stay here and some act worse than kids. But no worse than anywhere else I suppose. We had to be out of room for 12:00 but let us keep room till 18:00 ,they charge 5euro per extra hour you want to keep room ,does make things easier than dragging all stuff down to spa and back again This is a good base to start from my wife and I were not disappointed and we have been to some really nice places. Overall great hotel, great food, great beach, great holiday. Thanks for reading another of my reviews where I am as honest as can be.

Room Tip: Higher up better. If you get a room ending in 12 or 13 best views we where in 1012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and a group of 4 other friends stayed here at the weekend and can honestly say this hotel made our holiday! We had a fantastic time, the hotel was modern and very clean, the staff we very helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, upon arrival the reception staff made us feel very welcome. The bar and restaurant staff were always happy and the food was lovely. Raquel (the entertainer) was particularly kind and helped ease my sunburn when she noticed i was in a bit of pain. Will definitely be back next year and would recommend this hotel for couples and small groups of friends as it is adult only.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Business Hotel in Benidorm
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#11 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#15 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: It is an innovative 4-star hotel for adults only located in a unique place of Benidorm and offers modern and quality facilities such as its spa. It is located between the Levante beach (450 mts) and the city center . ROOMS : It has 199 Standard rooms (Deluxe) type, equipped with two large single beds, flat screen satellite TV, air-conditioning and heating, bathroom with hairdryer , terrace with panoramic views and free wifi, mini - bar and safe (with charge). The Select all inclusive programme offers additional services such as special amenities, coffee and tea, free safe and bathrobe in room, 1 bottle of cava at arrival, 1 free entrance to the Spa circuit per person per stay, access to the Select Club Lounge (a private room with internet, television, daily newspapers, soft drinks, snacks and high quality beverages). FACILITIES: Outdoor adults pool and jacuzzi, elevator, bar- cafeteria, buffet restaurant and show cooking . Safety deposit boxes Wi-Fi, fitness center, Turkish bath, Finnish sauna and beauty center, spa facilities and wellness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.