We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Getaway for the girls!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos El Faro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos El Faro to your Saves list
Apartamentos El Faro
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Vigo, 6 y Avenida Santander 10, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Getaway for the girls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I vacationed at El Faro for a family get away with my mum and sister. I chose this hotel for it's close proximity to the beach and cheap price.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a young spanish woman who also spoke good English. She was pleasent and very helpful.

During our stay, we met 4 different staff members who were all quite friendly. There was only one member of staff that would be on reception and that person would also man the bar too. This never posed any problems for us as we were always attended to and it was never busy at the hotel, during our stay.

Our Apartment was clean with the basic needs such as a microwave, oven, pots and pans, plates and cutlery.

If you are like me and like to have a proper cup of tea, bring your own cups as the one's supplied were so small you'd be lucky to get three sips out of them. The kettle was an old styled heat on a hob one, so you'll be better off bringing your own travel kettle too.

The cleaners are friendly. They don't change your bed sheets whilst you're there, however, they do supply you with a set of clean sheets and towels anytime you want.

The tv in the rooms only show programmes in Spanish, but you could watch some programmes with teletext. There is also a widescreen tv on the ground floor in the dining area that has sky and there are some channels you can watch in English.

I understand fully what over people have said in their reviews about the lifts. The one on your right is especially rickety and made a horrible noise like it was gonna break down. We tried as much as possible to use the left one.

There is Wifi available at the hotel which is 1.50€ for 30 minutes, 2€ for 1 hr or 5€ for 24hrs. The only downside is that you can only connect to it on the ground floor.

As for the location, it was very convenient to get to local corner shops and eateries. Poniente beach is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and has many restaurants along the strip. Buses run every 15-20 minutes to central Benidorm where you will have access to more eateries and shops. A bus journey is about 10 minutes and costs just 1.50€ If you like walking, it's about 25 minutes to walk from the hotel to central Benidorm.

The Supermarket (Mercadona) is about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. You do however have to walk up a little steep hill. If your unfit, you may find yourself gasping when you get to the top but the groud levels out again so it's not too bad. The Supermarket offers a good range of fresh fruit and veg and all your necessities. I was expecially happy to find many allergen free foods, as I am gluten intolerant.

We dined at a lovely chinese restaurant not far from the supermarket called Shanghai Wok. They offer a buffet menu for under 10€ per person. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. They offered over 20 dishes in their buffet, with a range of cooked and raw food, so if you wanted to have a mix of surf and turf cooked up, the chef can cook them on an open grill and add your choice of seasoning.

Overall, we had a lovely time and wouldn't mind staying at El Faro again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the beach. Good views from floor 10 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    49
    26
    17
See reviews for
44
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FORFAR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Raterd as a 3 star aparthotel this accommodation is well below standard. Yes we chose a "Cheapy" holiday for all the obvious reasons, but this place is old and done. We were allocated a 16th floor apartment, which afforded amazing views of all of Benidorm and their pool below. That's where the plus points stop and the dreaded reality starts. The booking was for a double room, we landed with a twin bedded room. The furniture was chipped, dated and kitchen was short of cutlery/crockery. No lighting provision for the gas cooker, no plugs for wash basin, bath or sink and only one mirror situated in bathroom, nothing in the bedroom. What really brassed me off was having to ask at reception for a basic requirement of toilet roll, which was handed over there and then to be taken to room by ourselves. I'm no prude, but this kind of service is outrageous. When I asked about the cleaning arrangements, I was informed every 3 days, and received 1 visit in our 1wks holiday, only to find the clean bed linen left on the end of the bed, and no floors swept or washed. I liked Benidorm as a resort for the beach and promenade walks, the restaurants and surrounding hotels were excellent which kinda made up for the poor amenities of our hovel. Short and to the point, AVOID, El Farfo, I certainly wont book it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Basic but very clean. Everything you need in self catering accommodation. Really nice pool.
Bit of a walk from the old town approx 25 mins but plenty of bars and restaurants along the way to keep you going. Will deffo stay there again n recommend to anyone looking for nice cheap accommodation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Tantallon, NS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

At the quieter end of Poniente Beach, we found this a perfect base for our self catering holiday with two young children. The hotel is quite basic but spotlessly clean.

If I stayed here again I would ask for a room with a closed balcony as ours was the one with the bars across and we were worried about the children climbing so had to keep the patio doors closed. We were on the 13th floor and the views across the beach and across to Benidorm Old Town were fantastic.
We booked through On the beach and requested a baby cot but upon arrival we were charged 5Euro a night rental.
It is 2 minutes walk to the beach, lots of restaurants close by (would recommend Nevada Beach) There is also a few mini markets plus the larger Mercadona supermarket 10 mins walk away. It is about 45 mins walk (with kids) to the livelier end of town but is easy walk along the promenade.
There are buses pass by the hotel and tram 20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went here for 18th birthday, only to find that we were miles away from the main nightlife in Benidorm, which I understand was our own fault, but nothing around hotel or resort to do few restaurants and a shop. Hotel itself looks scruffy from outside but rooms and ok for what you pay, don't be fooled by the pictures the hotel isn't right on the sea front!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here last year- in the quiet season- basic apartments- but hey what do you expect for the price- if you want 5 star- then pay for it! Friendly obliging staff- nice and clean.... and what a view!!!!! We're going back this year we liked it so much! We go to Benidorm to enjoy walking in the stunning mountains of the Costa Blanca (as long as you hire a car of course) - and this is a brilliant location for this- easy to park and drive out of the city without getting snarled up in traffic or one-way systems... also very handy for several excellent supermarkets- my husband loves to cook- and he loves the awesome Carrefore megastore quite nearby.... its only around a 35 minute walk to the Old Town- and what a stunning walk along that beautiful clean promenade- with gorgeous views of the beach and Sierra Helada Mountains at the end of Levante....unless of course you're unfit... or lazy- in which case I'd recommend staying closer to the main city... in fact if near at hand partying is your thing- do your research and go and stay in the noise of Levante- instead of staying at this functional but entirely pleasant hotel- then moaning about it!

Room Tip: Go for a high room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

First time to benidorm ever and well excited. Went with work colleagues so was a bit nervous of surroundings.
Location: from our appartment location to benidorm night life was approx mile or so. Very quiet which I was grateful for.
Apartment team: night shift was awesome did everything we wanted. Day shift not so fulfilling. Never welcomed our team and felt unnerved arriving.

On to some good points:
The food prices near appartments beachfront was reasonable, there was a restaurant which sold vanilla cream.
Overall I would go again on condition a warm welcome was promised. Enjoyed holiday and will be planning to go back to alicante.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Faro

Address: C/ Vigo, 6 y Avenida Santander 10, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartamentos El Faro 1*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Aparthotel Benidorm
El Faro Aparthotel Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos El Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.