We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, great location and service (apart from one member)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Servigroup Diplomatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Servigroup Diplomatic to your Saves list
Servigroup Diplomatic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gerona 9 - 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, great location and service (apart from one member)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the diplomatic for 10 days and can not fault this hotel. From start to finish the service was great (apart from one member of staff which I shall explain later). We had full board basis and I do recommend a room on the higher floors as they seem to be quieter (near by bottle banks start early in the morning). We could not see any sea view rooms, but the general view was good. The outdoor pools are great and we could always find a bed. The internal facilities are a bit soulless and are not the best I've visited. I do recommend the free tickets to the benidorm palace show as this was the best free show I have seen. a good night out.

The food is generally the same but done in different ways. The salad counter serves up the same salads most days and you get a different meat and cuisine on each day. My only complaint is that having corner buffet counters always causes blockages with some people pushing in and being rude, but in my opinion if you can't beat them join them. The staff are great and friendly in the serving halls although some should be more vigilant with of the disgusting behaviour of some guests trying food and leaving on the serving plate. Oh and the coffee is pretty awful, but but there is a illy coffee shop near by.

Two main points with this hotel, one is that we were never told that a service charge applies if you charge everything to your room which was not great as it was 10%. Secondly on our last night we invited family to join us for dinner as we were quiet impressed with the food. Having never visited the upstairs live entertainment we decided to have a few drinks near the pool are where there is entertainment on a nightly basis. One member of staff called 'beratola' which may mean something in Spanish, but he was the elderly/oldest serving guy with glasses, went out of his way to be rude to us. He started by literally throwing the drink place mats at us and after we ordered our drinks he served the drinks with such sternness we were all shocked. He then had the cheek to wait for a tip on each order. Then as the entertainment proceeded he cleared all the other tables with empty glasses and ensured they're ash trays were cleared apart from ours. I had to clear our own table and take the ash tray myself to the so called bar/hut twice. This is the worst service I have ever encountered and having told servigroup of our treatment in my review to them I do feel compelled to warn people of this guy as he clearly hates the English or has an issue which should be addressed.

However, all in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: try 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of your personal disappointment regarding a member of the hotel staff.
We have passed your comment to the management in order to detect any possible error and take measures in the future.

We hope you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay with us and that you will consider choosing
Hotel Servigroup Diplomatic again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    137
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
75
119
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in diplomatic hotel benidorm this hotel is in a location for beach and bars.food is very good pools are fine for young and old lots of sun beds available all day lots to do for kids prices vgood lots to pick from

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Servigroup Diplomatic, lovely friendly hotel. Staff were brilliant. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Food was plentiful with lots of variety.
Fantastic hotel, will definitely return.

Room Tip: Obviously a pool view is preferable but in all honesty it didn't really matter to us. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Basic but good, rooms are a little dated but clean, try not to get a room on the first floor as your patio door has bars outside it and it feels like your in prison

In contrast to the rooms being dated the bar and the dining hall are great, very modern bar with excellent drink choices with very good bar staff, check out the special gins

Nice clean pool and plenty of sun beds

Great location for everything you could want to do

Great priced hotel, does what it says on the tin

Room Tip: Dint get first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. It is near the beach and between the old and new parts of Benidorm. The food is superb and the rooms are comfortable and clean. There were 17 in our group, all ages and everybody agreed it was a great choice of hotel. It has something for everybody from clubbers to those wanting a quieter time. Flights are booked and we will be back next year, can't wait.

Room Tip: We had rooms all over the hotel and all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for my hen weekend with 15 friends. They managed the large group well. All of our rooms were on the same floor near to each other.

The hotel is close enough to the beach & the strip with out being on top of it so is quiet & not too over crowded.

Great staff

Well stocked bars & average prices.

Good choice in the buffet restaurant.

Really worth a visit for any age.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having worked in Benidorm in the 70’s and often visit the town, this is the first time I have stayed in the Hotel Diplomatic, I must say it has come a long way since the 70’s when I remember it as the Hotel Don Juan. The reception and seating areas looked impressive and my single room was superb with a double bed and large balcony. The room amenities were good with fast free Wi-Fi, room safe, fridge and several English TV channels available. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, the reception staff contacted and introduced me to the manager who enjoyed looking at some photos of the Istanbul Disco, he then allowed me to take a group of ex 70’s workers on a tour of the old Istanbul Disco area which is now used as a hotel function room at the rear of the main dining area. Next time I visit Benidorm I’m pretty sure I’ll be staying at the Diplomatic.

Room Tip: Single travellers, try and get a double bed single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Servigroup Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Diplomatic

Address: Calle Gerona 9 - 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Servigroup Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a flat area just a few metres walk from the popular Plaza Triangular of Benidorm and 220 m. from Levante Beach.Facilities and services:Last improvements made in 2009.Very popular hotel, and well known in Benidorm.Large sun terrace with four swimming pools two for adults and two for children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar service to swimming pool. Children’s playground.Spacious and elegant bar-lounge overlooking a tropical interior garden with waterfall plus two more areas for celebrating conferences, banquets and social events “Azul” Room and “La Gruta” Terrace. The hotel offers a varied entertainment programme in high season, and also live music at night.Wellness Centre (supplement), attractively decorated among waterfalls and rocks, equipped with gymnasium, heated swimming pool, steam baths, sauna, jacuzzi and body and beauty treatments.Servigroup boutique with souvenirs, gifts and accessories.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet connection at reception (supplement).Dogs permitted up to a maximum of 5 kg (check with the hotel for restrictions and supplements).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 110.Rooms:252 spacious and comfortable rooms with: air conditioning by fan coil system and heating, full bathroom, hairdryer, balcony, flat screen TV, direct dial telephone, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system. The hotel has 10 comfortable double superior rooms.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Celiac menu and children’s menus available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Servigroup, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Servigroup Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Diplomatic Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Diplomatic Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servigroup Diplomatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.