We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisa Geddes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Servigroup Castilla

Save Saved
You added Servigroup Castilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Servigroup Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jaen 3, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 192 hotels in Benidorm
Rojales, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Leisa Geddes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The best thing about this hotel has got to be the staff. The reception could not do enough to help. The restaurant is pretty good for the buffet food with a pretty good selection with pleasant waiters. Location is good. Close to the beach and bars which is a very good thing as the entertainment was pretty much no existent and the bar shut down at 12.

Room Tip: not a family hotel , pool is not that great and no kids club. Really nice staff and good location fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    152
    47
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
250
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

the castilla is a lovely hotel with nice rooms and very clean pool area, food was excellent and always a great choice, good location for old an new town, staff were very friendly, have been to benidorm 4 times now and would definately stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We popped down to Benidorm for a couple of nights with our two children (1yr boy and 4yr girl). Hotel was clean and modern but on arrival in the room, the decor was rather dated and the cabinet housing the fridge and safe was already broken. The television remote was also broken in that the batteries dropped out but still worked. That being said, the staff were lovely and the food (we were on a full board offer) was very good. They did try to convince us to pay parking (we did for first night, €10) when it turned out there is free road parking all around that district. The hotel was primarily for British tourists (given its location in Bendorm). The town has a Spanish side and a British side depending on your preferences. If you want chip butties and cheap beer, the are around the hotel is for you. If you prefer tapas and raciones then a 15 minute walk will take you to the Spanish side of town. Generally would recommend it but only once you understand what you are getting.

Room Tip: Lower levels better as only two lifts to cater for all floors and in big demand at meal time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rooms are always clean and tidy Breakfasts superb. Just the right distance from the night spots but quite in an evening. UK TV channels staff always helpful. No single rooms but no supplement great for the single traveller. Book via there web site for great discounts and free transfers.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor if possible for less evening noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Castilla for 4 nights in June. The most noticable thing is how spotlessley clean it is, Plenty of storage space in rooms, Good sized balconies but the view did leave a little to be desired from 507 as there is long term building work going on over the road. Staff were very helpfull. Food was good (excellent selection of fresh fruits at breakfast AND dinner) Drinks a little pricey in the hotel bar but loads of other bars very close by including the 'cheap & cheerfull' on the same block where you could get a good pint for just a euro and a bottle of chilled cava was only €4 !
5 minutes walk down the yellow brick road to levante beach, but about 20 mins walk to the old town. Also very handy for the sunday market.
There were plenty of sunbeds but this didnt stop some prats regulally draping towells over them then disapearing for half a day - the hotel should maybe address this or the said people should get a life
All in all a good hotel and would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

just come back after a two week stay my wife and myself aged 65/70.this must be one of the best hotels in benidorm.from booking in to booking out.food top class hotel very clean,staff very helpfull with a smile on their faces.if booked on line free transfer and wifi. hope to return in sept. time spent at hotel 12/6/13 to 26/6/13 would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: ask for a high floor over looking pool you get late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Servigroup Castilla in Benidorm for 11 days from 9 June. We both agreed, although this hotel is shown as a 4*, it is really a 3*. It could, however, with a few minor but important changes be an excellent 4*.

Our hotel room was spacious but needed some refurbishment. There was a cracked socket on the wall in the bathroom and a cracked floor tile near the bed, which could have been dangerous. There were also dark patches on the wall from where the air conditioning unit was placed.

The dress code at dinner was appalling, a man in shorts with a t-shirt displaying men at urinals, women in shorts which could only be described as disgusting. To give you an idea, we would not have wanted to sit in the seat after they had vacated it.

The restaurant food was never hot but warm. Also, as a vegetarian it was a nightmare. Food which was marked “vegetable mix” had meat in it. Apparently, fish is not meat – so, in the case of “vegetable, animal and mineral”, where should it be placed? At dinner in the restaurant, we had barely sat down when we were pounced on by staff “what do you want to drink”. Even if one of us was still eating, if the other had cleared their plate it was whisked away. At breakfast it was not wise for both of us to leave the table at the same time to approach the food because our napkins, cup and saucers would be removed as if we had vacated the table.

The rules for the swimming pool were “no ball games”. We were in the pool while ball games were taking place.

One rule that was obeyed was that sun beds at the pool could not be reserved until 09:00 am. There was a stampede at this time by the same individuals to reserve ‘their’ seat in the position of “their” choice.

The staff clearly worked hard but there were very few of them. In the bar/lounge area, there was only the bar manager. This meant he alone was serving drinks/food in the lounge and pool area and clearing tables. Consequently, we had to go to the bar to order.

We spoke to a number of people who had been holidaying at the Castilla for some years. They all said the standard had dropped substantially. This hotel has the potential to be a good 4* hotel in line with the Riviera Beachotel where we stayed in October last year but it has to address these minor but important issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Castilla, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments as knowing your opinion is the best tool to improve our service.
We apologize if your stay was not as satisfactory as you expected. If you had informed to the reception staff about the cracked wall sockets, they would have immediately, fixed it or offered you a room change. We would like to inform you that at present we are fixing tiles and painting all rooms.
We do agree about the dress code but it’s difficult to tell people how to dress on holiday. In any case, we have taken note of your comment to be stricter in the future.
Regarding the food, it is kept at a safe temperature but we do have microwaves if people wish it to be hotter. Some of our vegetable dishes do have fish and meat in but they are NOT marked as vegetarian. If the restaurant staff is made aware that you are vegetarian, the chef would have been more than happy to make any special menus for you.
Please accept our apologies if you felt the waiters removed your plates before you had finished. The girls in the restaurant do clean up very quickly as they don’t think it’s nice for guests should have dirty plates while eating.
In reference to the pool area, we do have signage around the pool about ball games and not reserving sunbeds, but it is sometimes difficult to control certain guests´ behaviour.
We have taken note of your comment regarding the bar service, but in many occasions guests don’t like the bar staff walking around the pool area as they feel pressured into buying drinks.
We are very sorry if you felt that we did not meet with your expectations and be sure we will take in account your comments to improve in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Servigroup Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Castilla

Address: Calle Jaen 3, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Best Value Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#15 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Servigroup Castilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located 500m. from Levante Beach, in a quiet area in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Large sun terrace with swimming pools for adults and children, sunbeds and garden area and children’s playground. Restaurant, bar-lounge and meeting roomFree gym and sauna with supplement. Entertainment programme in high season.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet connection at reception (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 77.Rooms:132 fully equipped rooms: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, full bathroom, hairdryer, balcony, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Servigroup, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Servigroup Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Castilla Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Castilla Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servigroup Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.