We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gerona, 39-41, 03501 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“we loved it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

we have just had another fantastic week at the ambassador we were in ambassador 1 it was our silver wedding anniversary while there had a great time.all the staff were brilliant.junio the bingo caller is very good.also toni miller is fantastic enjoyed the entertainment.the resteraunt staff are all brilliant we cannot find anything wrong at all.the room was nice, clean,comfortable.the walk to the seafront is not too far & flat i am disabled sothis helps.it is near shops & bars.it is that good we have just booked for feb20012.its the best

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    525
    260
    77
    43
See reviews for
392
562
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We booked this hotel for it's perfect location and were prepared for the noise at nights that you usually recieve from central hotels, but I have to say we had hardly any noise what so ever. It didn't matter if you went to bed at 11pm or 4am it was possible to get a good nights sleep.
The food was great, very aimed at the british palate. Not exactly what I look for when going abroad, but a lot of people do. There was plenty of choice and the dining room was never like a cattle market, which you do seem to get in larger hotels.
The rooms were the usual twin beds, en-suite bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space, TV (with some Sky channels, remote for TV has to be picked up from reception leaving a 20 euro deposit) and Wifi, which was a complete bonus for us!
The entertainment at the hotel was fantastic, we infact spent most nights in there as all the acts that were on were also playing in the local caberet bars.
The staff were all helpful and very friendly.
The only problem we had was the pool areas during the day, there were enough sunbeds and room for everyone who wanted to use the area at any one time, but due to the selfishness of some people who would go down first thing in the morning for to put towels on beds, when they weren't going to use them til the afternoon anyway was awful.
There were signs to say that beds could not be reserved but there was no one to police the rule. The only other thing was inflatables in the pool, this was also a no-no going by the signs but with no one around on a couple of occasions we even seen children in the pool with a 4 person dinghy!!!
But all in all we had a fantastic time and have booked to go again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I spent 10 nights at this hotel for the 1st time from 8th-18th June 2011 with my partner and we are aged 32 and 27. There are two parts to this hotel - Playa I and Playa II and we were allocated our room at Playa II on the 3rd Floor Room 1309. We were very pleased with our room as it was on a low floor as requested and was at the side therefore it was quiet at night and we found it easy to get to sleep when we were not out partying.

The room had twin beds which are rock hard but this was not a problem to us. You can request blankets from reception and you could use these to put under the sheet to make the bed softer to lie on. There was a large dressing table with a large mirror so ladies you will be happy with this!! I suggest if you intend to use a laptop, hairdryer, straighteners etc that you bring a 4 way travel adaptor with you. You can buy this
in the supermarkets very cheap and i find this to be very useful when abroad. There is a large wardrobe with some hangers although i brought a few of my own which we also needed. There is also 3 large drawers and a top shelf so there is ample space for storage. We were able to also put one of our suitcases in the wardrobe. The balcony was an ample size for two people and it had a line for drying your towels, swimwear etc. We received clean towels every day and our bin was emptied but this was all the cleaner did the whole time we were there. The floor got quite dirty after being at the beach etc...We always had hot water to shower and the bathroom is quite spacious and has a large sink and mirror.

The air con was fantastic. We asked for another key card at reception and were able to leave the air con on all day and when u returned it was like walking into a fridge.

You have to hire the T.V remote control but you get the money back at the end of your stay which is 20 euro. You get about 3 english channels so you can watch the soaps if you wish!!! You can hire a fridge which is a travel type fridge with no ice box which is around 24 euro for 10 days. The safe is a good size and you get 10 euro back and the cost is around 20 something euro.

You can use the WIFI internet facilities for free anywhere in hotel just ask for the password from reception.

The reception staff (all male) which we had were not friendly at all and were very blunt when answering questions. They would need to learn how to smile and greet people in a friendly manner.

We stayed full board as we got a very good deal which we could not refuse. The menu repeats itself every week. There are alot of british choices so we never had a problem finding something to eat. Sausages for breakfast are same as home as are beans, fried egg etc and we enjoyed this. The desserts are quite amazing, various choices and unlimited icecream. Overall the food was above average but it can get a little repetitive so we ate out twice in the evening and a few times at lunchtime. The restaurant manager Pascale is very welcoming and friendly (if only all the staff were like him!!)

The pool area is a fair size which opens at 8.30am and like others have said there is a stampede when they open the doors. If you want a sun lounger by the pool you need to get there by 9.00am. We went to the beach most days as it is alot cooler and enjoyed lying at the water edge with a nice breeze.

You must visit the Spa which is situated downstairs in the Playa I. If you bring your room card with you to show which room you are stayin in, you get a discount therefore costing you 6 euro each. It has a warm water pool, sauna, steam room, ice bath and jacuzzi. It opens from around 10am and stays open to 10pm. We went late in the evening at around 8pm and found it a very peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable experience. You come away feeling very chilled out and you will have no problem sleeping that night!!

The location of this hotel could not be any better. It is situated on the same street as alot of the bars. Morgans Tavern which is shown on the Benidorm programme is across the road and well worth a visit. I also recommend that you visit Jokers to see Albi Senior the british bulldog of comedy, Stardust to see Tony Scott who is also a comedian and Dangerous Brian in Valentines. These are all on the same street as hotel. The tribute band acts are also all fantastic, Black Eyed Peas, Pink, Rhianna, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner.....and last of all you cannot visit Benidorm and not see Sticky Vicky illusion show and her daughter Demaria who does a gymnastic balancing act. You will not be disappointed.

You get discount in a few bars - Morgan Tavern, Western Saloon (barman Mark from Scotland makes a great cocktail) and UK Comedy Club to name a few, if you produce your room card when paying.

The beach is literally 5 mins walk, less if you walk fast!! It has lovely sand and a gorgeous promenade with lots of restaurants and shops. You can walk right to the old town which is worth a visit with lots of lovely shops and cobbled streets. You can get the bus which is only 1 euro 30 each way.

Mundomar is also worth a visit where you will see a dolphin, sealion and parrot show. I recommend that you do not book though a rep. Next door to Playa II there is a shop which sell excursions. You can book to Mundomar for 12 euro 50 each on a Monday or Thursday and then get the bus for 1 euro 30 which is alot cheaper than going with your rep!!

If you want to keep your room on for the last stay of your stay you must check the day before and the cost is 36 euro and you can stay until 6pm. We were not able to do this as the hotel was fully booked. If you need to use a shower on your last day after you have vacated your room then ask at reception and you will be told which room to go to. We had to use a room in Playa I but be warned there may be a queue so go early and give yourself plenty of time.

Overall you will not be disappointed with this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to you. I absolutely love Benidorm, its a home from home only with sun and non-stop entertainment. Go ahead and book your holiday and enjoy :-))

Room Tip: Pool View Rooms are noisy at night until very late
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the Ambassador Playa Hotel in September 2010 and loved everthing about it, we found the food was great and plenty of choice, loved the loved the location , was noisy but we were in the middle of everything. The entertainment was the best i have been on a holiday at this hotel as we have had some poor or no entertainment at certain hotels we have stayed in , the staff were very friendly and helpfull we would definitely be back as we loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

great great great hotel, we give it thumbs up, one of the best hotels we have stayed in food brilliant ,rooms and hotel spotless, staff so friendly ,entertainment great at night. we went with two friends and had a really great holiday ,we all look forward to going back again

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

this hotel has a few problems with space,pool area is far to small for the size of the hotel,so to is the dining area,walked round 4 times one morning trying to find a table to sit at.
as others have said the food is mainly chicken,pork and fish,or you can have pizza and chips,my wife and i found it hard to find something we both liked so mainly ate out at night,(breakfast was fine,plenty of choice).staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful,rooms cleaned every day.so all in all probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Brilliant hotel apart from the race at 8.30 for beds . So funny old people hardly able to walk can RUN for a bed lol . Fod fantastic, staff friendlynothing too much bother No telephone in the room though I like to have contact with family and payphones a nightmare. Was no air conditioning but remote at reception if you need it . No shallow end in adult pool .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II

Address: C/ Gerona, 39-41, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#24 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Playa i And Ii
Ambassador Hotel Benidorm
Ambassador Benidorm Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.