We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Regente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Regente to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monaco, 5, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 12 days in january 2012 although we did not book this hotel we found it to be very pleasant ,clean,good food,,and staff went out of there way to help you could not fault anything (apart from the weather )we had a bad start to our 2 weeks holiday in another hotel but moved hotels after 2 days and found the Regente perfect

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Supernan45,

My name is Paula, I am Hotel Regente's Guest Relations.
Thank you very much for rating us so highly and for your kind words.

We are glad to know you had such a good time at the Regente and that you found it to be 'perfect', that is great! Thank you.

If you are coming back to Benidorm, please, let us know if you will once again be staying with us to benidorm@medplaya.com and we will give you the Amigo Card and will try to make your new holiday a very enjoyable one.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    378
    194
    83
    52
See reviews for
397
319
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Arrived at hotel about 11.30am to a verty warm welcome at reception. Booked in and arranged for safe key without any delay and were in our very clean comfortable room and able to unpack before lunch. Bedrooms have a large wardrobe with sliding mirror doors and good hanging space and shelves. Several wooden hangers. Bathroom immaculate-no hairdryer so take your own. Clean towels every day and bedding changed in middle of the week.
Sanitizers either side of entrance to dining room which everyone used. Met by restaurant Manager as though we were old friends but last year was our first holiday here. Restaurant staff so frienfly-I do not know whether they remembered us but we remembered them so started chating immediately. Met several people we met last year making this a very friendly hotel.

Meals self service with chefs constantly checking and cleaning surfaces around serving area. We always found something to our taste .

Entertainment every night. We didn't stay in many nights but the evenings we were in we enjoyed..Spanish holidaymakers did arrive one lunchtime but we were going out that evening and when we returned they were only too delighted when other residents joined in with the dancing. We didn;t see a lot of them as they seemed to be on excursions during the day.and all seemed to be on the same floor so no disturbance.

Hope to be back next year. Thanks to all the staff for an enjoyable week away .

Room Tip: Walls are thin which we discovered last year but were fortunate this year as hotel had vacant rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear malannSwansea,

Thanks to you for coming back to the Regente! We love to see people returning year after year and, even though this was only your second visit, to us, you are already part of the family. Therefore, I hope you now have the Amigo Card.

Thank you for making the effort to give a detailed review of your recent stay at the Regente. I am sure it is most helpful to others apart from us!
Whenever you are coming back, please, feel free to contact us to benidorm@medplaya.com We will be happy to assist you.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we have just returned from a week at the regente.we had a room on the 4th floor which was very clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water at all times in a good size bathroom with clean towels every day if you wanted them.the restaurant and bar areas were fine and the food was good if not a little repetitive but when you are on all inclusive it would be almost impossibel to have different food each day for a week!the bar had the usual local beer and spirits included and the best coffee!the entertainment was most of the time good and varied with not a game of bingo in sight!!the illusionist on our last evening was brilliant! louis the compere tried his best but when the 200 plus elderly spanish guests arrived on the wednesday he had his work cut out big style!!we british guests felt as if we were invisible as the entertainment was then purely aimed at the spanish guests! we even had to endure nearly 30 minutes of talk( in spanish with translation of each sentence by louis) from their "guide"!! that 30 minutes was the only time the spanish people were quiet!!of course we realise we were in their country but their behaviour was greedy, selfish and totally ignorant!! we were even told on the saturday that they were having a party for the spanish guests as they were leaving the following day and when asked would we be having a party on the monday for us leaving the following day we were not given the same treatment.we would suggest if you decide on the regente you try and find out from the hotel if they are expecting a large group of elderly spanish guests in or you may get the same experience as we got. our first choice rep could not help us at all.the staff at the hotel were clearly embarrassed about our situation and did sympathise with us but their hands were tied!!the manager was conveniently on holiday!would we return, yes we would,
but not during the winter when the elderly spanish get their subsidised holidays!

Room Tip: high floor, but all rooms have very thin walls!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear bardel,

My name is Paula, I am Hotel Regente's Guest Relations.
I believe we spoke whilst you were here and I passed on all your comments to the Hotel Manager, who will take them into consideration in order to offer the best service possible to everyone.

I am afraid that, with such different profiles of Guests, it is quite complicated for us to please everyone, but I ensure you that every day we do our utmost to ensure that all our Guests, no matter what nationality they are, enjoy their holidays as much as possible.

We will keep on making a great effort to improve and will be looking forward to seeing you back around.
And, of course, we will have our coffee ready for you ;-)
Thank you for your help.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

as soon as iwalkded in i felt so at home very quick check in lovely room on 4th floor overlloking pool rooms basic yes but clean restuaraunt food very good polite helpfull staff yes there is chips but we also had new potatoes mash jacket potatoes entaritenment good yes spanish use this hotel buts its nice to mixture of guests ive been in 4 stars in benidorm and not as good as regenta iwould defintly be back 10 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear TIMELORDLeicester,

We are proud to know that you would rate us 10 out of 10 and would like to transmit our gratitude for it.
We would love to have you back, and would appreciate it if you would let us know when that will be to benidorm@medplaya.com
Greetings from staff at 'home from home'!
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in the Regente, but it was a relief when it was time to return home.
The plus side of this hotel is the staff, who are very friendly, the rooms are very basic but clean, and some of the entertainment is okay.
The negative side, chips, chips, & chips.During the first week of our holiday, 150 Spanish people came for their winter break,That's not a problem for us but all entertainment is more for them,
the following Thursday 200 plus Spanish people came but during the evening while we waited for the International Singer as advertised, they had a political meeting with 3 speakers. Why didn't they tell the British guests that was happening we could have gone else where.NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Beryl,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Adivor regarding your recent stay at the Regente.

We are sorry if the presence of Spanish people in the Hotel spoilt your holiday.
We are not used to receiving that many Spaniards, as we normally cater for British people, so we did our best to try to adapt ourselves and do our utmost to make everyone's holidays enjoyable, but sometimes one man's meat is another man's poison. You did not like that we had chips, but if you check the previous review, the author praised them.
We are learning something every day.

Anyhow, we take note of everything our Guests say so as to offer the best service possible.
And we are pleased to see that everyone coincides in stating that our staff is friendly, as all our employees work very hard.

Thank you very much for your help.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I can understand some of the reviews giving fulsome praise to this hotel,however some good points from my experience,these being a comfortable bed,adequate and plentiful hot water,so good showers,some staff,particularly Juan on reception,(others doing the same job could learn some lessons from him) ,but restaurant and most cleaning staff also qualify and finally chips are first class.

Food I could only give a fair mark,as though it was mostly hot,there was not too much choice and it was rather repetitive.(But the chips helped)The location was a little out of the way for anyone who was less mobile.Though I did not use the bar a great deal the prices seemed reasonable,and the entertainment,although only viewed briefly appeared to be adequate and varied,but too late in the evening for my own taste.

The greatest downside was the room insulation as only a plasterboard effect is used as a room divider,and the conversations from adjoining rooms was easily heard and understood,and if so inclined one could so easily have joined in,and if a snorer was next door then expect a restless night!

I did find however that many of the guests are repeat visitors, so they be inclined to consider my views a little out of context,but unlike Arnold I shall not return.

Room Tip: The only good rooms appear to be those on the corners furthest from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear cojoh,

Thank you for submitting your review to TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that your experience at the Regente was not up to your expectations. As you well pointed out, most Guests are repeat visitors to the Regente. We are sad to know that you might not be a new regular to us.

Anyway, we are glad to see that you did like our staff and the showers, and that you found the beds to be comfortable, the entertainment adequate and the bar prices reasonable.

We hope that at least you consider the Riudor or the Rio Park for forthcoming holidays to Benidorm.
Should you have any enquiries, please, feel free to contact me to benidorm@medplaya.com
Thank you.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at the Regente......
Its in a good location, on the road heading to the beach, 10 - 15 minute walk, about the same to where the main strip is. Quite a few small bars close by.
The hotel is very clean, we had maid service every day. The staff are all very helpful.
The food was plentiful, with loads of options, constantly being filled up, something for everybody.
The only complaint........ the beds are too hard and uncomfortable!
Anyone heading to Benidorm will find the Regente a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Paul N,

My name is Paula, I am Hotel Regente's Guest Relations.
Thank you for submitting this review to TripAdvisor and for presenting the Regente as a good choice for accommodation in Benidorm.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay, even though the beds were not your cup of tea.
You may email me to benidorm@medplaya.com if you have any enquiries or would like to get an Amigo Card.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Regente

Address: Monaco, 5, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Regente 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regente Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Regente
Regente Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Regente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.