We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de Murcia 16, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Blackpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights 10-15th July and had a great time.
First time in Benidorm for either of us and was really impressed with the Rio Park.

Cannot fault the restaurant, normally would book self catering but because we were only there for 5 days we thought by booking half board we wouldn't have to think about meals.
And we were right to think that!!
At both breakfast and dinner there was a great selection each day. The food is totally cooked with the British in mind, but other choices were always available. The only problems were so much choice couldn't decide what to have and although it was self service buffet style there was no rushing, a very relaxed atmosphere.

The rooms were totally adequate for 2 people and very clean.

Prices of drinks in the hotel bar I thought were very reasonable and the "Pop in Bar" great to go to have a drink before hitting the bars of Benidorm.
I had read reports of people saying be careful, watch your bags on the Yellow Brick Road (which leads to the hotel), however all I can say is just pay as much attention as you do at home, I saw nothing untowards anywhere in the town, although like anywhere sure it does go on.

To sum up, without doubt I would return to the Rio Park, surprised it is only a 2 star!!!

  • Liked — Restaurant and Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    489
    241
    84
    55
See reviews for
377
585
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in June this year.
Hotel is very clean with English receptionists.
Pool area and bar are great.
Rooms are basic but clean- all you need.
Maids once a day.
Late night bar.
Food is excellent.

The hotel very much caters for older and regular couples - there were a lot of 60+ couples there but I didnt have a problem with that.

We got up for breakfast then either stayed round the pool or went into the town or beach. It's right in the centre of all the action but a few streets away so you cant hear the noise. Great cheap bars right next door 1 euro a pint. Then we had evening meal, a drink at the bar while the evening entertainment was on, then went out on the town.

Just re-booked half board again in September

  • Liked — Value For Money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkella nr. Hull England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

After going to a 5star hotel in jeslo italy for years we decided not to pay the inflated price this year and try somewhere elseand much cheaper.
As we had never been to Benadorm we looked at trip advisers reviews and was suprised at how well people spoke about this hotel.As i have hip replacements and have difficulty climbing hills and stairs I asked for advice on the web. We received lots of advice about Benadorm and recomendations for Reo Park Hotel so we took a chance and booked with Portland Hollidays.
Never have we been so imprssed with an holliday travel firm like these. For the first time on holliday for us the planr took of on time and arrived spot on time. We where met by reps and shown to the bus to be run to the hotel very quickly .
What a suprise we got when we arrived everthing was so organised we where into a fabulours room overlooking the large swimming pool and sundeck. As we where a litle hungy we went downstairs to the bar and had a super feed at very cheap rate. I was very impressed how friendly all the customers were and how very pleasant all the staff at the hotel looked after you.
The bigest suprise was in the masif resterant ,the food was delightful and mostly English.As I love my food I could not fault any of it asa its the first time my wife and myself have been to an hotel buffet meal we where delighted at the amount of selection and choise available.No need to rush as there is lots of spare food and tables are kept spotlesly clean all the time.
We were advised that building work would be in progree but it was far away and didnt bother us in the least.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Having read some good reviews of this hotel we booked with Thompson, the people here return year after year and who could blame them the food was excellent and the staff were a credit to the hotel, the hotel is situated a short walk from the beach in a fairly quiet location,the walk to the beach is along a patheway called the yellow brick road and there are many pleasant bars along this path, having stayed in a few hotels in Spain I would say the entertainment of an evening was not the best, though thats probaly not fair as each night our walk to the sea front and late return to the hotel meant we only caught the end of any entertainment, besides there is so much to see and do in benidorm its worth getting out of the hotel, also a pint of lager was over 3 euro's but only 1euro in the bars, we returned on july the 5th and have to say there is one bad thing and that was we only stayed for a week instead of two but like the rest of guests at this hotel we are already concidering a fortnight next year, just to add the pool area is fab and pool bar does nice snacks and drinks.

  • Liked — cleanlines, the staff,excellent food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Recently stayed at the Rio Park, for the 2nd time.

Previously son quite young and we weren't looking for much entertainment in the evening, however now that he's 4 1/2 there's absolutely nothing for them to do in the evening.

No kiddies disco or entertainment staff on hand.

The Rio Park pride themselves on the fact that they are still showing the same old 'Full Monty Show', which is certainly not for kids, the entertainment on offer was extremely poor and we sat outside every night.

I'm aware that Benidorm has alot to offer, but with a young child and not a lot of pubs offering kiddie entertainment we didn't tend to venture out that often and opted to stay in the hotel in the evenings.

The kids pool is really small and I thought quite deep for babies etc.

The food was average but again nothing much on offer especially if your kids are looking for the odd chicken nuggets and fish fingers.

The rooms were clean, but apart from that I will not be returning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment and activites for kids
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Stayed for one week couldnt wait to get back home weather was terrible 2 days of sun!hotel was clean staff were friendly enough hotel was more for oaps and families with children!Food was just ok there was plenty to choose from just wasnt my kinda food prob would go again if i was getting it cheap enough!:)

  • Liked — view from balcony
  • Disliked — beds were hard and uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Hi returned from a 2 week stay at Rio park on the 21st june 08 .It was ok but the food was the same old same old they cannot make desserts some days i struggled to get a dinner together for my 2 son's they ended up one night having cheese and chips they dont really cater for children but if your not fussy your be fine pool was cold the first week from the bad weather ....but second week was alot lot warmer due to better weather hotel starff where ok but not very helpful when my son tripped up there stairs outside and split his head open , we had to go up these from our family room to the main building which we was not really happy about as when they are wet they are very slippery ,we asked for a first aider to help us and they left us for 30 minutes with a bit of antiseptic stuff on tissue and called a doctor they told us it would be 50 euros but ended up costing 70 all for 2 butterfly stitchs as e111 card was no good to him....the entitertainment was very poor during the day and of an evening..(family room) room was ok a bit dark and of a night time all you could hear was children running up and down as you are underneath the bar and outside area the walls are paper thin aswell they re so fine i could hear the guy next door snoring ...you have young children a great day out for them is terra natura and aqua nattura we had such a great day out we took the kids back to aqua nattura its an excellant day out..... The Rio Park is a very Clean Hotel if your not fussy yur be fine ....

  • Liked — shower in room was really powerful
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#35 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regente is situated in a central area of Benidorm, just a few minutes form the Levante Beach. It has the 195 recently refurbished double rooms with full bathrooms, air-conditioning and heating. All the rooms have balconies. The restaurant is buffet style and there is a great variety of Mediterranean and continental dishes. There are two swimming pools and a jacuzzi. There are daily daytime and night-time entertainment's programs. Enjoy an action packed holiday with the sun and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.