We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday 2014 Irene and John” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Delfin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Delfin to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Delfin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Vicente Llorca Alos, 19., 03502 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Turnhout, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday 2014 Irene and John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just back from Gran Hotel Delfin, the only complaint was the food, good selection but always cold, even on complaining about it nothing could be done as even the manager could not sort the problem, but on leaving were assured it was getting sorted in September. We would like to say though for the rest 10 out of 10, perfect location, and what a view. But please identify the food problem before someone gets sick, as the bacteria is not long setting in if food is not kept at the right tempreture, If it is a chillax holiday you are looking for then it is the place to go, and also such a beautiful beach. x

Room Tip: all rooms were good, and family rooms looked excellent, well equipped and all have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Irene and John,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to see you have spent some nice days with us.
We will take all measures to correct the temperature of foods as soon as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    78
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
95
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked to go to this hotel due to wanting a different area of benidorm! It was so peaceful and beautiful!
The hotel from the outside was lovely and the evening staff serving drinks we're very friendly! The inside beyond the food area was a little dated but still nice and clean.
On our booking form it said we had been given a refurbished room, but when we opened our door to the room it was obvious that it wasn't fully refurbished! The bathroom was but the rest was very dated and the curtains hung up in our room were dirty (from being trapped in door we think?)! We were only there for the weekend so thought it's just a room at the end of the day!
Had 1 reception lady who was great, when we checked out she gave us the bill for drinks that we'd had during our dinner (I had already paid for these as soon as we finished dinner) she was lovely about it and told me not to worry! Which was really lovely of her.
The 'beach bar' that sold snacks at the side of the pool was great, the lady that worked there was lovely and so friendly.
I would definitely come back but next time I will request a fully refurbished room!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Joanne S:

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the rest of travellers. We hope we can offer you our services once more in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel right on track to become #1 in the area, should bet on quality upgrade as strategic differentiation. Larger rooms, furniture modernization should be necessary to position Hotel Gran Delfin as a 21th century leading hotel. Best asset today is personnel quality and location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your opinion, we are so pleased to have received such a detailed description of your stay. We are so thankful to receive all your accolades and recommendations.


We hope to meet you soon in another occasion.

Thank you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel location is fantastic and I loved the restaurant and terrace area - great place to relax after dinner . However my 4 day trip was marred due to what I consider to be incompetent management . On arrival on a Friday was told by a very cheeky receptionist that due a maintenance problem the room not available until the next day so would have to change rooms the following day . This receptionist actually said not to unpack so could move the following day ! Unbelievable . Further I had to go back to reception to pick up our passports . On passing reception later in the day I saw identity cards of presumably two guests on the desk - reception was not manned ! The same cheeky receptionist informed us the next morning with delight " Ah yes you are moving today " . No apology was ever offered - no complimentary concession or gift was offered for this inconvenience or disruption . Frankly did not expect this from the Delfin ! Poor show Delfin - is it going downhill following change of ownership ? I would rather stick to Torre Dorado !

Room Tip: Do not leave passports / identity cards with reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Richard M.

Thanks about using your time writing your experince in Gran Hotel Delfin with the rest of users of Tripadvisor.

We are pleased because you liked the hotel and the location.

You booked a room WITHOUT TERRACE and we gave you a SEA VIEW room doing an advertisment about you will have to change your room the next day.

We apologize the fact of giving you an UPGRADE to a sea vier room was not enought to reach your expectatives.

Kind regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I spent a week at this lovely hotel from the 10th-17th June. I am 54 and went with my father-in-law of 86 years who also liked the hotel. A lazy stone's throw from the beach and set in the quieter eastern end of benidorm. there are buses just outside to take you in to the busier centre.
The pool, terrace and garden areas are most pleasant. the hotel itself was kept spotless by a team of very hard working staff who i feel, deserve all the tips they might receive. without exception, i always felt the staff were serving me because they really wanted to, not out of any perfunctory corporate duty. A most welcome surprise when i returned to my room was a bottle of good cava on ice with a complimentary letter from Mr.Juan Donnaire wishing me a "happy birthday" very thoughtful indeed! If you are thinking of visiting Benidorm and do not necessarily want to stay in High rise and bright lights, then i can strongly recommend the Gran Hotel Delphin. As already stated all the staff were hard at work for our pleasure but i would like to mention especially :- The lovely Marina, vanessa, Anna M. lopez at reception, francisco and not forgetting Jose and frank for providing the music which we both enjoyed. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Velo001:

It is a pleasure for us have clients like you.

All ous Staff is working hard to keep every guest happy.

For us will be a really pleasure receiving you again in Gran Hotel Delfin.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne Area
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is right on the beach in the quiet part of Benidorm in La Cala. The hotel and the rooms are quite old, but the location is probably the best in Benidorm. Ask for a room with balcony facing directly the beach. Nice garden area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear DrKnudel,

Thanks about the time you spend writing about us on Tripadvisor.

We work to make enjoyable holidays to all our customers.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My sister and I ( ages 53 & 43) took our 80 year old mother for a short break to Benidorm.
We had such a lovely time, & was really pleasantly suprised by the hotel. Its in such a lovely area with plenty of shops nearby to keep us all happy. We went into the old town one night but my mum didn't like it much. We just enjoyed staying around the hotel.
There's a 'dance' room where lots of keen ballroom dancers can quick step around ( wished i could).
The food was good - lovely fresh fruit was my favourite. My fussy sister and mother seemed happy as well. The only they missed was cups of tea/coffee with evening meal.

The staff were very nice , and worked very hard.

The pool was lovely and very quiet.

All in all it was a very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Sea View room essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear purcy_11:

From the whole team of Gran hotel delfin we would like to thank your words about the hotel.

We are happy when a family come to the hotel and enjoy as you did.

About coffee and te during lunch, you can ask to our Staff about it and they will short it out because we have some to do it but we are not offering it. We take note to improve this part for the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Delfin

Address: Av Vicente Llorca Alos, 19., 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#20 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Delfin 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Delfin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.