We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Pancho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Pancho to your Saves list
Hotel Don Pancho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don Pancho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As already stated the hotel is a bit tired but the staff are not. The girl who did our room was fantastic kept it clean as a whistle. Bathroom impeccable. Sheets always clean.
Food fantastic especially the chef who cooked the chicken curry. Benidorm is different holiday and you have to choose what you want to do.
On the seafront is a cafe called Caterpillar which had great food at great prices.
On the whole, a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We really appreciate your time taken on giving us your feedback about your stay with us.

Thanks to you for all these compliments about our service, food and staff.

Looking forward for welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    235
    76
    25
    9
See reviews for
128
529
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Don Pancho Hotel at the beginning of October. It was our first time to Benidorm since 1980, we had two weeks of glorious sunshine with temperatures peeking at 29 degrees. My wife is 66 and I am 72, I say this because anyone who has stayed at The Don Pancho will know that the average age of guests seems to be around 80 which made us feel quite young. Check in was painless after arriving around 11 pm, I have walking difficulties and travel with an electric wheelchair, we were given room 1702 which was a result of requesting the 17th floor, knowing it had been refurbished. Let me just say that as we had a late flight, we were given a room on the 1st floor for the afternoon on our last day, and I must say that although the refurbished room has clean lines and dark wood fittings, the non refurbished room is tastefully decorated with lovely decorated wooden fittings. The lobby had 4 lifts in a group and one slightly larger away from the others, I feel the lifts are too small as anyone with a wheelchair will struggle to get in with one passenger.
Breakfast which goes from 8 until 10, is all you would require, eggs, fried, boiled, or scrabbled, English and American style bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes, occasionally mushrooms, hash browns, and rarely kippers, you can have many bread variations including crumpets, cheeses, hams, fruit and cereals. Lunch from 1.30 to 3 pm, we felt a little disappointed with, the selection of food is quite limited, I understand that they do not have anyway near as many guests for lunch as they do for dinner, but if you want lunch you should have as good a variety of food as you would for dinner. Dinner from 7.30 to 9.30pm is a good spread, they have a chef carving meat every night, the usual choice of 2 soups, meats, salads, vegetables, desserts, cakes, and a choice of delicious ice creams. Some of the food could do with being kept warmer, by the time you make your selections and get back to your table it could do with being heated again. Water is served in blue bottles at 1.60 euros and they do a decent white wine for 7 euros.
The overall appearance of the hotel is excellent, the lobby has lavish amounts of carved marble and comfortable furnishings, a smart lounge bar area, with a conference room and small IT room. Going up one floor is where most of the action is, The restaurant is on this floor as is the doors leading to the pool area, which is kitted out with super sun loungers and tables and chairs. The two pools are quite small, one was shallow, suitable for children,( although there wasn’t any at the hotel during our stay) and were both very cold. I read that one pool was covered and heated from October but there was no evidence of this. There is a small bar by the pool with limited snacks. For elderly people there are a remarkably large amount of smokers round the pool area, Being a non smoker I found it difficult to find a clean air area. Moving back in doors there is a large lounge area, cocktail bar, and a dance floor, and stage. There is entertainment every night, but it is low key, they have 2 guys and a girl singer called Trio Fashion, they do their best with English songs but it was disappointing that from 10.30 pm they sang in Spanish, catering for the Spanish guests and local residents. Some nights they had guest artists but again they catered for the Spanish most of the time.
All the staff at the hotel were friendly especially on reception. Our room was kept spotlessly clean by our housekeeper, the room had a large wardrobe with drawers at one side, a dressing type table, a 30 channel flat screen TV with BBC 1, ITV, SKY 1, BBC World news, CNN and many more English speaking channels. There are two chairs and a low table, The beautiful bathroom has a marble surrounded sink, the ample sized bath is fitted with an adjustable shower. One criticism I have is that taking into account the age of most of the guests, I found taking a shower quite risky as the bath became very slippery and although there is a grab handle it was difficult turning around while standing in the bath.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it is just 200 meters from the beach, a 20 minute walk to the old town and just 100 meters to some of the good night entertainment available in Benidorm. The hotel is worthy of its 4 star rating, but if you are under 65 you will feel out of place, having said that I would recommend this hotel as a quality holiday location. As I stated at the beginning this is my first visit for over 30 years and the development of Benidorm is unbelievable, my wife and I went to the bars on the promenade most days and watched the continuous stream of elderly people, pushbikes of every description and most of all every type of mobility scooter on the market including tandem types, we counted over 60 going passed in 1 hour. I apologise for the length of this posting but felt all my comments were necessary

Room Tip: Athough the 17th floor is refurbished, the rooms on the other floors are nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for such a complete review you have written in TripAdvisor regarding your last stay at the Don Pancho hotel.

It is very nice to hear that you have been very satisfied with our hotel and service and you enjoyed the location as well.

We keep entire at your service and we hope you back in your next visit to Benidorm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne,england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A lovely hotel, just as nice inside as I'd imagined, when walking past it on a previous holiday.
Staff all very pleasant even when I requested a higher floor on check in.
Room smallish but with loads of storage and hangars. Bathroom spotless, including the shower curtain! All rooms look out to sea with the higher floors having unrestricted view.
Food great....the usual buffet type but to a high standard.
The entertainment for us was watching the clientelle dressing up every night to dance to the resident band.....that 's the old fashioned bit! But this is Benidorm so step out the door and there is something for everyone. The location is perfect set between beach and bars so only a few yards to either. Only one barman unhelpful and rude and that was Lute who later said he was having a bad day. Would highly recommend this hotel on all aspects and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your time and comments about our establishment in TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed with the hotel location.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and the Don Pancho hotel will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have just returned from 14 days holiday at the Hotel Don Pancho, Benidorm a hotel that I have visited twice year for some time. The Hotel is first class but this last visit it was noticeable that standards are declining.
All the hotel staff is excellent and make you feel at home, the hotel is clean, nice bedrooms, excellent food perfect location to meet every ones needs.
The hotels is poor on entertainment, having a trio playing six evenings a week which would be more than acceptable if the during the bands break the hotel had quality entertainers instead of the poor quality artists that you can only describe as second best.
The thing that is most annoying is at the weekend when the Spanish invade the hotel; some call it a knocking shop for the Spanish. Getting a drink can be very difficult the waiters serve the Spanish first and hotel guests second and you can be kept waiting for some time, often I have gone to the bar myself fed up of waiting.
The worst thing of all is Thomson’s, and those customers who stay at the hotel will tell you that you can only book it from the UK through them and this is where I think the management need to get a grip before the standards drop to low. It is like a holiday camp when over the public address came the Thomson’s rep giving out announcements something I had not heard before my last visit; in fact I did not know they had a public address system. The standard of dress also seem to be dropping, in the evening in the restaurant it calls for gentlemen to wear long trousers, but for the first time I saw shorts being worn, track suit bottoms, men with vests even football shirts. This I only put down to the Thomson influence playing the numbers game.
I put a plea in to the management to get a grip before the hotel becomes just another ordinary Benidorm hotel and get back to allowing customers to book with other companies not just Thomson’s.
Would I go again? Yes, but hope the management see fit to listen to customers.

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are very grateful for your comments and for taking the time to share your detailed experience in Don Pancho with TripAdvisor users.

We sincerely thank you for these positive comments about the staff, food, rooms and services.

We have to apologize if there was some aspects that was not as you expected. Our customers feedback is the best assistance in our daily improvement.

We take a good note of your constructive comments.
.
It will be great to welcome you back again in Don Pancho hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean hotel. Little disapointed with room but we did request low floor with double bed(were told not many double beds avail) Food okey but not very warm. A big plus was dining room opening early on day of departure for early breakfast. Erin was very clear and informative at our welcome meeting. When we had any problems (fridge not working and missing bath towel one day) they were sorted quickly and efficiently. Thank you for nice stay on my first visit to Benidorm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
First of all, many thanks for taking your time to share with others about your experience in Don Pancho hotel.

We also would like to thank you for having chosen Don Pancho hotel to spend your holidays and that you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Don Pancho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Don Pancho in July 2013 and would not stay there again for the following reasons. This hotel is NOT a 5 star even though Thomson try to make out it is because it suits them to bull up the hotel because guests can only book this hotel through Thomson or book direct with the hotel. Thomson have jacked up the prices by £400 for the same holiday next year and they will try to make it a family hotel which it is most definitely not because there is nothing to do for younger guests, there is only ONE pool, the 'second' pool is for toddlers, the entertainment is mediocre, none existent during the day, and sunbeds hard to get if you are not there when the pool is opened. The food is standard for most hotels in Spain i.e. same choice every day and only warm by the time you get back to your table, maybe I should get my good lady a job doing the cooking, then the standards would go through the roof. This hotel is well situated for night life and a 3 minute walk from the beach but it should not be able to call itself any more than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
First to all, thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor website.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We always attempt to work with the highest possible standards. For that reason, we have taken note about your constructive comments.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East of England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having been to this hotel, many times, we have Just returned from yet again another wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel. Staff pleasant, Food good, Rooms on Floor 17 have been refurbished and are very nice, now with a walk in shower. Towels changed daily, as along with sheets and pillow cases. Cannot fault this hotel at all. Looking forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive comments.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good experience and that always you enjoy your stays with us.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Pancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.