We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience, the good experience..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Pancho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Pancho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Solihull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience, the good experience..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Returned in October from second stay. I have reviewed this hotel in the context of Benidorm itself. Contrary to opinion, those who have been will know it caters largely for the middle age, elderly and those with mobility issues. Ok, it has a night life, stag and hen parties and if you like people watching, this is the place. I have always found it safe. Also has many Spanish and other European visitors. This is where this hotel cater for them all. Many people return year after year, and so shall I. Location is excellent, clean, lots of food, and the management and staff are brilliant at meeting your needs. Personality I am not keen on buffet style meals and the restaurant can get busy. I avoid busy times and never understand why people push in and queue and load their plates. There is always plenty of good food and choice. Just life.. Rooms are smallish but every clean and we always get the room we ask for. Wi Fi can be difficult at times. Pools by modern standards are small but ok. So great value for money, wines and bar drinks reasonable. Evening entertainment good. Personally we preferred to see Benidorm at night on the sea front with many nice bars etc. to enjoy a drink. Back to hotel, this is again where it scores so well with the elderly customer, no need for them to go out, hotel provides excellent evening entertainment and service. I my view the hotel, provides excellent service. but if your looking for younger, family fun packed holiday - Maybe not the place. This is my view and it may be different in school holiday time.. when I would never go anywhere...

Room Tip: All Rooms face the road so it can be noisy, but its Benidorm. For me lower rooms. so I can walk down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with others TripAdvisor users, we truly appreciate this.

I very much appreciate your feedback and was pleased to see that you left the hotel with a positive impression.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Benidorm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    211
    70
    25
    8
See reviews for
121
492
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Don Pancho on many occasions and have never been disappointed.
The management and staff are very friendly and are always available to speak to you, sometimes I wonder if the manager and under manager ever go home.
The rooms are always kept very clean and linen and towels are changed on a regular basis.
The dining room staff are very friendly and the food is superb, with plenty of variety.
The pool is always kept spotless and there are plenty of us beds with towels provided by the hotel. David who is in charge of the pool is very friendly and helpful.
Would I recommend this hotel, most definitely.
Can't wait to return to the Don Pancho.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your time to post your comments in TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us and that you found our staff to be friendly, the service was good and you enjoyed of the hotel location.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel location is perfect for the clubs, bars and beaches. The hotel itself is clean and tidy although a little dated and the pool needs work for a 4*. There was a wide variety of food which in the main was good. Would recommend this hotel if staying in Benidorm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

As you can appreciate most of clients are adults, but the hotel is not adults only.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying the Don Pancho hotel and its location in Benidorm..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the don pancho at the beginning of October for one week . The hotel is in an excellent location . On arrival we were treated very well and the staff were helpful and friendly , we did have to take our bags to our own rooms which I don't mind but as the majority say 95% of the people on holiday were over 70 I thought they might struggle. . The rooms were clean and the maid was friendly . I would of liked a do not disturb sign on the door . The breakfast was really good I can't comment on the dinner as I only had one as we went out every night . We had the 13th floor and the views were great . Staff at all times were friendly and happy . The pool area was clean and very quiet . The only problem we had which was no fault of the hotel was noisy people late at night slamming doors which was a surprise as I thought only kids done that ! very inconsiderate people . On the whole had a great time would book again as its in the perfect location and has all you need .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Don Pancho hotel.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed with the fantastic hotel location.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sue and I have just returned home from a seven nights stay at the Don Pancho. In recent years we have stayed at the the levels @ Villaitana hotel just outside Benidorm and also the Gran hotel Sol y Mar in Calpe. We worried that the Don Pancho might be a downward step after staying at two fabulous hotels.
We booked the hotel direct and did not travel with Thomsons who are now the sole UK agent to my knowledge.
We used Ryanair to get us from Manchester to Valencia and hired a car from the airport.
We checked in around 0130 in the morning and room allocation was swiftly organised by reception along with a car parking space in the hotel car park. I had requested a 17th floor refurbished room complete with walk in shower rather than a bath and this was already allocated.
The rooms are compact but tastefully refurbished.
Two armchairs would be better than the one but I appreciate that this would reduce floor space.
The beds were very comfortable and spare pillows were available.
The aircon was required and was very good.
Do remember to take a small travel kettle for those late night Cuppas as they are not provided.
The fridge is very handy for keeping the milk cold and fresh not to mention the odd San Miguel!!
On arrival I removed the provided drinks and placed them on the shelf above the fridge and replaced with my own selection.
This was not a problem and nothing was charged to my room.
Previous reports suggested that the lifts were small and waits could be long. During our stay the hotel was full and we never had to wait more than 30 seconds for a lift to arrive and be available.
Only used the pool a couple of times in the afternoon and did not have a problem finding a bed.
The staff in every department were very helpful and friendly.
One day the maid had serviced our room but forgot to replace the bath sheets. A quick call to reception had a knock on the door within 5 minutes with towels and an apology.
The wifi in our room 1705 was rather poor and you had to keep logging in after a short spell offline. It was usable but not perfect. Wifi in the Bar and lounge was much better.
One strange thing though was that I was unable to access Tripadvisor all week within the hotel?? I meant to ask when checking out if the hotel had decided to block it??
To sum up all I can say is that the Don Pancho is a very well run hotel in a superb location.
There is no need for a car unless like us you like to go off and explore.
If you do have a car then the cost to park your car securely is just over 8 euro a day and good value.
The food whilst buffet style is very good quality and we never had any problem with dishes being cold. The only thing we did miss compared to the other hotels was an omelette station at breakfast.
So many couples we spoke to were regular visitors to the Don Pancho and that speaks for itself.
Go try it yourself and enjoy!

Cheers

Tom

Room Tip: 17th floor for refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive comment and thank you very much too for having taken your time to send it.

We are glad to hear you have arrived at the hotel by your owner methods. Nowadays it’s very easy to book online a flight or a hotel room.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities and we appreciated the nice comments regarding our rooms, services and food.

Please don’t hesitate to contact guest experience for any further information about future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal situation, near beach, shops and public transport
The staff are very helpful and friendly
The hotel has every comfort, lovely decor and two swimming pools
The evening entertainment is excellent with a superb Spanish resident group which attracts dancers from all over Spain.
I have visited this hotel many times and the standards have always been high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I returned to Benidorm having experienced family holidays in the seventies when our children were small. The Don Pancho at that time was the Blue Ribbon Hotel of the resort and way out of the financial reach of a young family.
We have just returned following a two week half board stay, 21st Sept to 5th Oct 2013 and can report that the reputation of the hotel still offers the Platinum status it is known for.
The attention from the staff on all levels was excellent, the ambience of the hotel was relaxing.
There was plenty of choice in the dining room where we had very good meals.
Our room was spotless with a lovely view of the sea.
A well placed hotel on a bus route to get out and about and on the flat, ideal for anyone with a disability. Tip 1 euro 50 cents on a number 10 bus will take you up the coast to Altea.
We will definitely be returning next year and can honestly recommend The Don Pancho Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for spending your time writing this comment and also for sharing it with all TripAdvisor users.

We are glad to hear you wanted to visit us from 70’s!!! and finally we have made your wish exceeding your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Benidorm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Pancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.