We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Benidorm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Pancho to your Saves list
Hotel Don Pancho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 195 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Benidorm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed here on many occasions and always have a good holiday. We have used other hotels in Benidorm and most are to be recommended for one reason or another but the Don Pancho is probably the best for a number of reasons. It is well situated, close to the sea front and the town. It's very clean and comfortable and the food is generally good for a tourist hotel. We stayed on the top floor (all rooms in the hotel face the front). The 17th floor is the only floor that has been revamped with new bathrooms, carpets and furniture and all rooms completely re-decorated. Much more modern than the other floors, but to be honest all the rooms are generally good and spacious.
The higher floor the quieter the room generally, but any room would satisfy most guests as all clean and well presented.
The sunbathing area is fine although in busy main summer months very crowded. The hotel does not really cater for children (thank goodness) although some children may be present. However, the hotel does not allow pool games, balls etc so the area is generally quiet. The hotel is really suitable for older adults who want a quiet and sedate place to stay. Most guests in May/June when we stayed were elderly but that's not uncommon in Benidorm. The hotel is not suitable for groups of men or women looking for a wild holiday and as such would not enjoy staying here as the hotel is strict about standards and won't allow any rowdy behaviour. Some towels in Benidorm do cater for such groups but not here. A good four star hotel. Food is adequate, not special but certainly better than many hotels in the area. To sum up, very clean, spacious rooms and the staff are all friendly, helpful and pleasant. Wifi is available in all rooms for a charge of 15 euro for 2 weeks. Each room has a fridge and the bathrooms are good. Beds and towels were all changed daily. Rooms do not have tea / coffee making facilities which is a pity but not uncommon in many Spanish hotels generally. We have stayed in a better hotel in Benidorm but it as not in such a good situation requiring a taxi to reach the town and consequently it was not convenient.
If your looking for what is on balance probably the best hotel with decent food in a good location pick this hotel provided your over 50. If your under 50 and want a busy loud hotel stay away as you won't be welcomed here. We love it and have stayed here on 6 occasions. Air conditioning worked well. Yo will be met with fresh fruit and bottled water on arrival.

Room Tip: Top floor, 17th has been refurbished and is more modern than other rooms in the hotel bt all are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comment in Tripadvisor.

It is a true pleasure to receive such positive feedback especially from the guests that have visited Don Pancho already several times.

We hope to welcome you in your next stay in Benidorm..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    275
    84
    26
    11
See reviews for
153
642
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had great expectations for this hotel based on customer reviews but badly let down once there.
Reception staff and bar staff (apart from Fernando) just not welcoming and only seemed to prefer dealing with Spanish guests. As many have pointed out, the bedrooms are somewhat dated but are kept very clean and well serviced and are quite adequate to ones needs.
The only rooms so far renovated are those on the 17th floor so at the current rate then by the time the 1st floor is finished it will be time to start again. The only saving grace is that the view from the balcony is first class. It would be even better if the amber coloured chicken wire glazing was replaced by clear glass.
Now, down to the nitty gritty.
Food - very ordinary, no show cooking as such, poor choice and veg very limited. Breakast was OK but with no variety through the week. Dining room is dated and tables are very close to one another. Water is bottled which means you have to pay.
Sun Beds - if you want to be sure of getting a bed on the pool terrace be prepared to join the queue at 8am for the doors to be opened at 9am and take part in a mad dash. My wife and I managed to get a bed once in our stay - at 5.45pm! We opted to go to the beach and pay for beds and brolly, 4 Euro each item. It is more entertaining on the beach anyway.
Entertainment - this actually wasn't too bad, what with the resident trio and a show slotted inbetween the trio's slots. It was, however, noticed that whilst the trio's music was well performed
and pleasant to listen to, they tended to cater more for the Spanish guests when there was a majority of them in the show lounge.
Drinks - make sure you charge any drinks to your room to get them at a substantially reduced price. The only notice I spotted within the hotel advising guests to do this was in the lifts!
Rooms - no tea/coffee facilities, no information folder about the hotel in the room, and note that even on a high floor (we were on the 13th) you can still hear noise from the Mediterraneo when the "Stags" and "Hens" are staggering home form their night of revelry!
Finally there is no way Thomson can class this as a 5T Hotel, OK the external vista of the hotel looks good but it is let down by the interior and the staff. Needless to say, I will not be using this hotel again when next we visit Benidorm (probably in September).

Room Tip: Ask for the 17th floor otherwise go for 12th and above and as all face the sea one room is really as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor website.

We thank you for spending your time and we take note of all your comments.

We are sorry to not have fulfilled your expectations, and assure that we always work to satisfy all our guests wishes and try to make them all feel welcome and attended.

Warm greetings from Benidorm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just back from another relaxing and pleasant week at the Don Pancho Hotel. It may have an older clientele but it caters for us brilliantly. However, this time we took our 5 month old grand daughter and her parents and the Don Pancho couldn't have done better to cope with their needs any better. The Hotel even managed to provide us with rooms next to each other.
The food is still to a high standard and with of grand daughter being there, the waiting staff were very attentive and she did her best to reward and charm them.
The evening entertainment does seem a little old fashioned these days as can be seen from the age of the audience, but Degsy outside on Monday was very good. More entertainment outside would be a real step forward.
We would certainly go back and probably will.

Room Tip: No fitness centre hence low score, all rooms face the sea and the same way so no issue there, just h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and our food and we appreciated the nice comments regarding our staff.

Please don’t hesitate to contact guest experience for any further information about future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have recently returned from Benedorm where we stayed at the 4 star Don Pancho hotel. This was the third year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it every time. We stayed on full board and found it to be a great option.
The hotel is overseen by the directors and management who are there from early morning till late evening ensuring that everything is just right for the guests. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable, with good sized balconies. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, and we stayed on the third floor which had a very pleasant and friendly chamber maid who ensured that our rooms were just right and in prime condition.
Reception staff were helpful and made you feel welcome as soon as you arrived, and their efficiency and professionalism made checking in a speedy and pleasant experience.
The food was good and there was a good variety, so that everyone could find something to their taste and the restaurant staff were always very efficiant and friendly.
The pool area was washed and mopped every morning including washing down the sun beds and other furniture by a group of maids and two members of management. The best I have seen an any hotel, and I have stayed in lots of hotels. A pool attendant was there and was always happy to help you find a sun bed or a brolly. There is also a good pool bar with waiter service and shaded tables to sit at if you wished to have a coffee or a drink of your choice.
As I said, this was our third visit to the Don Pancho Hotel, and we will definitely be returning again to this great value hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto the main avenue, but the Hotel is set back from the road and although Benedorm h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments of your experience in our hotel over Tripadvisor website.

Your satisfaction it’s our main objective and your fidelity our best award.

It was a sincere pleasure to have you stay with us once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful visit to our favourite hotel in Benidorm. Just had a make over in reception and bar area and is superb. Food excellent as usual and gained 4 lbs whilst there. Manager came to everyones table on his evenings on duty and spoke to everyone individually. What great service and personal touch. But he is always like that and this is the best hotel in Benidorm by far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review in TripAdvisor.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Don Pancho.

We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Don Pancho in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

have been going to benidorm every yr for the last 15 yr and decided to stay at the don pancho this time , we stayed june 8th-18th what a lovely hotel requested a high floor for the views and was on 15th floor rooms where clean and spacious maybe a bit dated but who stays in rooms 24/7 staff very friendly food was excellent in restaurant a wide variety of choice and food was always hot , ( not like previous hotels i have stayed in ) snacks around pool very good and reasonably priced we ventured to the pool after breakfast and always found sunbeds , will definetaly be returning there next year

Room Tip: rooms on high floors , just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel in TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Don Pancho hotel.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again and I remain to your disposal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from another great holiday at the Don Pancho. The entrance is so peaceful with a lovely flower garden and various water features it feels like a little oasis of calm. The reception staff are so friendly and efficient. I cannot fault this hotel in any way, the rooms are spotless and the beds are so comfortable .We just love the food at this hotel, the restaurant manager is to be praised for the efficiency of all his staff, tables are cleared and re-set with beautiful white table linen and sparkling glasses, all the staff are very professional and take a pride in their job role. An amazing team, it's a pleasure to dine here in the evenings, a great start to our night out.
The pool area is spotless with comfortable sunbeds, although we don't usually go there till the afternoon, we like to walk in the mornings, usually we can find a space to park ourselves when we come back and have a little rest. The hotel is just across the road from the beach with easy access to this.
On the whole this hotel may not be the most modern but it is certainly the best as far as we are concerned, great food ,great staff, great hotel, what more can I say.!!!

Room Tip: All rooms much the same, just depends whether you like high or low floors, all clean and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to make your comments in Tripadvisor.

It is always wonderful to get such positive feedback from our guests. We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay at Don Pancho hotel. It is always our goal to make our guests feel comfortable among us and that they receive the best service possible.

We look forward to the pleasure of having you for your next visit to Benidorm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#1 of 195 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#52 of 195 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 stars 3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#6 of 195 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#5 of 195 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 195 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Pancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.