We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Pancho to your Saves list
Hotel Don Pancho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hard to fault the hotel. Service is fantastic with a high staff to guest ratio.
Food was very good.
Hotel slightly dated but still very comfortable. Only negative is the small pool and inadequate sunbathing area.

Room Tip: High floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    235
    76
    25
    9
See reviews for
128
529
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Still probably the best hotel in Benidorm.
RECEPTION.
Generally very polite and helpful staff in a very plush and comfortable setting.
BEDROOMS
Room 1109 was quite large, carpeted with excellent air-con and it really couldn't be faulted.
POOLSIDE.
Apart from the fact that you had to queue at the door until 9.00am to get onto the pool area it is a lovely serene area spoilt only by the screaming kids that have decended into the hotel since it became Platinum.
LOUNGE AREAS.
Very plush, nice to relax in apart from the above mentioned kids running riot with parents taking no notice whatsoever.
BARS.
Did not use any of the bars in the hotel apart from the pool bar initially that was until they charged approx £5 for 2 fanta orange. Prices for drinks very expensive. Even water which was approx £1.60p for a small bottle when you could buy 5 Litres for 88p.
ENTERTAINMENT.
No surprises here because the hotel has always catered for the well to do Spanish of Benidorm who attend virtually every night for their dances. What baffles me is why have Thomson made the hotel Platinum because this hotel has and always will cater for the Spanish before the British.The music you can hear in the hotel is nearly always in Spanish which is of no concern because we already knew this and don't stay at the hotel for the entertainment.
RESTAURANT.
This was the biggest disappointment of the holiday.(apart from the kids) The quality of the food is still quite high but I'm afraid that the temperature of the food left a lot to be desired to the point of probably being dangerous. Chicken, Beef, Pork, Lamb chops, Bacon, Fish, Pork chops, Ham all cold when you put them on your plate even roast and veg lukewarm at the best. The only thing on the buffet that was really hot was the good selection of soups that were on every night. The young chef who normally does any carveries that are on needs lessons in how to carve meat and present it on your plate instead of just basically chucking lumps of meat onto your plate.
The Don Pancho is still the best hotel in Benidorm it is just getting tired, the restaurant manager and his understudy have been there 30 years and whilst they are as helpful as they can be it needs someone new to put a new slant on and improve the level of service overall.
HOLIDAY OVERALL.
If Thomson had left the hotel alone or better still made it a gold hotel there would not be the screaming kids spoiling the quiet tranquil holiday that the regulars crave.
I honestly believe that during high season Thomson will see the error of their ways when all the complaints come pouring in because by making it Platinum they have dropped the standard of a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a floor as high as possible to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Second time at the Don Pancho and was just as good as the first time. Restaurant excellent. Great choice of food and well served. The hotel was spotless. Maids were even cleaning down the sunbeds. The rooms were first class and plenty of cupboard space.
There is nothing to fault about this hotel and the only problemwe have is, any other hotel we stay at, we keep comparing to the Don Pancho. If there were only a Don Pancho in another part of Spain! Although again couldent fauly Benidorm as a resort. A Very well maintained resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Don Pancho for a week in July and loved it. I won't repeat stuff that other people have said, but just add a few comments about some details which made it good for us.
Our room was on the 10th floor and I think it must have been a re-furbished it all seemed new and clean. Two pillows each if you needed them. Blanket each in case you're a bit chilly with the air con on at night. Very useful fridge with a few hotel drinks in, but plenty of room for your own stuff with no obligation to use theirs. There was a pool bar, but the waiters didn't patrol the pool area so no problem if you want to drink your own. Pool towels are provided from reception if you want for a 7 euro deposit each which you can change daily if you want to. No problem at all with sunbeds. Yes, there are a few people who queue on the chairs by the door because they want a particular area, but we never queued and always got one. As long as you're down before about 10.00 am you should be OK. In the lounge in the evening where the very relaxing musicians were 6 nights a week, we used to come out of the dining room, absolutely full and not needing a drink just yet. We were approached by a waiter, told him we were OK for drinks for a while, and he would put a couple of drinks mats in front of us saying 'no more waiters will bother you'. Very nice touch. When we did feel ready for a drink, if you tell them you are residents you are asked for your room number, this goes onto the bill which you sign and then you are charged much less than the prices on the bar drinks menu. This also goes for the pool bar and drinks at the table in the dining room. It means no money is changing hands so you don't feel obliged to tip unless you particulrly want to. We made a note of everything we had and the bill we were presented with when we checked out on the last day was spot on. We liked that we could sit anywhere we wanted in the dining room and also that they enforced the rule about long trousers being compulsory for men in the evening. Food was lovely every meal time. Can't fault this hotel really and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Best location in Benidorm! Very quiet in the hotel with all the hustle & bustle of Benidorm just a short stroll away! Couldn't fault the food or the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Believe me I am not an "easy to please person". I know there have been comments about the Don Pancho being dated. We stayed on the 13th floor and noticed 1 room seemed to be having a total revamp, although I just think the rooms have a old spanish charm.The staff are wonderful. Cleaners do their job very well, polite on reception, the waiters (both gents and ladies) very friendly chef and staff superb.What more can I say .lovely food, lovely hotel in a great place.

Room Tip: high floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This Hotel was in an excellent location about 50m to beach and surrounded by shops & restaurants etc. Markets on Sunday and Wednesday are just round the corner about 100m away. The Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The food was amazing. The Hotel was spotlessly clean with room service daily.
Our room and bathroom were basic and with three beds perhaps a little cramped. Good sized Balcony overlooking beach/pool. Beds however not overly comfortable.
Hotel reception could do with updating some of their sofas. Pool area and entertainment lounge could also do with a revamp

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Pancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.