We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but food is poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Pelicanos Ocas to your Saves list
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good but food is poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed last week in the pelicanos in a single room, it was smashing. On the 14th floor it had great veiws. It was like a small double room in the uk. It had a double bed and a balcony. My friend was on the 8th floor and his single room was identical. so I think all the single rooms are like this. It had a bath with an overhead shower. Very clean but basic.
The food was quite poor so I can only give it 3 stars. The cooked breakfast was awful, lots of people commented on this. If you go please keep away from the disastrous scrambled egg, I felt sick after just a small amount. There are no fridges in the room but you can hire one for 30 euros a week (rip off, I thought). It is in a great position very close to the nightlife but just 50 yards away so you get a good nights sleep. Beware the bar does strongbow cider but it is not included in the all inclusive deal.
The pools are just fabulous and there are hundreds of sun beds.
Hope you enjoy your stay, I did. The food just needs sorting for this hotel to be very good.

Room Tip: Ask for north pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear John O,
First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor with other travellers! I am glad to read that you felt satisfied with the facilities provided in our Hotel. Regarding the Breakfast, I assure you that we are very thankful for your comments, as they will help us the improve the services that we provide. Although, I must add that our guests are very satisfied with the quality and the variety of our Breakfast. But as you might have seen, we provide for many different nationalities and it is always hard to please every taste. Thank you for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays and we hope to see you again with us. Best regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    1,062
    552
    214
    135
See reviews for
1,056
831
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have just returned from this Hotel after a weeks stay. I was with a party of 18 other ladies, and althought the Pool area's are amazing the rooms are very cramped and the whole week we had a terrible smell in the bathroom. We did ask if this could be sorted for us, but the only solution we were given was a can of air spray.
Also I am a vegetarian, and lived on cheese and chips all week, because the choice of food for me was very limited. Even the vegetables sometimes had pieces of meat in cooked with them. I became ill after a couple of days, so lost some of my holiday time. I am not saying I would not go back there, just this time I felt very let down. It is given a lot of hype because of the TV show and it really needs to live up to it.
Lynne
Chester

Room Tip: If your looking for a quiet stay, then this hotel is not for you, its in the centre of all the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fantastic holiday we had! The Hotel is spotlessly clean, the food varied & tasty, all inclusive meant we could get drinks from any bar that was open & food from the snack bar from 3 pm till close. The poor reviews from our experience are totally unfounded & we would gladly tell anyone to give it a go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Nigel J,
Thank you for your positive review and for recommending our Hotel, Sol Pelícanos Ocas to other travellers! We are very glad that you had such a lovely holiday with us, as the satisfaction of our guests is the main commitment of our Hotel and our company, Meliá Hotels International! Kind regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

me my hubby and daugter stayed here 15th sept-22nd when reading the reviews was abit worried about it but i have got to say i had not one complaint about this hotel first time to this hotel and to benidorm loved it that much that were booking again net year :) entertainment crew were fantastic esp with the kids than for a great holiday :~)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear tezzabelle11,
Thank you very much for your nice comments, for your review on TripAdvisor and for visiting Sol Pelícanos Ocas! We look forward to welcoming you again next year! Kind Regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We decided on a wee autumn week away and as it’s only the two of us and we run out of things to say after a few minutes we decided to go to Benidorm.

Picking a hotel was very difficult as we intended putting this holiday together ourselves, when you read the reviews after an hour you give up the will to live every time you think you have found one something bad pops up. We were recommended this one and the ambassador but because of its TV fame we decided on the Sol Pelicanos.

We ended up out of Glasgow on a Thomson flight on the 11/9/12 and saved about £100 each on their prices, when we arrived it was a bit difficult finding our bus as we had booked independent transfers but the nice people at the jet2 desk showed us where to go (downstairs) the transfer time was nearly 2.5hr as all the drop offs where one party and I think we visited every hotel in the resort.

The hotel
Very impressed as we entered room ready on the seventh floor and my wife asked if we could get a lower one we were offered one on the forth but advised it was a bit smaller and was told to go up and have a look we decided to stay on the seventh as it had great views of the pools that must be some of the nicest I have relaxed and swum in no problem getting a bed but some days we had to go the top of the last pool, mind you still seen the saddos queuing up from eight (pool opens at nine) to grab a bed. Towels changed every day bed and room the same never watch the TV much only the news sky and the bbc so can’t say if there was much on, they balcony had the usual two plastic chares (wish they supplied cushions) and a small table that was lovely for me to sit and read in the morning waiting on my good lady waking.
As been said before the ac was a joke I even got another key card so I could leave it on all the time to no avail I wouldn’t like to be there in the summer but most days we were there it was in the high 70s.

The food and drink

We had gone AI but never upgraded to the gold, and for the first time when going full board or AI we never ate out there was one lunch there was five different types of fish on offer and all the normal meats as well as there was about 30% Spanish in the hotel there was always a good choice of shell fish and some of the best paella I have tasted most night, and for the winging English that moaned about everything even about the Spanish not speaking proper English (and most of the ones I’m talking about wouldn’t get a job in shameless) there was even tripe and pigs trotters.

Location

Just outside the front door is the start of the British strip with most offering good entertainment changing acts every hour if you miss one they will be one somewhere else later. If that’s not your style head to the prom and sit in a bar watching the world go by or head down to the old town to the better and Spanish restaurant’s.

The beach is only 5min from the front door of the hotel as well and the tourist information centre is across the road from the new hotel next door.
Get yourself on the wee of big train or both it’s a great way to see what’s on offer and where to go to the run up the hill looking down on to the resort is amazing.

Prices in the shops are even cheaper than Primark and coffee and beer was reasonable as well, all in all I would recommend this hotel and resort

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just come back from the Ocas after 10 days and after reading all the negative reviews we were worried about going but once there the worries had gone. we checked in at 11.30pm and by 11.45pm we were having a beer before they closed. the rooms in the ocas were lovely recently refurbished to a very good standard nce sze with a 32" telly comfortable beds and a very good bathroom. rooms were cleaned evey day to a good standard with clean towels if we needed them. we were on the 7th floor and the lifts were no problem at all. the whole hotel was very clean. the restuarant we had to use in the ocas for breakfast & dinner was excellent and i think the better of the two we had to use the pelicanos for lunch although very good with good choices and different meals every day we prefer the ocas. the food was always fresh and different every dayand i loved the puddings. the staff were okay not all happy but never were stroppy or nasty but they would help you if you needed it. the pool in the ocas was a decent size but the sunbeds were okay but not many shaded areas. we used the pelicanos pool and boy what a difference so big. we went to the pool by and got beds by the swim up bar and got beds easy every day. the swimp up bar was closed which was a shame has it is a good walk to the main bar and snack bar and in the afternoon was hard to get to has folk seem to block the way to get the best of the sun. would we use this hotel again? a big fat yes and would recommend to anyone who wants to go to benidorm. has fpr benidorm it self brilliant non stop fun. which ended up with a few late late nights. still recovering now. so as for the sol pelicanos & ocas we will go back and ignore the negative reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocas room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Poppapete57,
Thank you for your positive review! We are glad that your experience in our Hotel was enjoyable, and that you shared it with other travellers here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to receiving you again! Best Regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Sol Pelicanos for two nights. We booked the hotel as it is where the TV programme is filmed.

The hotel is in a good location near the beach and not too far from the main street for the nightlife. The rooms are basic and clean. Just a TV in the room. No hairdryer or tea making facilities.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There is plenty to choose from at breakfast which was really good.

The pool area is really nice with plenty of sunbeds but the pool bar that is the main feature in the programme was not even open.

We had a nice stay but I think you can get a better deal elsewhere and would try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor if you are scared of heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear jonesie34,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sol Pelícanos Ocas. Regarding your comments about the swim-up Bar, I can inform you that this Bar is opened in high season. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our Breakfast, and we truly hope that we will see you again in our Hotel. Thank you for your comments and for choosing Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays. Kind regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Address: Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#32 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#35 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Contemporary Hotels under same management; a complete tourist complex; 42 km to Alicante train station, 50 km to arpt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Pelicanos Ocas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.