We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a cheap weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Benidorm to your Saves list
Melia Benidorm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok for a cheap weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We decided to stay at the Melia for a second time, not expecting too much. However i am pleased to say that things have definatly improved since our last stay here. Upon arrival, we found the check in to be efficient and quick. We asked the girl behind the desk for one of the higher floors. We ended up beach facing on the 22nd Floor, which after the initial OMG look how high we are, was rather nice.

The one thing that has not improved at the Melia is the sound proofing. We had a rather noisy Spannish family in the room next to ours, where by the parents thought it ok to let their three children rum amok on in the corridor (not what you want at 7.00am after a heavy night in the old town). After complaining to the family and to reception with no avail, we found that a well placed leg when placed amongst running legs solved the problem, and after the initial screeming hysterics and I am afraid to say bloody nose, the parents soon cottoned on that the corridor was not a playground, and that they were in fact staying in a hotel.

The other noise issue we found was the almost continous movement of furniture. We understand that people move around and have to move chairs, but sometimes we did think that we had Benidorms answer to Pickfords in moving furniture around.

Apart from this, we had yet another fun packed weekend in Spains Capital of tack, and can't wait for our next visit

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    663
    325
    151
    89
See reviews for
570
741
32
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southport
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our second Christmas away from home staying at a Melia Hotel ( Melia Benidorm), and once again thoroughly enjoyed the experience! We met lots of friendly people and the Manager & Staff are extremely helpful and of course we now know them all on a personal basis! The food is very good especially the choice of Grilled meat and fish and there is always some choice if you didnt like the grills which is very unlikely., There was also a Christmas Party and Gala Meal which was very good. After the Gala meal there was a Karioke in the bar with the manager and staff giving the personal Touch by taking part which made the day for my wife and I.The Hotel is situated in a popular row of well established Benidorm Hotels and not far from the shops and bars nearby, The all inclusive was excellent and the waiters in the Cafeteria bar. were exceptional especially Angel. They Had your drink ready when you walked in with a smile and a nice greeting.All in all a very enjoyable holiday.The standard rooms are well equipped with hair dryer and toiletries etc .We were on the 19th floor overlooking the Pool and the skyscraper view of Benidom ---Fantastic. Will definitely return for another holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Once again my elderly parents have asked me to leave a review on their behalf to say how they have enjoyed yet another trip to this hotel and the fact that they repeatedly go back should speak volumes to you.

Its very clean, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and they remember you and your likes/dislikes.

My parents feel this is an excellent place for them, its not noisey but it's near enough to the nightlife/attractions if thats what you want and this is a safe haven for them to stay at.

The staff are great people and Barry & Sylvia pass on their good wishes for the New Year to them and will be going back shortly!

Room Tip: There is a floor for smokers bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from 10 days All-Inclusive at the Melia Benidorm. This was our 4th trip to Benidorm, and each time we have stayed in a different hotel.
If you plan to book there - strongly recommend you DO NOT PAY for All-Inclusive. There is no atmosphere. There is at least one bartender with an attitude - who was quite rude to non-Spanish customers, and who insisted on seeing the bracelet [every time], even though this same person had been serving us and taking our tips since we arrived. The wine and beer in the dining room are reasonably priced, and people can save their half-bottles of opened wine for their next sitting.
Some other reviewers recommend the view from upper floors - these people must like looking at the backs of other high rise buildings. When we arrived we had to change rooms, but the staff were really good about it. Our first room was on the 16th and we ended up on the 4th floor. All the rooms are practically identical inside and out [there are no sea view rooms - other than the small gap between buildings].

Breakfast was excellent. If you are willing to queue, the made to order omelettes are worth the wait.
Service varies. Some staff seem overworked, and some were short tempered. But the reception staff were excellent!
The beach promenade is a 10 minute walk.
Lots of good pubs nearby.
Pack slippers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room within stair-climbing range. Non of the floors have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our 2nd stay at the Melia for Christmas and the New Year had a wonderful time everything was excellent, will certainly be returning again, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to my family and friends. Only had breakfast which was very good lots of choice. Wishing the hotel continued success in 2013. Thank you. KP

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

3rd visit to the Melia hotel hotel.That should tell you what i think of it. Yet again a great experience. Food not so brilliant but you get such a wide choice you just choose what you think you like.Hotel again spotless, and the staff so helpful. No noise from late night (early morning )revellers. Booking again for next November. Keep it up Melia

Room Tip: Just far enough away from all the noise of clubs, but not that far from the beach.Having 2 outdoor p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

just returned from 12 days all inclusive at the melia benidorm.
it is 4 star for facilities but minus 2 stars for any atmosohere/go here if you want to sit and read all day but if you want to mingle /have entertainment/fun /holiday atmosphere avoid like the plague.
it is like a london business hotel where everyone keeps to th.
as for the food it is a fair choice but never change at all was virtually the same for 12 days/even had to lay my own table once the waiters were too busy.
this is a ubiased and honest review and having been to benidorm 20 times(15 different hotels0would never go back to the melia again!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#35 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Melia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Benidorm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.