We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Benidorm

Save Saved
You added Melia Benidorm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 192 hotels in Benidorm
WORCESTER
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good for a short break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel was in good location, within 10 minute walk to beach. We were B&B and the breakfast was good - plenty of choice. The room was good, we were on the 7th floor with a view of the pool and across Benidorm! Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel so cannot comment on lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    545
    275
    126
    77
See reviews for
458
640
26
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent facilities, clean rooms, friendly staff, would definitely recommend it to friends and family. One minor negative point for me is it being a little too far from the beach and resort centre, but ideal if you prefer a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visited the Melia as a party of 14 enjoying our annual 'wunderfirkin' tour.

We arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday and went straight to Reception and we were the only ones checking in. I appreciate there were 7 couples however the check in process was extremely slow and even though there were 2 people on the desk only 1 person was deemed the 'check in person' which was annoying.

I had not read any reviews on here about floors, however 3 couples including us were on the '5th floor' which seems to be the one to avoid........cannot understand why!
Our room was on the 5th and you can see the pool and some of Benidorm but who wants to spend time looking out on the balcony when you can explore Benidorm!

All the couples found the rooms acceptable, albeit the pillows are long and thin and not too comfortable!

We were not all inclusive so had to pay for our drinks which were 'reasonably' priced but you could get a cheaper drink just across the way at some of the bars.

Breakfast was included and we soon discovered that either when the restaurant opened (7.30am) or around 9 am were the best times to have breakfast at the weekend especially as the hotel seemed very full. There is definately a lack of staff in the restaurant and it was difficult to find a clean table most days. The food at breakfast was fine and we did not have any problems with dirty cutlery/glasses as described.

On the whole we would stay at the hotel again as we considered it in the better part of Benidorm 'new town'.

Recommend the Benidorm Palace show but of you have the 'menu plus' at a cost of 59 euros per person make sure you do not eat too much in the afternoon as there are 5 courses! Very good entertainment and great value for money.

We did visit many bars and most of us agreed that we would not visit the main 'strip' again as it seemed like it would kick off at any time!

Just up the road from the hotel was 'Rachel's Bar' and we frequented this a few times and would recommend both the food and the beer in there as it was of good quality and reasonably priced.

All in all if we ever did visit Benidorm again I would have no hesitation in stopping at the Melia but please remember we used it as a 'bed and breakfast' hotel so could not comment on lunch or evening meals or the entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived at Melia checked in went smooth and our request for a lower floor was met. However, no electric would work and this was 10.30pm. A call to reception produced within 5 minutes a porter who checked the fuse box. He left and returned with card access to room next door. I would not usually be bothered too much about this if were not for other minor niggles that build up into incompetence, I would now question why the Maid did not notice ‘no electric’

The rooms are spacious with a good view over the pool. The pool is great and set in nice gardens where you can sit in shade of the palm trees or enjoy full sun. Plenty of sun beds but you need to be up at the crack of dawn for the prime spots at the side of the pool.

Next day maid forgot to replenish the toilet roll and as time went on you realised this was a necessity of your stay. A call to reception produced a couple of rolls within ten minutes.

Next day the maid forgot to replace the towels and toilet rolls, guess what a call to reception…..

Heavy rain fall followed and this produced a sewage smell from the bathroom, we were on floor one, a flush of the toilet and a couple of minutes of ‘taps on’ cleared the air. I put this down to the rain. As we did also to the leaky roof in main reception area.

We didn’t find the dust under the bed until the last day when you have a check under there when packing to make sure you’ve not left anything.

First impressions of Restaurant was ‘Looks like a café’ no table cloths, just a place mat. Not to worry though, as you get acclimatised you pull out the positives of the experience – think of all that washing that’s not necessary, lets ‘save the planet’.

We soon found the plate and glasses were not cleaned to a high standard. I saw tourists searching for clean warm plates using palms, sometimes the back of the hand, we had lipstick on glass on one occasion and orange bits stuck to the sides on another.

Staff not trained in basic hygiene. I witnessed a shortage of cups and tea spoons, waiter came and sorted this carrying cups and then produced spoons from his trouser pocket. Same waiter wiping tables with a blue cloth then putting same into his pocket. Another Waiter wiping tables with a white cloth then polishing cutlery with same cloth. It now becomes apparent why there is a need for a good supply of toilet roll, which appeared to be in short supply.

Food – good selection no complaints other than the ‘Italian section’ the positive is there is a small micro wave to warm your meal if it’s cool, which it was. The bolognaise sauce had little meat. The cannelloni was stuffed with what I can best describe as cheap sausage roll meat, bland and tasteless. The staff were miserable and appeared either 1. Not to like their job or 2. Not to like tourists or 3.Over worked and underpaid, we couldn’t make our mind up which.

Toilet facilities around the hotel were clean with exception of the ‘cafeteria’ bar which were a disgrace, lack of attention here by someone.

Entertainment at night was embarrassing, the ‘Animation Staff’ could speak English but once on a mike you just could not understand what was being said, the strong Spanish accent made everything inaudible.

During our stay there was a wedding and on another day a corporate event, we the tourist were most definitely side lined during this, we the tourist were pushed into the extremities of the hotel and felt ‘you were in the way’.

This is the longest and most negative review I have ever given; I feel the blame lies with the management of the hotel who are just so out of touch with the ‘coal face’. A lack of leadership and lack of connectivity with tourists is endemic throughout the entire staff with the odd exception; an example of bar staff that did connect and made effort was Alejandro who should be promoted to at least a ‘Team Leader’.

There are mixed reviews on this hotel every one of us sees life through a different lens. We cannot recommend this hotel at all, give it a try but pack a few toilet rolls.

Room Tip: Floors 1 to 4 appear to be prime location if you can manage without a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second visit to the Melia two Septembers in a row. We loved it the first time and couldn't bare going to a hotel else where that did not live up the Melia. First time we went we had an issue with our loo and safe and they were both fixed in a matter of minutes. This holiday we had no problems at all other than coming home 1/2 a stone heavier due to the All Inclusive!! all the staff are friendly and speak good english, the pools are glorious, the grounds take you away out of the concret of Benidorm and into a tropical paradise. The food is fabulous with masses of choice and the bar choice (and measures!) are brilliant. No complaints what so ever. Its a 10min walk off the main road through Beni but this is a bonus as you are away from the roudiness of Stags & Hens at the weekends. Would highly reccomend this hotel and will be back again.

Room Tip: High floors could be very high! I don't like lifts, floors 1-4 are accessed via a glass lift fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having read a good number of reviews we decided that there was a good enough spread of opinion to give the Melia a go. We know Benidorm well normally staying in the Ambassador Playa so were happy with the location even though it is a bit further out.

We booked through Jet 2 Holidays from East Midlands. The flight was perfect however the austerity measures in Spain appear to be taking their toll as the coach drivers are now staying off the motorway presumably to avoid paying the tolls. Adding up the airport waiting, coach journey and drop offs (the Melia is virtually the last drop off) we were on the coach longer than the plane!

On arrival the reception hall was amazing however the reception desk was clearly undermanned and we had a further 40 minute wait before getting to our room. Reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor we knew that the floor to avoid was the 5th due to the solar water panels. No prizes for guessing which floor we were allocated, with no prospect of being moved because the hotel was full? Be warned, you have no view of the resort and no view of the pool from the 5th floor. Talking to a few others on the 5th floor it did appear that this floor was reserved for UK patrons. I did hire a safety deposit box (€1.50/day + €10 deposit) and paid for WIFI (€12) which was useful for calling home, checking flights, online check-in etc.

Previous reviews also suggested the hotel looks after local guests better than those from the UK. Other than the room on the 5th floor I didn’t see any obvious evidence of this although it was fair to say that the assistance offered on the 2 occasions I had reason to visit reception were met with a slightly negative response. The assistance trying to obtain details for the holiday rep to confirm our coach pick up time was best described as useless.

The restaurant left a lot to be desired and is seriously in need of a visible manager. The crockery and cutlery were always dirty, so be prepared to spend time searching for clean ones, areas were closed so staff got upset with you despite there being no signs evident, the plate heating system is primitive (a fan heater) so take care not to burn your hands. I always like to try foreign food (we are in their country after all) however the visual appeal just wasn’t there in the Melia, everything looked like it was served at the previous meal and just reheated. I did enjoy the Salad bar though. Unfortunately 3 days into our holiday I took ill with what can best be described as travellers diarrhoea which wiped out the rest of my holiday and then on day 5 my wife took ill also. We didn’t eat anywhere else and don’t drink a lot of alcohol so draw your own conclusions about the root cause. We also found a couple of guests in need of our Imodium Plus whilst waiting in front of the hotel for the coach back to the airport.

The rooms were not particularly clean however I cannot comment too much as we were in the room ill from day 3 so had the do not disturb sign hanging on the door. This was the first ever holiday when I have not tipped the cleaner. One of our chairs on the balcony was broken and we didn’t manage to get it replaced during our stay.

The pool area is lovely and I personally like the shade the trees give as I’m not a sunbather but do like to have some come and go whilst reading a good book.

As we like to walk we went out and about every night so cannot comment on the entertainment other than to say when we were confined to our room in the evenings it was loud from the 5th floor.

The Melia may well be a 4* in Spain however it would not be in the UK and personally I rate the Ambassador far better.

Personally, I won’t be going back to the Melia but ultimately it’s your choice if you want to try it.

Room Tip: Above the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnuevo, Murcia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

really enjoyed the whole experience, all of the bar staff were exceptionally friendly and their english was good, the room was clean and a good size, dining room was very busy but the choice of food was very good, on Saturday fresh prawns and steak, I would definately recommend it, I was on 6th floor would imagine if on a higher floor the view would be better view

Room Tip: I would think higher rooms have best view I was on 6th floor had a pretty good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#20 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#25 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#34 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Business Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Benidorm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.